The Federal Government via the Minister of Information and culture Lai Mohammed on Tuesday at a press conference in Abuja that it was working on how to inject sanity into social media which it said was currently out of control.
The Minister said no responsible government would sit back and allow such activities capable of setting the country on fire to continue unchecked.
“ It has reached a level that the government may just no longer fold its arms and allow this to continue ,”
He added that no amount of attacks or criticism would stop the government from implementing the tougher sanctions for broadcast stations who breach the nation's broadcast code especially as it concerns the dissemination of fake news as well as inciteful and divisive comments which were approved by President Muhammadu Buhari recently.
He assured stakeholders that responsible journalists have nothing to fear as the government's intention is not to gag the media but to restore sanity to the nation’s airwave.
“ It has reached a level that the government may just no longer fold its arms and allow this to continue ,”
He added that no amount of attacks or criticism would stop the government from implementing the tougher sanctions for broadcast stations who breach the nation's broadcast code especially as it concerns the dissemination of fake news as well as inciteful and divisive comments which were approved by President Muhammadu Buhari recently.
He assured stakeholders that responsible journalists have nothing to fear as the government's intention is not to gag the media but to restore sanity to the nation’s airwave.
From punchng
Meaning????this people dey craze...o
ReplyDeleteIs social media Nigeria's problem???God will purnish them all.
Useless and clueless OLD FOOLS
People like Desmond Elliot are pushing the bill. Let dem do it na make we see. Demonic leaders
DeleteOne thing they don't realise is that this same law will bite them in the ass.
DeleteAnon 10:33 don't tell them oh. They will soon leave the office... They have forgotten.
DeleteSocial media is not the problem Mr Man
ReplyDeleteWhy diverting the issue at hand..
It won't work. This is not democracy anymore. Yeye.
ReplyDeleteGoodluck to APC demonic government. Tripple shame and badluck to all who brought APC back. Shebi you all are reaping the joy.
ReplyDeletePeople have a right to vote for who they want to vote for , same as you without judgement and insults. That is what democracy is all about- voting for your choice and then voting them out when they don't perform. Blame the government not the people!!!
DeleteThere will come a time were the poor will eat the rich, this was preamble, that poor man's child that you refused to educate and give employment will no allow you and yours live in peace, that time will come probably sooner than expected.
ReplyDeleteThey think they will fly abroad. One day those people will reject them and they will have no where to run to.
DeleteAble God 👌👍💯%
DeleteThe ruling class armed the poor man's children with illiteracy and violence so they could be used as thugs to ride to political power WITHOUT KNOWING they prepared their own destruction.
The very thing that will destroy the devil is inside him.
Clueless PMB led government..and they cnt regulate foodstuffs price? is social media that is there problem? awon alakori.
ReplyDeleteThey'll only end up causing a bigger problem.. if you don't act right and you try to gag the mouth of the person who is suffering from your wickedness from complaining, the person would have no other choice than to look for another means to letting his voice heard.. these other means might be a dangerous one.. infact this is what happen in most cases..
ReplyDeleteThis government are daft.. all they are good at is escalating a problem by making stupid decisions.. the same way the started with thugs attacking peaceful protesters now they can't control the thugs anymore.. I don't know who advices these people sef.. very stupid set of people.. they keep making stupid decisions daily Becos of lack of sense..
If you do the right thing you won't have anything to worry about the social media cos even when evil people try to spread fake news it won't fly..
You want to keep hiding the masses palliative, shooting peaceful protesters and acting detective Fash stunt without allowing people talk bah.. it's not possible.. if you close someone mouth from speaking, he would end up talking through violence..
Not to talk of how many decades back their nonsense policy would take the country back from civilization to add up to the centuries behind We're in this country already..
God forbid stupid and daft people oh
Wisdom is very far from them. But some people's bias will not allow them see road.
DeleteDANTE, don't bother yourself.
DeleteThe Social Media regulation Bill will not fly.
They are just wasting their time.
The same government spreading fake news wants to regulate social media because of fake news. Laughable. 😄
I'm telling you, this is demonic government. Only God challenge them.
ReplyDeleteThese idiots came into power through propaganda and now,they are trying to silence us by regulating and controlling the media!
ReplyDeleteThey want us to become 'NTA' but we must ARISE and soro soke!
I ji ya!! Soro Soke jare
DeleteThis idiot is always yabbing trash, even he knows he doesn't have the support of the National Assembly. Nigeria is not a communist country like China and North Korean where dictators can do whatever they like. Abacha died trying the repress the will of the Nigerian people.
ReplyDeleteBuhari and the cohorts are pharaohs..Remember God hardened the heart of Pharaoh and we all know how that Pharaoh ended..Let us all continue praying becos most of these evil people may not make 2023..God pass them all
DeleteHumans live for 70 years, or 80 years if one is healthy, They pass by quickly and die.
DeleteHow old are these people again, even the one that is 60 or 67? 🤣🤣🤣
These OLD MEN are already passing away. Will they come from their graves to regulate Social Media when they won't be here to see it happen AND A NEW TECH IS ALREADY ON THE BLOCK? 🤣🤣🤣
That Lie Mohommed has lost his conscience, according to the Bible he has reprobate mind. Ara (thunder) lo ma pa won, awon oloshi
ReplyDeleteIf you voted for APC 2015 I will manage and forgive you. But if you voted for them in 2019, you need serious deliverance because normally e no go better for you.
ReplyDeleteLia e no go better for you, your family and your fellow corrupt politicians.
May God punish you all. Idiotic rulers from hell
ReplyDeleteThese old men don't have any sense, is social media Nigeria problem or APC. And to think Desmond Elliot is among those passing the stupid regulation bill.
ReplyDeleteWhere is that anonymous that said something like this on SP today about government regulating social media to the point that our protests,social media call outs won't work against 2023
ReplyDeleteAbeg Stella,I henceforth fear people that come on this big eh
You no no before?
DeletePeople dey here
Dr Olufunmilayo raised an alarm and tweeted this yesterday.As God disgraced Pharaoh and his host at the Red Sea, so shall these people (Buhari, jAGABAN, APC AND ALL THESE WICKED POLITICIANS) WILL GET THEIR JUDGEMENT FROM GOD.
ReplyDeleteWhat we need is not regulation but sensitization. I don’t know how you can regulate social media without infringing on people’s rights. However, people need to learn how to identify false information and also know that they shouldn’t put false information out there themselves.
ReplyDeleteInstead of them to work with social media influencers to reduce the spread of fake news