The preparation of party jollof rice was never complete then without sighting littered tins of La'Bianca, Derica and Tomapep tomato paste at the scene of the food preparation. The rich and thick consistency of these tomato products gave the jollof rice its beautifully red and attractive colour, unlike today where red coloured condiments are added to enrich the colour of the food.
Popular spices like Delice and seasonings like Doyin cubes were also used to prepare sumptuous meals for the family, and the people from the Western part of the country never missed any opportunity to use the controversial white seasoning that leaves most of the party guests frequently visiting the loo.
Another product that was a household name and used by most persons to treat mouth sores and toothache was TCP.
I still remember my mum gurgling the antiseptic for 5 minutes and spitting it out anytime she had toothache or a sore.
Our favourite milk then was Nido and we were not the only ones who loved it so much, I still wonder why it's not in the market anymore.
Giv was our all time bath soap and the pleasant different fragrances was an added advantage. The most popular medicated soap then was Tura and fair folks used it to maintain their complexion.
Even though there are still good products in stores, pharmacies and malls, some of these new versions cannot measure up in quality to the ones we used during our childhood days.
So many of them have been watered down to maximize profits and cut costs.
If comparisons are made, the products from our young days would beat them hands down.
*How can you forget to mention Stella Pomade?
Pronto beverage
ReplyDeletePlease is tinker box still alive?
I remember my mum buying it for me in Jss1 to take to the dormitory.
Last last,the box didn't follow me back home as I got a new one before I finished school.
I remember when miksi milk was sold for #10 for a very long time and the content was worth it.
Now it's being sold for #40 and the content isn't even up to a full desert spoon.
Please don't let me talk about cabin biscuit that is now 3 pieces inside and VERY flat and light.
This life
Okay o
DeleteWen Nigeria was a country.
DeleteNido still exists, I always buy it in the African store.
DeleteIf you used Stella pomade, Giv soap, and your mom cooked with Tomapep,
ReplyDeletegather here for...
You are not less than 45 years.
😜😜😜😜😜😜😜😜😜
Hahaha😁😁😁, i used all and i'm in my 30s
DeleteMy mom used tomapep for us and I'm not up to 40 infarct I'm 36
Delete😁😁😁
Delete😂😂😂😂😂😂😂😂😂😂
DeleteHow come because I am just 32
DeleteWe used all but I am still my 30’s 😛😂
DeleteNot true oo.
DeleteI never reach 40 but I used all
All the 45 and above have gathered for...
DeleteAge cheaters. 😜😜😜😜😜😜😜😜😜😜
See them still lying between their boobies🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣
Not true, @ anon 17:35, I am 30 and I used these products.
Delete!!!
DeleteI used GIV soap,i know Stella pomade(though i did not use it),but i'm still in my late twenties,i saw Stella pomade at ROBAN STORES in Enugu.
DeleteI used some but know all and am not up to 40.
DeleteNIDO no longer in Nigerian market?
ReplyDeleteWow. Naija have changed a lot.
Where I live, NIDO fortificada is still the brand to beat.
NIDO is still in the market..
DeleteI see it always at Twins Faja..
@MARTINS
👍
DeleteWho drank crush, goody goody, gogo. Those days were the best
DeleteI wish I can NIDO milk here 🤔
DeleteIf you need Nido milk,go to SPAR Enugu,you will find it there.
DeleteMirinda too @ when the 3 orange men were cited in most places in Lagos ( not the dilute three top that’s being sold now ) lol
DeleteFolalonpe
Nido is available but very expensive and with low demand reason most supermarket don't have and it is inconsistent when it comes regular supply from nestle foods but still with same great cream taste.
DeleteNido is still very much around.
ReplyDeleteI still can’t forgive Okon biscuits (4 corner). What of Elephant detergent, gone. Tandi Guranda? Gone
To run and sustain a business isn't easy.
Okin biscuit
DeleteJust noticed the ‘Okon’. Thanks Giftmoesha.
DeleteYes o okin biscuit and their short cake. The factory wasting away there in Ijagbo Kwara state. I remember we were there for excursion in my primary six.
DeleteHow come I still see Derica and tomapep on the African Isle in the grocery store where I shop, and it's no longer in Nigeria?
ReplyDeleteThat means, other African countries are still producing these?
Who did we offend?
No wonder jollof rice in Naija has
become adulterated. 🤢🤢🤢🤢🤢
Derica is still in the market but its more expensive than other tomato paste
DeleteMy dearest it's true a lot of those old fantastic products we no longer see in Lagos are still being manufactured by some other countries sometime ago I saw carnation milk,big geisha,bongo coffee,kettle tea in Kano and I was like is the north really part of Nigeria?
DeleteMrs Dee
ReplyDeleteLet's help you;
Parazone
Jik
Goody goody
Lifebuoy soap
O heptal tonic
Cortina and Opanka (school shoes)
Dr. pepper soft drink
Limca
Aba palmolive (different from the regular)
TV programs; New masquerade, Village headmaster, samanja, Bassey and company,
😊😊😊😊😊😊😊😊😊
Limca is still very much around
Delete🤝🤝 your head dey dia....i miss goody goody was my second name those days
DeleteLifebuoy soap is still in d market
DeleteLimca still avaliable
IKB body cream too
DeleteJik still dey market.
Goody Goody contributed to my dental wahala msteeww😏
Dem don spoil LIMCA for me ☹️. Parazone was very good then.... chei
DeleteNku cream. Flash detergent, Dent o clean,prime milk.
DeleteDown memory lane!!!
ReplyDeleteYellow greasy Stella pomade
Asepso soap
Robert soap
Saturday night powder
Apc tablet
Cafenol
Phendic
Vegfru 🍅 (was it d one mothers called oju ologbo) or Alaska.
Ciao 🍅
Frisiana milk
Good old Maltex
Jet pomade
DeleteKey soap
DeleteKrest drink
Gold Spot
Saturday night powder lasts very long that’s why I love it
DeleteThere was also rin soap, I love then more than key soap. Those days in boarding house.
Deletelet me read comments; I don't know all these u mentioned o
ReplyDeleteThere was one margarine I used to love then called Planta. Also nasco cornflakes and biscuits and titus sardine which still exists.
DeletePlanta the planta for the creamier butter taste. Then blue band was in tin so I prefer planta.
DeletePremier soap with it's original sticker. The sticker is the last you will use of that soap.
ReplyDelete@Official Prestige;I actually think the sticker of Imperial Leather soap beats it..
DeleteThat one won't even go till you are done with the soap;then you throwaway..😀😂😀
@MARTINS
Very true with imperial leather, that sticker was the real deal.....and it was strong and could last for long.it's still in the market
DeletePlanta
Official Prestige, you mean imperial leather soap with the sticker?
DeleteYou mean imperial leather? The scent of the ones they make now is not like the former .
DeleteLol...
DeleteNa imperial leather not premier
😂 😂 😂 Imperial soap my people.
DeleteWho remember elephant detergent and "surfur" detergent I can remember the spelling.
DeleteI miss Okin short cake so much
ReplyDeleteOkin biscuit (square) was my favourite biscuit then.
ReplyDeleteIkb range of beauty products
DeleteMy favorite biscuit then
DeleteWow IKB one of my favorites nawa ooo Nostalgia !
DeleteIkb cosmetics gave me a nightmare,back at school I was daydreaming of becoming lighter than my already bleached classmates ,the rest is history because I burnt my face and legs with over mixing,okin shortcake and mascot biscuits were my favourites, Nigeria was so good I even forgot where I came from
DeleteYou forgot to add Goldspot drink
ReplyDeleteTandi golanda, crush, parle soda
DeleteKrest drink
DeleteMaltex malt
The days of Black and White Tv😂😂😂😂😂😂
tandi gurana, nasco wafers, ekanna gowon
DeleteKito sandals nko? And skull slippers for women
ReplyDeleteI still crave for Okin shortcake buscuit sometimes..lol
ReplyDeleteSpirint chew gum
I always wonder why things usually reduce in value with time in Naija.
Yes sprint chew gum. 5 for #5
DeleteThat Sprint gum was so sticky, not easy to manage but tasted nice.
DeleteSprint chewing gum mint lasts very long for a cheap price then.
DeleteAh, sprint chewing gum that I use my offering money to buy every Sunday morning
DeleteGood old days!
ReplyDeleteI remember pronto
Choco Milo(the taste is different now).
Goody goody sweet.
Planta margarine.
Nasco biscuit and cornflakes(Still in the market but not as good as before).
Opanka rubber shoes.
Fanta champman
Chai. So many of them.
Tales by moonlight
Willie Willie( I used to be scared of this soap opera back then)
Checkmate
Chief Zebrudaya and clarus(hope I got the name)
Back then when 10 naira could buy you a lot of things.
Thank God for life ❤️❤️
I still miss Planta margarine 🧈
DeleteBazuka chewing gum and Olympic exercise books
DeleteAnd cabin biscuits which taste so different today.
DeletePlanta Margarine
ReplyDeletePlanta butter, Okin round biscuits, Nku body cream,Chupa chops lollipop,Bazooka chewing gum and many others are off the market! Good old days of products worth the money!
ReplyDeleteI saw Chupa Chups recently, though a bit expensive compared to others
DeleteVIP. Its a fruit drink like caprisone. Who remembers it?
ReplyDeleteCadbury's Chocolate Spread.
DeleteTree Top Drink.
Nasco Cornflakes.
Nasco Wafers..,that stealing teacher,haha.
Parle Soda.
Ginger Ale.
Green Sands Shandy.
Maltex...this one if you commit and,forget to give me,once Daddy comes back I turn to okiri mgba ama,kikiki.
Naira chewing gum.
Bubble Gum,with wrist stickers inside.
Bazooka gum.
The good old days. Even if you see some of the products used in the past noe, the quality ain't the same.
ReplyDeleteCarnation milk,coast milk, pronto, treetop,breeze family soap, planta butter, reward soap, love and flower soap, dadawa cubes, jumbo cubes, A_one, Vedan, richocco etc
ReplyDeleteCowbell milk
ReplyDeletePronto
Blue omo
Venda
Ajino moto
Joy soap
While Ffor TV programs
Beyound the dreams
Tales by moonlight
Beyond our dreams, beyond our dreams, those who walked on the wrong path. Where realities are formed, beyond our dreams, beyond our dreams... 🎶🙃
DeleteTV programs - Behind the clouds
It's beyond the clouds
DeleteIt's Behind the Clouds. Beyond the Clouds is a Korean series
DeleteThe Days of Black and White Television
ReplyDeleteIron bed
TV with double doors🙂
DeleteBrahma Gwarana
ReplyDeleteTinned blue band
Fresh body cream
Brownish butter mint
Sunday Sunday medicine
Egovin
Yellow sunlight soap
Nasco biscuits
Bebe and Mama Vaseline
Tree top drink
Avop cooking oil
Zarina cream
Mills and boons novel
Kiddies vision
Tales by moonlight
MacMillan ( Ali and Simbi, Mr. Nwosu and his two daughters, Rails the poor girl)....
Chico Milo...
Malta Sweet
DeleteAll these sounds strange to me
ReplyDeleteThat means you're a small girl
Delete@ shooter gyal I swear ooo, and i was born in 1997 abi 1997 no follow for the people that are born in the 90s🙄🙄🤔
Delete😂😂😂
ReplyDeleteThe only biscuit i miss. Is Bigbite biscuit nd coconut biscuit
The Filipinos have brought coconut biscuits back! I was thinking of it and found it at a store! See dance! My children thought I had found diamonds!
DeleteKiss perfume
ReplyDeleteVenus cream
Oh how I love Venus cream with that beautiful lady as advert , I used to think applying the cream would make me look like her.
ReplyDeleteHow naive I was.
Memories
ReplyDeleteYou can still find Nido milk in all these mega supermarkets,i know someone that buys it always.
ReplyDeleteThat red rechargeable lantern that has radio,
ReplyDeleteJenka bubble gum,
Coconut biscuit,
Trebbor sweet,
Pronto tea,
Joy soap,
Delta soap,
Tandi Guranda
ReplyDeleteGreen sand shandy, I hope I got it right, Parle Soda
ReplyDeleteChi chi sweet
ReplyDeleteIsi busu tin tomato
A3 cream..A3 triple action, nourishing and protective (who remembers the advert of the that cream