The footage has elicited plenty of reaction, memes and laughter from Twitter users in Africa’s most populous country.
Lagos’ number one citizen, Sanwo-Olu, jumped on the trend, Wednesday, saying he’s been inspired by it all.
Sanwo-Olu wants a chat with this kid who has become an example of how to plead your case under pressure.
“I saw a video of a charming young boy online asking his mom to ‘calm down’ as she was set to punish him for a misdemeanour. I was moved by his sobriety, which reflected in his promise of “last chance”, when confronted with the fact that he is a regular offender,” the governor shared on his twitter page.
“The exchange was indeed funny, but it depicted the efforts parents put in moulding children into responsible adults. I want to assume that his mom indeed calmed down because the appeal was moving enough to make anyone change their mind.
"Interestingly, the video inspired this special message to the good people of Lagos State because of the deeper meaning it conveys.
“As an aside, I would like to meet the young boy since we both now have exclusive rights to the phrasal verb ‘calm down’,” the governor added.
from pulse
Awww!This is absolutely amazing.😂😂😂
ReplyDeleteThe part that got me rolling was
DeleteMummy are you videoing me” lol
I hope the end up not punishing him o o because as funny as it was the mother didn’t laugh
Lol!omo olorire,mummy calm down
DeleteLol!🤣🤣🤣
DeleteI was really moved to pity but I am sure his mom wasn't and still whopped him.
The boy sure understands his mother is a no nonsense woman.
Maybe she made that video to remind him next time he misbehaves or as a keepsake.
Boy is a sweettalker mehn!!! Hope he uses it positively when he grows up.
Hahhahahahahaha mummy I said please calm down like this, the little boy went ahead and sat down to show his mummy how to calm down lol, if na me eeeehn I for don weak to flog, na my laugh go follow spoil the video las las.
DeleteIt reminds me of those days i use to run from injection...dat is how i will be running ard telln d nurse to relax im coming, im coming.
DeleteSanwo olu and clout ! Are this d issues om ground ? Smh
DeleteAt Unusual Amy. Well said! I wonder if meeting the boy is necessary or important most especially with everything that is going on and needs to be done too. Thought he should be very busy with more important stuff that meeting a boy! Much ado about nothing
DeleteDon't mind the Gov, article on top the boy's head.
Delete@Unusual Amy thank you o @Anony thank you @Mao Akuh thank you
Delete@ unusual Amy if you ask me na who i go ask??
DeleteMay God give our leaders wisdom
Congratulations to the little boy. Good one Governor of Lagos State.
ReplyDeleteWell trained boy. This is how to train a child. Well-done madam.
ReplyDeleteHonestly that was all I saw. Good training, she no even send the boy
DeleteChildren of nwdays really need such discipline.
DeleteParents no longer discipline kids.
You can say that again... He knows what his mother is capable of so he was afraid...
DeleteAwwww that boy is so amazingly convincing. I even dropped my Cain seeing my kid like that.
ReplyDeleteThis comment has been removed by the author.
ReplyDeleteLeak small sugar abeg...don't be too serious
DeleteLeak? Lol!
DeleteMy igbo brothers biko start making "calm down' tee shirts.
ReplyDeleteReminds me of "I ma kip kip" era.
😅😅😅
Delete🤣🤣🤣🤣
Delete😂😂😂
Delete🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣 I'm telling you...
DeleteWhat a great luck!
ReplyDeleteLol, the little boy deserves it. He reminds me of my son, after performing he will be be begging you. The poor mum has to strong her mind to discipline this kind of child cos he can beg and toast his way out of punishment. Lol
ReplyDeleteYou bet his momma still gave him the cane.
DeleteFunny though but if let off his punishment, boy could become manipulative.
The mom must be really strong because these kids can so blackmail you emotionally😂 that is how my son will beg and promise never to do it again, forgive him, the next hour he will do it again.
DeleteThat child will be a very good negotiator.
ReplyDeleteHe even taught his mother how to be calm by showing her what position to she has to sit in to be calm.
God bless his innocent mind 🤗
Foolishness is bound in the heart of a child but the rod of correction will drive it out.
DeleteNot every trait in a child should be seen as cute. Let him serve the punishment for his disobedience.
I actually pitied him but on second thought, I felt the little man is playing on his mom's emotions.😂😂😂
The mom already said he kept at the same misdeeds.
Mrs A you echoed my thoughts. Good negotiator
DeleteThank God for the boy and his family
ReplyDeleteBaba God please pick my call oooo
Good evening 🌇 all. Please I will like to know if my ID is showing. Someone should please reply. BV BOLA
ReplyDeleteYes your ID is growing BOLA. You are welcome to sdkville.
DeleteYes your ID is showing
DeleteWelcome
BV BOLA, yes it is.
DeleteIt is showing. Welcome 👏👏👏👏
DeleteYes, you are welcome
DeleteYeah its showing. Welcome
DeleteYeah Bola, your account is showing.
DeleteBV BOLA
DeleteIt's showing. Now your bill is £100, gracias 😉
DeleteIt is showing
DeleteGood evening Bola, it is with great pleasure I announce to you that your blog id is showing. Welcome to our Blog 😁😁
DeleteYeah BOLA it’s showing, welcome onboard.
Delete👍👍👍
It's showing BV Bola notice me lol
DeleteThe most Complex B
Hi BOLA
DeleteYes. Showing. Can't you check for yourself? Attention seeker!
DeleteYes, your ID shows :)
DeleteYes it is
DeleteYes its showing bola
DeleteThanks to all the people that answered me ,Chocola’t love how are you doing? Lord Denning Call me 😁. Ewu Ano 22:04 I’m not a new BV or an attention seeker . Stella you are doing well.
DeleteI liked the part he said rest like this(with demonstration)😂
ReplyDelete😂🤣😂🤣😂🤣😂🤣 same here, I had a good at his demonstration.
DeleteThe boy is intelligent but is highly manipulative
ReplyDeleteTrying to escape the consequences of his misbehaviour as a repeat offender
We shouldn't reward bad behaviour
Its not easy to be a parent
Which one is manipulative??? He is just a child. Pls people stop it with all the name calling and rubbish. He is being a child!!
Delete"He's just a child"... na so e dey start
Deletejet li is right this boy will be a con artist, a good manipulator i tell you
DeleteAnon 9:11
DeleteLoud it oo
Emotional blackmail that the boy had learnt and is practising
He is old enough to face consequences of misbehaving
Other anon be indulging manipulation say na small picking
Underestimating them thinking they are ignorant
Gullible People everywhere!
😄😄😄
ReplyDeleteHow old is this boy? He must be a "wicked adult" ( too much sense for a kid)🤣🤣🤣
ReplyDeleteAwww...my favorite part is mummy can I ask you a few question for once,😃
ReplyDeletePoliticians are too desperate to insert themselves in the crowd in
ReplyDeletethis lock down period. 😏😏😏😏😏😏
Congratulations little man
ReplyDeleteMummy calm down,🤣🤣. Sweet little boy , he even told his mother about last chance in the world 😁
ReplyDeleteThe small boy get big sence.
ReplyDeleteThe most Complex B
When Grace finally finds you
ReplyDeleteThat is it...
DeletePresent 🥂
ReplyDeleteCalm down Mummy😂😂😂😂😂😂😂😂😂
ReplyDeleteAwwwww,Grace!!but lil boy can sweet talk...
ReplyDeleteHigh service.. misplaced priorities.
ReplyDeleteWe should be bothered about the mom who's disciplining her lil kid and making a video of the private act to post online, but NO! We are more interested in the entertainment, and as usual the useless government has jumped on it to play on our emotions, just like they always do.
Honestly, we never ready
Please, try and see the emotions, the humor and the lesson in this small drama and praise the Governor for once. It will take just a little to make this family happy compared to providing social amenities
DeleteSoon one lady would release her PRIVATE hot fuckin spree with her husband, screaming DON'T STOP while at it, then the governor would release a statement making her an ambassador for WOMEN ENERGY.. "Lagos state women are resilient, they have extra energy, they are super women, they DON'T STOP, we are making this woman our ambassador for her extra strength, cos in Lagos we KEEP IT MOVING.. NON STOP.. we don't stop, we won't stop and would never stop (in Diddy's voice)
DeleteRubbish..
Let them face why they were (S)ELECTED, he can start with the terrible traffic situation that's making Lagos state seem like one 'big' MENTAL HOME were sane people had to escape from
@Dante calm down 😂😂😂😂
DeleteI actually was bordered with the fact that she was punishing the child and at the same time making a video out of it. Arrrrrgghh, a few people on the WhatsApp page it was posted said I should calm down. They didn't see the seriousness of it. Its serious I don't want my child embarrassed while I am punishing and I should not film it at their expense. For me it was too much. Maybe because I had my share while I was young.
DeleteYou're right Lady T, I don't find this funny either, this is purely an abuse and humiliation. She can just draw the poor boy closer to herself and warn him seriously never to repeat such instead of making silly video and posting it online.
DeleteA very good negotiator🤣🤣🤣🤣
ReplyDeleteAm new here; hope am welcomed
ReplyDeleteNo you're not welcomed. Si ilo
DeleteYes you're welcomed.
DeleteHighly welcome to our family
DeleteMake yourself comfortable
I've not yet watched this much talked about video . anyways
ReplyDeleteWatch out as parents will start releasing on kinds of videos hoping to gain the same kind of attention.
ReplyDeleteYou know this 👌
DeleteOmg I just watch the video now,I felt so pity for this cute boy,just felt like crying omg.
ReplyDeleteI hope this woman didn't beat him after all these pleading and drama.
That boy is so brilliant, omg
con artist of a boy.
ReplyDeleteDeveloping hushbaby things
DeleteThis is a pure yourba demon in the making, this one will make women end in premium tears when he grow up, cos he is a very convincing, drama king boy