The Nigeria Meteorological Agency (NiMet), has predicted dwindling availability of water for various socio-economic purposes over most parts of Nigeria in 2019.
NiMet’s forecast in its 2019 Seasonal Rainfall Prediction (SRP), revealed that most places would have between below to normal amount of rainfall, while areas around Adamawa, Kwara and Oyo states would experience above-normal rainfall.
It listed states expected to experience below-normal rainfall includes:
This, according to NiMet, will create water shortfall and will thus negatively affect availability of water required for domestic and industrial uses like agriculture, groundwater recharge and inland waterways transportation.
The agency, therefore, advised that integrated water resources management skills be adopted in line with the predicted amount over various parts, especially areas that might have to contend with below normal rainfall.
On power generation, transmission and distribution, the prediction indicated that since power generation in Nigeria is majorly hydroelectric, it could be affected by rainfall amount as water shortage could lead to lower generation.
NAN
It listed states expected to experience below-normal rainfall includes:
Sokoto
Katsina,
Borno,
Niger,
Plataeu,
Nasarawa,
Osun,
Lagos,
Ondo,
Ekiti,
Edo,
Delta,
Enugu,
Anambra,
Imo,
Bayelsa,
Rivers and Cross River.
This, according to NiMet, will create water shortfall and will thus negatively affect availability of water required for domestic and industrial uses like agriculture, groundwater recharge and inland waterways transportation.
The agency, therefore, advised that integrated water resources management skills be adopted in line with the predicted amount over various parts, especially areas that might have to contend with below normal rainfall.
On power generation, transmission and distribution, the prediction indicated that since power generation in Nigeria is majorly hydroelectric, it could be affected by rainfall amount as water shortage could lead to lower generation.
NAN
Rain that is already killing us in Lagos this January!! They should check well.
ReplyDeleteFake forecast, rain Wey don scatter lagos already.
DeleteThis one na lie
ReplyDeleteLagos wey don enter raining season already
Other states have so what's the big deal
DeleteAnd that means it would be extra hot
ReplyDeleteAre they sure
ReplyDeleteRain has started pouring in Lagos oo
Rain that has started falling in Lagos already. I don't believe in this report by NIMET
ReplyDeleteLagos that we have rainfall almost everyday now. Yesterday's own was even heavy
ReplyDeletewhat do dy even sabi,rain dn start already
ReplyDeleteRain have started heavily in Lagos, Lagos is getting flooded already. They should check again for Lagos again
ReplyDeleteI don't believe all this forecast. What happened to the eclipse we were told to expect?
ReplyDeleteBut we are already in rainy season in Lagos
ReplyDeleteAny weather forecast from all this Naija ministries; believe it at your own peril. Still wondering why they don't scrap all this silly ministries. Same way Enugu has Ministry of masquerade and research🤷🏻🤷🏻🤷🏻🤷🏻🤔🤔🤔🤔
ReplyDeleteEnugu has what? Hahahahaha
DeleteAtumma Abagana must hear this.
Spirits don't listen to "akuko ndi committee".
Mbanu!
ewoo.please show me where to faint under this ur comment.Ministry of gini?
DeleteStella how can you say thank God? Without rain, power generation will be very low andfarm produce too. Presently, vegetables are scarce coz it’s dry. Biko we need rain.
ReplyDeleteAnd I'm seeing crossriver there?? Lol. That state that doesn't have time table for rain
ReplyDeleteOh well. That doesn't mean that Ikeja rainforest and surrounding zones won't still experience enough rainfall.
ReplyDeleteProbably some parts of Lagos State not all.