Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Pronouncing Right.....

Tuesday, November 27, 2018

Pronouncing Right.....

How we pronounce things matters a lot and most times,the things we think we know are pronounced differently....

Today I listened to TVC's 'your view' and heard Yeni Kuti pronounce the word ''MACHETE as MA -CHE- TE'' and i laughed and wondered why she was pronouncing it wrong until i checked for the prouounciation on google

from daily English on facebook

73 comments:

1. Almond and Environment.. whaaaaaaat been pronouncing it wrong all along.

1. Don't be mixing American and British pronunciation Stella.

2. Is this UK pronounciation? Cause here I’ve never heard nobody pronounce environment like ☝🏾 that here. People pronounce it with the “r” though it’s heard subtlety. Hmmm even in movies,news etc...

3. Nigeria follows the standard form of British English pronunciation (received pronunciation),therefore some of the pronunciations up there posted by Stella are definitely wrong.
      Please everyone, if ever in doubt, always refer to the Cambridge or Oxford dictionaries online for the right pronunciation.

Kind regards

P.S. Anonymous: You are right about environment.

2. Stella sometimes mother tongue can be a challenge. But with good practice we can overcome wrong pronunciation. I actually enjoyed the ones you put up.

3. I'm familiar with RECEIPT cos my boss won't stop correcting you until you're use to it.

Nice one.

1. Hmm and I'm just getting to know this.. Oh lawd

4. Thank you Stella

The pronounciation of the environment tho

5. Abulone
    You sure say you no make mistake for the picture?
    That thing there look like tohtoh o.

6. Haha haha 😀😁😀, many people are sitting on this table. Thanks Stella, I learnt one or two things today

7. Environment and almond....chei ..my childhood oo

8. Always known it's machete but, I refuse to pronounce it as such.

Guilty of;

Ah-muh-nd

En-vae-ment *lemme see if I can adjust to it*

1. I no sure I go fit call that environment oh. It sounds strange. Lol. Let me start practicing it. All the other ones I sabi, thanks to the phonetic symbols we learnt in school.

9. Environment? That pronunciation is not going to make me stop saying environment as it is written

1. As in eh...biko I'm sticking with en-vi-ro-memt!!!!!!..wring pronounciation wont cost me heaven

10. It's a good thing that they teach phonetics in school now. My 3 year old never fails to correct my pronunciation.

11. I am sitting on this table you are shaking oh, the tongue can be twisting atimes when you try pronouncing right

12. Almond and environment.. huh. Thanks Stellz.

13. Guilty of almond and police.thanks for the enlightenment

14. Sdk english 101. Dont come and make me bite my tongue this hot afternoon.

15. GNS 201!!!!
    Now I know Environment

16. This pronunciation thing sometimes comes with your accent.
    Im Yoruba while my boo is Igbo. And he has a thick Igbo accent, trust me he's educated and even lived abroad but grew up in the East. The thing dey shame me sometimes. imagine pronouncing Toxic as Tosik this past weekend. I didn't even understand what he was saying at first.
    If not this guy is very fine and loaded, I was discouraged about his English when we first met.

1. You need to accept him and correct him with love. Besides English is not our language

2. What about my husband that pronounce S as X!? Ask as Ax...mtschewwww

17. Gbensh - Gwesh. LMAO

18. That asthma, makes me laugh. Some people will even pronounce it as 'ash-ma'. I'm like "how?"

1. Oommmggg that asthma Nigerian pronunciation grinds my gear!!! Like what is ash-ma people??? Lmao

19. That pronnciation for Environment is so wrong

1. Yup very wrong

2. I agree with you. Even that Police I no gree hahahhahahah

20. That pronunciation for Environment is so wrong, i looked it up

1. Yeah. I just checked it up and it is so wrong. And I was thinking of how to start changing my pronounciation of it. Lol

2. Thank you!!! I thought I was crazy lol

3. According to Oxford dictionary, it's absolutely wrong.

21. English sha.You will be feeling on top of the world on top pronouciation not knowing you don fuck up big time
    Bbjac

22. I am British, and i pronounce "Environment" as ɪnˈvaɪrənmənt

23. I am British, and i pronounce "Environment" as ɪnˈvaɪrənmənt.
    Abalone as æbəˈləʊni
    Bury as 'beri'
    Police as 'pəˈliːs'
    Asthma as 'æsmə' Not AZ-MA(maybe it's American )

1. Mbok thank you. The "r" is not silent in environment . Both American and UK pronunciation. Whoever wrote that thing is just doing the most.

2. I know right . I’ve been looking at the pictures ..couldn’t stop laughing Az-ma 😂 smh

3. Must be someone with a thick British/Liverpool accent. They tend to draw their words. I can hear the en-vaaaaee-ment sound in my head lol.

4. According to Oxford and Cambridge dictionaries online: Az-ma is definitely American pronunciation and not British pronunciation.

5. Lol @ anonymous 20:19 very funny .

24. Continuation from where I stopped

Dengue as deŋɡi(not gee)
    Extempore as ɪkˈstempəri
    Receipt as rɪˈsiːt
    suite as swiːt
    Divorce as dɪˈvɔː(r)s
    Almond as ɑːmənd
    Espresso eˈspresəʊ(Empahsis on the S)

1. It is very likely that many reading on the blog will not understand the phonetic spellings in your examples above. Stella’s examples better illustrate how the words should be pronounced, as most Nigerians (pardon the generalisation) tend to pronounce words as spelt.

2. 16:02
      Clappp for yourself.
      What next?

3. Thank you anonymous 16:02 for the phonetic transcription.

You just reminded me of my oral English class in secondary school.

Short and long i sounds (/i/ and /i:/) eg live /liv/ and leave /li:v/

4. Anonymous 18:06 What’s next ?
      Nothing ! Anywhos moving on swiftly.

5. You are welcome Rubynnia 🤗

25. I have known about receipt for a very long time but that almond and environment is a new discovery . But I don't know if I can get used to pronouncing environment that way o

26. Wow....such a nice one, tnx plenty

27. Stella most of these pronunciations you put up there are Americans, not British. British way of speaking is what we should aim at because it's official. Leave these American razz way of speaking.

1. Yeah, you're right. Nigeria was colonised by the British and so we speak British English.

Americans like to be different. I heard after their independence from Britain, they decided to wipe out anything British from their country. That's why we have British English and American English. Don't know how true that is.

28. I have always pronounced receipt correctly but lately I started getting confused cos I hear people say 'reesipt'
    Good to know I've been correct all these while

29. Pastor..pasta. Lol
    Ghana actors and their love for the "a" vowel

30. Receipt same issue with debt. Pronounced without the b. So it's det
    Stuff plural for stuff is stuff. Don't say stuffs
    Past tense of fit is fit. Don't say fitted

1. Copied from Cambridge Dictionary online

fitted
      adjective US/UK ​ 

FURNITURE uk
      made or cut to fill a particular space exactly:
      fitted carpets/kitchens

CLOTHES
      Fitted clothes fit tightly to your body:
      a fitted jacket

2. Grammar no be my language jare! we go dey try shaa. Funny enough, I laughed at Yeni KUTI wen i heard her pronounced too. Am like "Shey becos she go Jand for few week go do Omugwor"... Thnx for d enlightenment all d same

31. All those teachers that were teaching me pronounciation in primary and secondary school , should I send thundeeeeer after them ??? Come and see your lives outside and una go carry cane dey flog us untop .