How we pronounce things matters a lot and most times,the things we think we know are pronounced differently....
Today I listened to TVC's 'your view' and heard Yeni Kuti pronounce the word ''MACHETE as MA -CHE- TE'' and i laughed and wondered why she was pronouncing it wrong until i checked for the prouounciation on google
from daily English on facebook
Tuesday, November 27, 2018
73 comments:
Almond and Environment.. whaaaaaaat been pronouncing it wrong all along.
ReplyDeleteDon't be mixing American and British pronunciation Stella.
DeleteIs this UK pronounciation? Cause here I’ve never heard nobody pronounce environment like ☝🏾 that here. People pronounce it with the “r” though it’s heard subtlety. Hmmm even in movies,news etc...
DeleteNigeria follows the standard form of British English pronunciation (received pronunciation),therefore some of the pronunciations up there posted by Stella are definitely wrong.
DeletePlease everyone, if ever in doubt, always refer to the Cambridge or Oxford dictionaries online for the right pronunciation.
Kind regards
P.S. Anonymous: You are right about environment.
Stella sometimes mother tongue can be a challenge. But with good practice we can overcome wrong pronunciation. I actually enjoyed the ones you put up.
ReplyDeleteOn point @ mothers tongue
DeleteI'm familiar with RECEIPT cos my boss won't stop correcting you until you're use to it.
ReplyDeleteNice one.
Hmm and I'm just getting to know this.. Oh lawd
DeleteWow, good to know.
ReplyDeleteThank you Stella
ReplyDeleteThe pronounciation of the environment tho
Abulone
ReplyDeleteYou sure say you no make mistake for the picture?
That thing there look like tohtoh o.
Haha haha 😀😁😀, many people are sitting on this table. Thanks Stella, I learnt one or two things today
ReplyDeleteEnvironment and almond....chei ..my childhood oo
ReplyDeleteThis is good madam stella
ReplyDeleteThanks Stellicious darling
ReplyDeleteAlways known it's machete but, I refuse to pronounce it as such.
ReplyDeleteGuilty of;
Ah-muh-nd
En-vae-ment *lemme see if I can adjust to it*
I no sure I go fit call that environment oh. It sounds strange. Lol. Let me start practicing it. All the other ones I sabi, thanks to the phonetic symbols we learnt in school.
DeleteNice one
ReplyDeleteThank you.
ReplyDeleteEnvironment? That pronunciation is not going to make me stop saying environment as it is written
ReplyDeleteAs in eh...biko I'm sticking with en-vi-ro-memt!!!!!!..wring pronounciation wont cost me heaven
DeleteIt's a good thing that they teach phonetics in school now. My 3 year old never fails to correct my pronunciation.
ReplyDeleteI am sitting on this table you are shaking oh, the tongue can be twisting atimes when you try pronouncing right
ReplyDeleteAlmond and environment.. huh. Thanks Stellz.
ReplyDeleteGuilty of almond and police.thanks for the enlightenment
ReplyDeleteSdk english 101. Dont come and make me bite my tongue this hot afternoon.
ReplyDeleteHahaha I just taya.
DeleteThat Environment
ReplyDeleteEnvironment is so wrong not correct.
DeleteDefinitely wrong (UK & US)
DeleteGNS 201!!!!
ReplyDeleteNow I know Environment
It's wrong.
DeleteThis pronunciation thing sometimes comes with your accent.
ReplyDeleteIm Yoruba while my boo is Igbo. And he has a thick Igbo accent, trust me he's educated and even lived abroad but grew up in the East. The thing dey shame me sometimes. imagine pronouncing Toxic as Tosik this past weekend. I didn't even understand what he was saying at first.
If not this guy is very fine and loaded, I was discouraged about his English when we first met.
You need to accept him and correct him with love. Besides English is not our language
DeleteWhat about my husband that pronounce S as X!? Ask as Ax...mtschewwww
DeleteGbensh - Gwesh. LMAO
ReplyDeleteThat asthma, makes me laugh. Some people will even pronounce it as 'ash-ma'. I'm like "how?"
ReplyDeleteOommmggg that asthma Nigerian pronunciation grinds my gear!!! Like what is ash-ma people??? Lmao
DeleteGood one.
ReplyDeleteThat pronnciation for Environment is so wrong
ReplyDeleteYup very wrong
DeleteI agree with you. Even that Police I no gree hahahhahahah
DeleteThat pronunciation for Environment is so wrong, i looked it up
ReplyDeleteYeah. I just checked it up and it is so wrong. And I was thinking of how to start changing my pronounciation of it. Lol
DeleteThank you!!! I thought I was crazy lol
DeleteAccording to Oxford dictionary, it's absolutely wrong.
DeleteEnglish sha.You will be feeling on top of the world on top pronouciation not knowing you don fuck up big time
ReplyDeleteBbjac
I am British, and i pronounce "Environment" as ɪnˈvaɪrənmənt
ReplyDeleteGrammar is tough oh.
ReplyDeleteStella ,thanks for this
ReplyDeleteI am British, and i pronounce "Environment" as ɪnˈvaɪrənmənt.
ReplyDeleteAbalone as æbəˈləʊni
Bury as 'beri'
Police as 'pəˈliːs'
Asthma as 'æsmə' Not AZ-MA(maybe it's American )
Mbok thank you. The "r" is not silent in environment . Both American and UK pronunciation. Whoever wrote that thing is just doing the most.
DeleteI know right . I’ve been looking at the pictures ..couldn’t stop laughing Az-ma 😂 smh
DeleteMust be someone with a thick British/Liverpool accent. They tend to draw their words. I can hear the en-vaaaaee-ment sound in my head lol.
DeleteAccording to Oxford and Cambridge dictionaries online: Az-ma is definitely American pronunciation and not British pronunciation.
DeleteLol @ anonymous 20:19 very funny .
DeleteEnvironment is wrong biko
ReplyDeleteContinuation from where I stopped
ReplyDeleteDengue as deŋɡi(not gee)
Extempore as ɪkˈstempəri
Receipt as rɪˈsiːt
suite as swiːt
Divorce as dɪˈvɔː(r)s
Almond as ɑːmənd
Espresso eˈspresəʊ(Empahsis on the S)
It is very likely that many reading on the blog will not understand the phonetic spellings in your examples above. Stella’s examples better illustrate how the words should be pronounced, as most Nigerians (pardon the generalisation) tend to pronounce words as spelt.
Delete16:02
DeleteClappp for yourself.
What next?
Thank you anonymous 16:02 for the phonetic transcription.
DeleteYou just reminded me of my oral English class in secondary school.
Short and long i sounds (/i/ and /i:/) eg live /liv/ and leave /li:v/
Anonymous 18:06 What’s next ?
DeleteNothing ! Anywhos moving on swiftly.
You are welcome Rubynnia 🤗
DeleteI have known about receipt for a very long time but that almond and environment is a new discovery . But I don't know if I can get used to pronouncing environment that way o
ReplyDeleteWow....such a nice one, tnx plenty
ReplyDeleteStella most of these pronunciations you put up there are Americans, not British. British way of speaking is what we should aim at because it's official. Leave these American razz way of speaking.
ReplyDeleteYeah, you're right. Nigeria was colonised by the British and so we speak British English.
DeleteAmericans like to be different. I heard after their independence from Britain, they decided to wipe out anything British from their country. That's why we have British English and American English. Don't know how true that is.
I have always pronounced receipt correctly but lately I started getting confused cos I hear people say 'reesipt'
ReplyDeleteGood to know I've been correct all these while
Pastor..pasta. Lol
ReplyDeleteGhana actors and their love for the "a" vowel
Receipt same issue with debt. Pronounced without the b. So it's det
ReplyDeleteStuff plural for stuff is stuff. Don't say stuffs
Past tense of fit is fit. Don't say fitted
Copied from Cambridge Dictionary online
Deletefitted
adjective US/UK
FURNITURE uk
made or cut to fill a particular space exactly:
fitted carpets/kitchens
CLOTHES
Fitted clothes fit tightly to your body:
a fitted jacket
Grammar no be my language jare! we go dey try shaa. Funny enough, I laughed at Yeni KUTI wen i heard her pronounced too. Am like "Shey becos she go Jand for few week go do Omugwor"... Thnx for d enlightenment all d same
DeleteAll those teachers that were teaching me pronounciation in primary and secondary school , should I send thundeeeeer after them ??? Come and see your lives outside and una go carry cane dey flog us untop .