This was contained in a press statement by the Amir (president) of the MSSN Lagos, Saheed Ashafa (Ph.D), to react to a circular recently issued by the Lagos State Government granting the use of hijab in schools.
The circular conveyed the government’s approval “of the outcome /recommendations of the panel on the use of Hijab” and urged compliance.
According to Ashafa, the circular would help to stop harassment and victimisation of female Muslim students for wearing hijab.
He recalled that despite the Appeal Court judgement, female Muslim students were punished and denied entrance into classrooms for putting on the hijab.
By issuing the circular, Ashafa said the Lagos State Government has towed the path of honour and deserved to be praised for such.
He said: “We extol this gesture and the resoluteness of the state government in ensuring that an avoidable strife do not find ways into the peaceful atmosphere being enjoyed in Lagos State.
“We are pleased with this development because the embarrassing way and manner that our members are being victimised, harassed, punished and denied entrance into their classrooms for wearing hijab would stop.
“We have constantly told the state government that while a case on the hijab is awaiting final verdict at the Supreme Court, no teacher has the right to punish female pupils for wearing hijab. The Appeal Court in the case clearly states that wearing hijab by students, whether within or outside the school premises was a fundamental Human Right entrenched in the constitution.
“It is important to notify you that we will not allow further lawlessness and flagrant disregard for rule of law to stay after this circular. The circular would also help to stop the abuse of rights which could have degenerated into crisis or violence that may lead to the disruption of activities in schools in our dear state.
“We commend this intervention aimed at calling teachers, principals and tutor general to order. This circular approving wearing of hijab by students on their school uniform within and outside school premises, will ensure peace and order in our schools and stability in the state’s education system.”
Ashafa subsequently encouraged female Muslim students to be confident, smart and neat while putting on the hijab.
“We hereby call on female muslim students to enjoy their rights without fear of molestation. While exhibiting their rights, they should remain law abiding and be good ambassadors of the religion of peace,” he added.
He congratulated Muslims in the state and islamic organisations for ensuring that Muslims are not denied their rights
The circular read in part: “Since the case of the use of Hijab in Lagos State is still pending in the Supreme court of Nigeria, status quo be maintained, to avoid contempt of the court, that is students be allowed to wear Hijabs on school uniforms but same must be short, smart, neat and in the same colour of the uniform (skirt).
"Furthermore, schools management are advised to downplay comments and disciplinary actions on the use of smart Hijabs until the final determination of the case by Supreme Court.
"No student should be discriminated against in any form on the basis of religion.
"All principals and teachers must be sensitized to comply accordingly. You are enjoined to adhere strictly to these recommendations."
Is Alright enough Expo during Exams for them...
ReplyDeleteAs in eeeehhhh if you know,you know.
DeleteIf that will stop decays in public schools no wahala
ReplyDeleteIf I hear say he stop 🤣🤣 na now he go start
DeleteWhat’s that, the babes with hijabs are terrible when it comes to exam period.
ReplyDeleteYou that aren’t terrible, tell us what you have achieved.
DeleteRefusal of this would have cause another religious intolerance and hostility in the city.
ReplyDeleteReligious and political interplay , Fashola a Muslim banned it. Ambode a Christian lifted the ban.
DeleteGood for them
ReplyDeleteFanatics and extremists.fiìaaa
ReplyDeletehmmmm! Good for them
ReplyDeletesecondary school shud be secondary school. i detest this hijab of a thing. they are still too young to be conditioned abeg
ReplyDeleteWell, you detest something that no one forces you to wear. Your level of tolerance is really commendable. Clap for yourself.
DeleteI hope Christians in Islamic schools will also be allowed to uncover their hair.
ReplyDeleteReligion should stay out of the public school system. If your religion is a priority then go to an Islamic school where you know you can practise without judgement.
Whereas in other countries, women are fighting to emancipate themselves from Hijab, look at how these fanatics are embracing it so rapidly.
Africans just love to embrace oppression.
Exactly.
DeleteWhich countries are women fighting to ‘emancipate’ themselves from wearing hijab? Or is it not the other way round. Why are countries such as France, Austria, Denmark making laws that will prevent some women from wearing the hijab? The women argue that it is their right to wear the hijab the same way it is the right of other women to wear bikinis and other stuffs. Religion cannot stay out of the public or public schools. The students have their parents taxes going into those schools and it is their constitutional right to freedom of religious right as long as it doesn’t trample on other people’s right.
DeleteKai this made me remember one babe like that back in uni with her very long hijab. The day i saw the big text book she hid under that hijab gor malpractice eeehhhh i weak...
ReplyDeleteAlot of things goes under that their hijab.
Na so una go dey lie just to make a point. Phew! Which way fellow Nigerians!
DeleteThat's nice
ReplyDeleteAs a member of the Celestial church, I hope I will also be allowed to wear my white garment to school.
You know, seeing as religious garments are now allowed in school.
Or is Islam more important than my religion?
So funny! But how many times do you wear your white garment in a week except to church? Why are you not wearing it on other days and to other places? It is because, the nature of the white garment to you as a member of the celestial church is not the same as what the hijab is to a Muslim woman or lady. They do not occupy the same religious status to the two religious beliefs. Try to make your argument more rational please. By the way, the ladies in question will still wear school uniforms. The hijab doesn’t stop them from their uniforms.
DeleteWhy not approve beret for all female students instead? Then everybody can go home and wear hijab or tie scarf if they want. Students in higher institutions are free to dress the way they want but this should have been kept out of public secondary schools in the south. There are Christian missionary and Muslim schools that people who feel strongly about their mode of dressing can attend without hassles na. When I was in secondary school, my no-nonsense Principal suspended all students who refused to sing the national anthem because of their denomination. Shaperly, na their voice con loud pass for assembly when they finally returned. When in school, respect the rules or stay at home. Very soon dem go say muslim students can only be punished under Sharia law. Meanwhile, dem go commot am for passport office snap o. We dey see dem dey flip hair for the abroad o. Naija teachers and Head teachers, una doh o.
ReplyDeleteStop being so extreme please. Even in the passport office, you are allowed to wear the hijab as long as it shows your full frontal part of your face. In the abroad that you are claiming, like in the US, UK, Canada, and many other Western countries that you guys take as point of reference, Muslim women are allowed to have their hijabs on for passports, ID cards, etc. In fact, they use them in schools. Muslim policewomen, lawyers, etc use their hijabs in these countries. They are more secular than Nigeria. But you guys just keep crying out for no reason.
DeleteBeret is your own definition of how people should practise their ways of dressing. Wow! It shows how accommodating of other people’s traditions you are. Please make a sound argument.
Mr zaki Azzay, you people are planning to be using hijab to carry bomb to school in the south. Yeye ambode too agreed. Why do they show ears in ppt office. They should claim right too with immigration now. Lemme see if trump bans hijab in America if they will not throw it away so that they will not be deported. Fanatics. Long hiss.
Deletedon't know why muslims always expect others to bow to their religion while so intolerant of others..as a christian u cant be allowed to dress the way you want in a muslim dominated environment but we christians will allow them the hijab anyhow. a true christian will dress decently and Christianity is not a religion that forces you to do anything, it should be a conviction of the heart
ReplyDeleteIf you are a true Christian and believe in the highest position of the mother of Christ, you would recognize that she dressed covering herself, not the other way round.
DeleteSecondly, is the hijab forced on you or on any Christian? Is it not Muslims who will wear them? You are the one who is intolerant here because you are asking others to bow to your own religious practise and being intolerant of others.
When will Nigerian muslims protest against the high rate of illiterates and poverty in the north? When will you all protest against child marriage? The rich muslims send their children to school while the poor marry off their babies, is that fair?
DeleteNonsense