Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Traditional Marriage List Of A Village In Akwa -Ibom State

Wednesday, October 31, 2018

Traditional Marriage List Of A Village In Akwa -Ibom State

You wont believe what you are about to read...............

MARRIAGE LIST

N.B: The cost of this list is one Thousand Naira(#1000.00) only and one bottle of Original Schnapps

STEP 1: COMPOUND CLEANERS(YOUTH) NKPO MKPARAWA

2 cartons of beer(Star and Gulder)
2 crates of mineral
1 packet of cigarette (St Morris)
1 packet of cigarette (Benson)
2 bottles of Schnapps
1 bottle of illicit gin(kai-kai)
1 head of tobacco
1 leather ball
Cash of Two thousand five hundred naira (#2500.00) only 

STEP 2: KNOCKING OF THE DOOR(FATHER AND MOTHER) COMBINE

6 cartons of Star beer
6 crates of mineral
2 crates of small stout
2 crates of Maltina
4 liters of illicit gin(kai-kai)
2 heads of tobacco and limestone
2 rubbers of palm wine (40 liters)
2 bottles of grinded snuff
4 bunches of cola nut
6 bottles of schnapps
6 bottles of Eva wine
Physical cash of forty thousand naira (#40,000.00) only

STEP 3: FAMILY

1 big native she goat
5 tubers of yam
5 cartons of Star beer
I cartons of small stout
1 cartons of assorted gin
3 crates of mineral
2 Rubbers of palm wine (40 liters)
2 bunches of cola nut
2 heads of tobacco and limestone
2 bottles of grinded snuff
Physical cash of five thousand naira (#5,000.00) only.

STEP 4: FATHER

1 matchet with cover
1 carton of whisky
1 bottle of three in 1 whisky
1 carton of schnapps
10 cartons of beer, (small stout)
10 crates of mineral
10 bottles of English wine
4 litres of hot drink (kai-kai)
5 head of tobacco with limestone and snuff water
5 rubbers of palm wine
5 bud of kola-nut
5 packet of St. Morris cigarette/benson
1 piece of president rapper (English made)
Complete suit with reading eye glass
1 fine chieftaincy dress
1 black hat
1 English long sleeve shirt
1 wrist watch
1 fine walking stick
1 pair of cover shoe with sucks
1 hot pant
1 nice tie
1 fine English portfolio
Envelope of #50,000.00

STEP 5: MOTHER

1 Raleigh Bicycle
10 cartons of beer
10 crates of minerals
5 bottles of whisky
1 piece of English Damask
Blouses (lace) and head tie canopy (Damask)
A pair of women shoe and wrist watch (Gold)
1 set of Earring (Gold), Bleazer and pant (dozen)
1 under skirt (dozen) and hand Bangoles (Gold)
1 Frying Garri pot
1 Toronto Basin with cover
1 Umbrella and Hand bag
1 set of eating plate with spoons (dozen)
1 Palm Oil milling machine
1 English house knife
2 cooking pot big and small (English made)
1 big rubber of kerosene
2 bags of salt
2 bags of pepper
2 bags of crayfish
2 rubbers of palm wine
2 bags of rice
1 bag of beans
1 big cooking stand for palm oil
1 big bathing towel, soap, pomade oil, washing hand towel and English basin (big one)
1 carton of key soap
1 crate of mineral and #1,000.00 for cooker
1 piece of English wax to cover on the ground for wife to match on
1 three in one whisky to show the husband
#5,000.00 to open the whisky
Envelope of #40,000.00 only

STEP 6: GRAND FATHER

1 piece of English wax
5 bottle of schnapps
2 three in 1 whisky
5 bottle of English wine
5 big bottles Gordien Dry gin
4 litres of hot drink (kai-kai)
5 cartons of beer
5 crates of mineral
1 carton of whisky
5 head of tobacco with limestone with snuff water
1 bottle of Granded snuff
2 rubbers of palm wine
Envelope of #10,000.00 only

STEP 7: GRAND MOTHER'S SHARES (MKPO EKAETE)

1 piece of wax
1 carton of beer
1 crate of mineral
1 bottle of illicit gin
1 bottle of whisky

STEP 8: COOKER'S SHARES (MKPO MBON UTEM UDIA)

1 carton of beer
1 crates of minerals
1 bottle of schnapps
1 bottle of illicit gin
3 Key Bar soap
Cash of #1,500.00 (one thousand five hundred naira only)

107 comments:

1. They should kukuma carry their bride and go back.

1. But they allow you to negotiate. And the negotiation is a playfully jovial arrangement. Whatsoever you can afford,they accept with love. I know because my brother is happily married to an excitingly excellent Ibibio woman... Kisses to you Uduak! You are the best!!!

2. Some people don't gerit, they wan make them girls tee for house? Them go just dey there dey breed pikins for them parents.

3. Anonymous I was so present there, this people didn't agree to negotiations, tgey were acting so greedy and self centered. this girl Parents are no more so uncles wanted to kill the guy. This people are not Nigerians so the bad experience they were just singing it f

4. I guess the people there only want polithiefcians and maybe yahoyahoo boys and ritualists. May God deliver our people from greed.

5. chimamanda adichie was right about bride price anyway

6. This happens when ur family live in the village

7. It is the general akwaibom list, in fact they forgot to include the part for the person that took care of the girl when she was young.

8. Please which one is hot pant?

9. Hot pants is tiet

2. So what will the wife now get....na wa!!!

3. Come to think it is tribe I am picking interest of getting a wife. Chaiii.

1. @Teejay, remember Boys Scout motto: be prepared...

Hahahaha...

2. It is negotiable, don't get scared. Lol

3. LMAO teejay whenever u are ready we will accompany you from the blog to go get ur wife from Akwaibom.

Ur woman's family might be lenient enough.

4. Wow!!! Thanks Sonia and GnM you guys are kind. @Godwin yes ooh I have started preparing ooh. Next year no go pass me by, never.

5. Wow!!! Thanks Sonia and GnM you guys are kind. @Godwin yes ooh I have started preparing ooh. Next year no go pass me by, never.

6. Issorit good luck God bless my suitor to be cable Amen 🙌 keyin Jesus

4. Hahahahahaha I hope the man will find diamond stones inside her pussy after buying all these.

1. THIS IS REALLY UNBELIEVABLE OOH AND THAT IS WHY SO MANY GIRLS ARE AT HOME BECOMING BABYMAMA AT HOME IN FRONT OF THEM

1. Say what? Even Mbaise's list (I've seen) that everyone seem to be afraid of is not as bad as this.

2. Well, it depends on d part.. Definitely not my side.

3. Becky love, how much will it cost me to pay your bride price?

4. ANAMBRA STATE IS NOT LIKE THAT OHH

6. Make i run go show hubby this list. He's lucky he doesn't have a sister.

7. If I hear another person say Igbo list is the worst. But seriously these requirements needs to be reviewed, our grand parents no spend like this to marry haba. This is exploitation and wickedness.

1. I'm from Akwa ibom State, yes we have traditional marriage list but not all the list have everything as stated here. This is outrageous oh...

It depends on the family involved, some parents are greedy sha...

Mine was not like this oh mbok

2. What people forget is this is not even the wedding cost. This is just dowry/bride price and you will spend close to 500k on this list, depending on quality of the materials you buy.
      When wedding cost of hall, wedding dress, caterer, decorations, drinks, wedding cake, entertainment are all still there for both trad and white wedding o. Two days of still hosting and feeding people.
      This is part of the reason men are waiting till late 30s to marry and make a lady lord of the rings for years.

3. 500k is too small o. Did you not see palmoil making machine there and palm oil cooker? Ie the palm processor and the oil distiller set that one alone is half of the cost. Then for the mothers side, gold ornaments, my dear if you spend 1million on this list then you are lucky.

8. wow! very affordable...i'm guessing this is from Annang.

1. Those human eaters? Not surprised one bit!

2. Not Annang alone has this type of list. My own village's own too is similar but the bicycle has been changed to ladies motorcycle

9. Izalie!😱😱😱

Even grandparents are included?
    Hot pant for the father? Lmao! What is hot pant?
    Oil milling machine?
    You'll pay for knocking of the door and still bring extra stuff again for the parents? This is brutal!

And someone somewhere will say Mbaise bride price is the worst..this one na die! Dude better know how to negotiate like his life depends on it.

1. LMAO 😀😁😁, na that hot pant I see oh. Bikonu what type of pant is hot pant?

2. Ikwakwakwakwakwakwakwakwakwakwakwakwakwakwakwa
      You no see 'Bleazar' and pant (one dozen) for mother?

10. Mouth open.
    And people say Igbo bride's list is outrageous?

11. so 40k is what they wrote ONLY.

when people dey lobby for 1k for RANTHQ.

good luck to the grooms family!

12. What a list!!!!!!
    Why do people do this to their daughters like really?? Thats how my colleague showed me a list of what was wanted from him before he could marry his babe that was from Abia state. He had to run without looking back. This was a girl he had dated for four years fa.🤦‍♀️ I really pitied her cos i know her.. Now, hes married to someother girl from Delta. All these things should just be reviewed abeg.

1. My brother married from Abia. Their list no be child's play.

2. Abeg Annang poeple should help beg family peoples to reduce bride prices list pls, imagine me go to become a single mother my fiance just breakeup with me because of the list given to him that he can not afford it even me when I saw the list I nearly fainted and my parents are not alive,and I am currently pregnant for my fiance now he is telling he going to take responsibility of his child only cause he can't afford my traditional marriage list,kaii imagine the shame I just wish to abort this pregnancy and move on with my life 😭😭😭💔💔💔💔 e no go better for my family peoples aswr,for this economy 😭😭

13. Stella this is very true. My bro wife is from Akwa ibom while my bro na Igbo... We paid 50k to the mum which is non negotiable from the list given to us while the dad, we paid 100k as it was written on d list non negotiable too. My brother suffer no be small. Thank God he was doing well as a med Dr and the wife a trained Nurse (midwifery). We spent not less than 600k for list that was 3 pages. Her parents are so greedy.. Very greedy set of people. The lady even tire for the matter. After the trad and white wedding, she cut her parents off... No communication,.. My bro and d wife will finally leave Naija for US for greener pasture next month without even her parents knowledge. Greedy parents mehn!!!!

1. They are greedy.
      Since they were still alive, they should have had pity on the man. It's only greedy uncles that usually behave the way you described up there after the death of the girls parents or father(women don't always have a say in things like this)
      I love how the girl cut them off.

2. kwakwakwakwakwakikikikiki food of forever at once....long throat kee dem dia

3. Greed is bad
      We'll all eat this money together fa
      If you wring him @ once...as his wife I'll be unable to disobey him or even do something for the family without his consent
      Poverty and greed na bastard sha

14. Replies
    1. And I saw bicycle for the mum? 🙆🙆🙆🙆🙆

15. Outrageous. Why pay father & mother combined. And still pay father & mother separate.

16. Most of these lists are subject to negotiation. You must not provide everything written. I'm not from AKS though.

17. That is why the men run away from marriage and prefer to keep them and be eating them free.

18. No wonder they marry late. Ain't nobody got time for such outrageous bride price

19. Stella it's not in all families. I'm from akwa ibom and I can tell you that for a fact. Every family have their own list. I could say that list is for a specific family so it shouldn't be generalised. My family's marriage list is half of that. Item no.1 has jus 4 items there with no cash attached. I had to use the list my fiance just got to do a comparison. So people like Teejay can still come to Akwa ibom.

1. You're right, even in my place, each umunna have theirs. This family is very greedy... Tufiakwa

2. @daniella: my dad is fron Uruan & my mom is from ikot ekpene. i'm sorry to contradict you but marrying an akwa ibom woman is EXPENSIVE! only sey we wan ask for list, i know the kinda things they requested from us. Those people are to greedy abeg!

3. Ron, most of the families in Akwa Ibom are greedy.
      The funniest thing is that almost all the elders that sat down to compile this list did not do one tenth of the items on the list before marrying their own wives.
      My mum told me that marriage in those days was very cheap, just a keg of palm wine and some bottles of hot kai kai drinks and kola nuts, you would be handed your wife.

20. Stella I saw this with my own eyes. .this list is small.. .the guy totalled 4million for list. Swear I cried hat day. The girl was just helpless. If not for love and that gy is nice he would have ignored them. He didn't pay all but they became angry, the guy and family started leaving. So they begged and move on

21. They did not add witches list hagahahahaha. Witches need to be added so that it can be complete

22. This is crazy mehn but there is room for negotiation. This list is one of the reasons they have plenty aunty gwegwegwes

23. When you marry into poverty.....

24. I'm from Akwa ibom annang pricesly. Born and raised my my mum and my dad never cared if I existed even his family till date don't even know if iam still alive. my mom trained me single-handedly I'm a geologist. Done with nysc. Met a Yoruba man during my service we got engaged. Did court wedding with his parents and my mum present. my Hubby is in the UK and my visa is ready and I'm joining him tomorrow. In my case who should I pay the bride price to? Should I go to people who never cared about me or contributed 1naira to my well-being since I was born? I cut them off completely and I'm living my life. And my husband loved and cherished me and understand everything about my family. I'm pregnant and intend birthing my baby and raise her well. I might consider paying the bride price when I feel like. But for now I don't care.
    PS. My useless dad is dead.

1. Chai!
      My dear just send something to them to fulfill all righteousness. Get the contact of the family head when you reach abroad and call them. Send money to them to buy goat and little things and do it in your absence. I know what I'm saying. Those people are wicked. They use jazz and kill ladies for 'disgracing' them and living with a man without paying anything to them. They are very diabolical.

2. AConcernedNigerian31 October 2018 at 17:37

Dear anonymous, Please ignore President D'Royalty's opinion. You owe no one anything. And if by chance you believe the jazz angle, sending them money to buy he-goat and schnapps will be tantamount to paying "diabolical" people to jazz you. Please send the bride price to your sweet mummy for raising a strong, intelligent and well rounded woman. Congratulations on your wedding and baby on the way.

3. Same thing happened to my friend. Her father's people heard about her marriage and came but she drove them away. Bride price was paid to her mother's people

4. Your case is very similar to my wife own is own is even worst that she can't recognize her father the person that rase her up used her for house made to make money for his pocket no schooling no hand work.

25. This is no joke o,it is very true,my husband's friend married an akwa ibom lady when they gave him d list d lady try convincing him that he can get only d important ones thinking it was true after a day to the wedding d brides father called him to inform him dat he has not completed d items on d list.d guy just weak,d next thing guy man do na to start borrow money from his guess.After all those payment they ended up using 2 Cartoons of fish for d wedding,food no reach people d guy was full with regret.that is y they don't really get married. go ibaka and oron go see plenty baby mama's.

26. Lol.... what is this?

27. That is how there list is o,don't allow anybody deceive u o.the girls will be deceiving u dat is optional it is not optional o.any yes I am shouting it.that list up there is realistic,it is authentic.

28. wobe shidren dey here oooooo

29. My dad is Ibibio & Mum is Annang. Na so dem drag teh list wahala so tey, i carry bele born the first one, then born the second one 3yrs later. My marriage don dey near 10 years and we never conclude the trado rights on top this their list matter. Popsie & mom travelled down to lagos for the court wedding & church blessing. My dad says when we have a spare 500k that we do not need, we should just bring it & he will use that to shut-up his greedy family members, hehehehe! Na me be first grand daughter for both families so because of that they wanna tear my husband's pocket, imagine! these are pple i NEVER met in my life & now dem wan form relatives....shioor! they even banned popsie from seeing his grandkids but the man smart pass dem. when he wants to see us, he travels down to lagos, stays a while & goes back to the village. greedy pple!

popsie said most of his extended relatives still have daughters wey be my mate wey never marry o because of this outrageous list! And i am in my mid 30's!

1. Their family is greedy. The list should be open for negotiation.

2. Your own is poverty dear. Your hubby has no finance to perform marital rites. Continue to give birth without proper marriage such children of yours GOD refers to them as "BASTARD" children.

Tell your hubby to marry you properly.

3. Anon 14.53 how evil are you to refer to one's kids as B. And you call yourself a Christian. some of you are unbelievable.
      A couple that did church blessing and registry, who are you to judge. EVIL WOMAN

30. Everything there is subject to negotiation. The intended groom will never pay everything listed there. And it depends on the family also.

My sister got married and when I saw the list I had to informed my brother to take some of the items off the list and reduced the amount and he did same, her hubby came and negotiated and what he gave was accepted... So it is not all parts of Akwa Ibom community that have this exorbitant lists.

31. just like d Enugu friend they gave her fiance d,when d guy saw big bed for grandmother, wrappers b4 going to her mom's portion to father umuna and co.d guy run.I really felt for her but there was nothing she could do.

32. just like my Enugu friend they gave her fiance d,when d guy saw big bed for grandmother, wrappers b4 going to her mom's portion to father umuna and co.d guy run.I really felt for her but there was nothing she could do.

1. Grandmother and grandfather that may be no more. They will balance on their chairs and collect everything and share among themselves

33. This is because the ladies present their fiance as a wealthy man in an attempt to do peppered #stew.
    So all the teachers, okada riders, drivers, houuseboys etc, no go marry???.

34. Walahi, this na bail conditions.

35. I am from Akwa-ibom,not all part of the state give/present such exorbitant list to the intended in-laws.This people are selling off their daughter. My sister who took her fiance home for introduction,DIDN'T RECEIVE SUCH RIDICULOUS AND OUTRAGEOUS LIST.As the adiagha,I need not be afraid too.PLEASE, fellow BV'S,no be all family get this kind greed.

36. Ohh my days!! The things I kept seeing up and down all the lists were Kai-Kai, dry gin, cartons of beer, more cartons of beer and cigarette. Na wa oo. Is it only alcohol dey will be consuming?

37. Wetin concern me? Na person River see Im leg e dey swallow. Final final, I go katsina collect 15 lashes of cane and marriage matter don end be that. Nonsense list.

38. This list is outrageous! God help me.

39. I actually saw a lady who's from Akwa Ibom living here in Abuja, I really love her but the things I read now made me weak.
    I can't afford all that with my little income.

1. That’s why most of the ladies in Akwa Ibom are not married, majority of them are baby mamas and single ladies...

40. Dangaladima, S.I2 October 2019 at 09:37

This whole thing got me scared.
    I'm in love with Akwa Ibom finest and hard working girl hustling here in Abuja, but seriously this list has weaken my body.

41. God will help us in Jesus name

42. This is serious. My girl is akwa ibom. Hmmm. Maybe I will switch.

43. Reading all these I'm scared oh I'm in love with Ikot Ekpene lady

1. Same here man, I don't just know what to do right now. It has been 6years of dating and planing to go to her side this year but with this list am scared of even going.

44. This one reason guys scared of settling down,this list issue is dragging us men back.I ve an ikwa ibom lady am about applying for a relationship. But with am I seeing and reading from comments hmmmn,matter pass matter.

45. This list is subject to review and downsize.

And it's not all part of akwa ibom that has same list.

Some parents are even ready to assist once they see the seriousness.

Am from Akwa Ibom and also a suitor.

1. Enter your reply...Okay
      thank you

2. How about ikot abasi as of 2022 what should be my budget on brideprice

46. Etinan is were my girl friend came from,am scared of this list o. Am from Delta state.

47. Nawahaooo God go help us 🙏

48. May the good Lord assist my fiance and help us overcome such list in Jesus name. God pass these wicked uncles and elders who didn't contribute a dime to one's growing up.

49. Poor me go d budget 1m to marry my akwaibom fiance,
    I pray the parents consider things shall