Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: The Journey Of A Baby Mama Series -2

Tuesday, October 23, 2018

The Journey Of A Baby Mama Series -2

People misunderstand me each time I talk about my past; they think I am living in self pity and still broken,but no way. I tell my story when I can to encourage people, to let them know that what doesn’t kill you keeps you strong. 

And I don’t refer to my child as a mistake; I only regret the channel that’s all. 

They also think I want to get back with her father but none of that is true. All the feelings I had for him are all dead. People stylishly ask me “why don’t you marry her father now,” Or “what if he wants to marry you now nko?” I feel they ask to know if I still want him back. 

My response has always been “NO”, because I didn’t know what I was getting into when I was with him. I have moved on and there is no going back. I just love that I am a mother; the only thing I hate is the word “BABY MAMA”, it’s too condescending and makes me have this insignificant type of feeling.

Before I forge ahead with my story, I would like to address some misconceptions surrounding “Baby Mamas” or single moms as the case may be or as you want to tag them. Yes some ladies get pregnant to trap a man to marry them, well this action always backfires and in the end the lady suffers with her child because that commitment she craved for won’t be present in the marriage, with the man feeling trapped. 

In as much as this is happening, that does not mean that every lady with child outside wedlock wants to trap the man or get him to be her money making machine. I am working and my daughter’s father gives me upkeep of 20k per month (for her alone o) pays her school fees and sometimes pays my rent when he feels like, and I am very much ok with that because my concern is my child.

Some assume that a single mother’s dream will end, but that is up to the woman actually, as for me, now more than ever I am determined to live a life that doesn't include any deferred dreams. I want a good life for my child; I work my ass off just for us to survive, in fact I do not have any social life, my friends call me “workaholic”, I do not want her to face the same circumstances that led me to make the mistake I made, I used to depend on her father for everything before, but what if something happens to him tomorrow? 

This and coupled with the daily insults I got from him propelled me into action to become hardworking.

They assume that any child raised by a single mom doesn’t turn out well because there was no father figure in the home. I can’t help but laugh, I am not bragging ooo my child is 8 now but behaves like an old woman because she is well mannered and behaved. Men especially, assume that a baby mama is a loose woman, and then they try to take advantage of that by trying to get her to bed because as always she would be horny and in need of sex. They say we are bitter women who seem to have something personal against all men; we are desperate for men and daddy figures for our children, among others!

They refer to us as “TOKUNBO” as in leftovers, chai such a derogatory way of referring to someone. Well most single moms can be everything I mentioned but definitely not all, and I won’t judge them for being like that either.

So back to my story, after delivery, I had a lot of mixed up feelings, from joy to sadness to worry and relief. I was happy because of my pretty princess, I didn’t believe she was all mine, I could stay hours doing nothing but watch her sleep. Then the next minute I would be sad because I knew I really didn’t make my family proud especially when I hear of my cousins getting married, it always got to me. I worried about how to take care of her, as a matter of fact, I was still in school. i wondered how I would cope with her and lectures. Thankfully my sister stayed back to help (she was done with uni, no job she became my nanny, God bless her abundantly for me), all I did was to extract breast milk and I would go for lectures, I did exclusive for 6 months my boobs suffered.

nnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnn
The deep cut I had healed through the hot water therapy, though you will notice that there was a cut there and also a little scar is still visible but I was advised to stitch it up when I am having another baby. It was during the healing process that thoughts of suicide even dared to cross my mind. When I think about the pains I was going through from the cut and how my body changed I would cry my eyes out and long for my old self. But I felt relieved that I wasn’t preggy anymore, no more unusual stares from people and having to answer some questions, I was just glad that I was done with that phase.

But then life really kicked me real good in the ass, Is it the days I had to drink only tea to enable me breast feed, or when there was no money to buy diapers I had to use baby clothes to hold her bum bum. In fact I don’t want to go there because I am already emotional. I would cry out to God then to forgive and help me because of this angel that I forced to come to this world, I begged God not to let her suffer for my mistake. 

There was no other source of income because my family wasn’t doing well except the 5k I got from him, (her father) after insulting me and reminding me that after all he gave me money to abort her. My father was critically ill then, and he eventually died that same year, it was real hell, but God saw me through, my baby stayed with me for like 8 months then I had to keep her with my mother to face my studies squarely. I cannot begin to tell you guys my everyday hurdle while nursing my baby because of space….somebody don dey already call me Mrs. Abati sef in the comment section of the first series lol!

It was now time for me to adjust again into the society; I will tell you guys how I grew up by force due to the challenges I faced and how I was stigmatized in the next series. To any girl/woman who is about to be tagged, please stay strong! If I could do it so can you. Have a pleasant week everyone.

Thanks guys for the comments from the first episode of this series, the comments really boosted my spirit, and also thanks to you Mama Stellzzz for posting. By the way this is not Stella’s Story; I will reveal my name soon.

*Shuo,how can this be my story?I am not and was never a baby mama,i got lucky...LMAO
if you are a baby mama and wanna share your story,please send it in....

56 comments:

1. Awwwww,so touching, thank God you are strong now. God bless you and continue to keep you for your daughter, she will make you proud.

1. Moral of the story

MEN CAN BE ASSES SO CLOSE YOUR LEGS TILL AFTER MARRIAGE

2. Poster it is well, your baby is all grown up, don’t worry soon love will find you

3. Hmmn
    It would be nice if you could send the whole story in at once cos truth be told, poster don forget wetin you yarn the first time.
    As i close a post ,i don forget everything oh

4. It is well @ Poster....
    The Good Lord is your strength....

5. Nawa o, nne you really suffered o. May God continue to strengthen you and bless your baby.

6. Glad to hear she's 8 and your doing well for yourself, Stella ur not serious at all. Lol at got lucky.

Socialmediaawardsng

To vote @stelladimokokorkus as BLOGGER OF THE YEAR

Text sma18 stella to 33352

7. Stelllaaaaaa... Hahahahah .

Baby Mama is not a thing to celebrate to be honest, but then our boys/men need to grow up. I think our clergies should change our sermons to include moral, values, etc. Also when you have gotten the title 'BaBy MaMa' there is nothing one can do than to call you that. You may be lucky to raise your child well but another may not raise hers well and that will equally lead to what we are facing today.

Think before you become One.
    God bless you.

May my generation not find themselves in it. Amen
    #NothingPassBridePrice

1. Truth be told I don't blame people for judging single mothers. I grew up with a single mother and I wish I grew up in a regular household cos of certain things. My mother was always looking for love, from one boyfriend to another. Its always uncle this or that. My mother and I shared a room, we lived in the BQ of my grandparents house to save cost for my education.
      I actually saw her have sex 3 times while she thought I was asleep. That thing damaged me. Because of that I made it a duty to remain chaste and not end up like my mother. I kept my virginity till I got married at 25 and swore my kids will have a stable life.
      don't get me wrong I love my mother, she sacrificed a lot for me, I never lacked and had quality education, I am now a lawyer and married for 5yrs. But I regret some things I saw as a child. Different men always tropping in and out of our lives.

2. @ Anonymous 14:32 ..Such is life but please do not share this with your husband no matter what ..There are some secret about our mother's that no man should no about...I'm happy that you are married and well educated.Please take care of your mum too😘😘😘

3. OMG this your comment has opened my eyes now ooo.i have learnt i am a single mum though as for me, i have a male friend that comes around and sleeps in my house sometimes, and we sleep at his sometimes when there isn't light, we don't do anything but maybe i will stop him from sleeping in my house and like wise in order not to give my child the wrong impression. chai God help us

4. Please don't bring a man to your house even don't introduce your child to any man until the relationship is over s year..I live in one bedroom flat while my child is sleeping I sneak my boyfriend in once and did it in the living room but most times he book for a near by hotel where I can just walk down to around 12am and come back like 3am...

5. Anon 14.51 I have never told a soul not even my mother or my husband. Besides the time I started dating my hubby my mother was already 50 and given up on men. He always wondered he has never seen a man come visit her before. That how has she remained like that with how beautiful and young she is. I just smile.
      I have moved on from all I experienced as a child, though I was abit rebellious as a teenager where I didn't respect my mother because of the things i saw. We had alot of fights while growing up because I lost respect for her at a point. And i even started acting out to The men that visited.
      The other anon pls don't let a man be sleeping over in your house. It damages the child I say it from experience. If you have sex or relationships. Do it outside.
      I was also lucky I wasn't abused by any of these men because abuse happens to some kids. In looking for marriage my mother could change boyfriend every 6 months. I think they just took advantage of her desperation of love as a single mother. They were all nice to me most times anyway. But I don't think it was a good environment for a child.
      My mother was a hard worker though and she gave me the best she could afford. She also instilled hard work in me. But her problem was men back then. Right now her life is all about church and caring for her grand children.
      But truth be told I didn't grow up in a healthy environment. I was just lucky to turn out well.

6. God will continue to strengthen you anon 15:33.

7. The pains of being raised by a single Mum! 😭😭

8. Anon 15:26 ... you say Wetin? You leave your child for 3hours sleeping all because of man? Don’t try that again, I watched one movie and I know what can happen to a child in a space of 2hours, even if he/ she is up to 10years old, please do not do it again

9. I won't do that again, the guy dickmatized me then it was a summer fling...

8. You got lucky or you aborted. Abi you dey forget yourself?

1. Aborted is being lucky nah don't you know?

Or you think it's every baby mama that got lucky like this poster did?

2. Shuo shantelle na wa o.at least she didn't lie abt d abortion.u can only say what u wrote up there if u never abort or take any pills to prevent preggy b4.idiot somebody..using someone's past to shame them

3. Stella said she aborted..bit that's her decision. The poster didn't abort thats her decision too.so Stella is lucky she aborted kinda

4. if i call you idiot now it will be as if i am harsh....Did me and you discuss?it is people like u that make me not put anythng about myself online.....nonsense!!

5. Lmao...Too many crazy people on this blog😂😂😂 Stella you are very tolerant,if not you won't enable anonymous 15:04 comment

6. Shantelle, that was uncalled for. Please apologize
      SDK, although you LOL at your statement above, I felt it was abit insensitive to the op as well.

OK. Bye now

7. That's right Shantele. I like this bed and rose comment one time; don't mock any lady because she is single, had a baby out of wedlock or TCC. Uwaezuoke!

9. I don't know what category I fit in
    because no bride price or marriage on my head after giving birth to two children to the same man and I don't see him doing anything after 12yrs

1. See the negative thoughts that you just allowed into your head and you want angel to stamp it abi.

Just know that he will do it whether he likes it or not

2. You better answer present when they do roll call for babymamas. See kweshion.

3. Thanks for your kind words @ Yori Yori, we are in foreign land with the kids, I pray for the best too... God bless you 😍😍😍

4. Live in babymama. And you must'v bn shouting 'my husband this,my husband that' in peoples ears oh.
      Better give yourself prestige and make that man do you right.

5. @ Shantelle...You speak well but heart want what it wants I can't force him, even I don't want to marry don't really need it.😋😋😋 I get better benefits as a single mother than being married where I reside..

6. Madam cant you ask this man to just send his people to go pay your bride-price in your father's compound. It can be done in your absence. Then follow it up with registry. You don't have to do a party. Alot of men will use finances as excuse.
      My friend who is based in US with her hubby. They paid her bride price in her fathers parlour in Lagos here while absent.
      She and hubby did registry in US with just 2 friend that act as witness.

7. My dear, don't use fight or nagging to chase that guy away. Talk to him about paying your bride price. How much is bride price again kwanu?

10. Hmm I envy single mothers that are living the good life o Choi. Please I want to live a good life with children alone without their.
    This man is a dream killer and I don't see myself and my children living the life I want for us. I need to have my own houses, cars, put my children in a high profile school, go to school, own several businesses, travel abroad for vacations and all of that. Dreams are indeed shattered when you a child you never prepared for except you have a strong family support system unlike myself. Women who has been in same shoes as me and later live their dream lives please how did you do it? I don't want to marry again but this man if you leave with your children oyo is your name. Advice o please.
    Poster lucky you.

1. You see all those things wey you list there? Na ya tohtoh you dey prepare to carry fork am through; snatching a married man, marrying a snatched man, manning a snatched marriage or foolishly scattering ya marriage. The man did not force you to marry him, did he?
      You are greedy and that's the full stop!

11. It is good to move on. But do ladies actually move on after becoming baby mamas? Bitterness is the rule! "The beast "chopped" and dumped me".
    A lot of ladies are gearing up to be baby mamas or "substitute wives" before year ends. Whether it rains or the sun shines, a man must fall. Whether by "belle" or "jazz belle", 2018 must not wind up without a man in their kitty! Just wait for the chronicles or anonymous night posts in the first quarter of the New Year and read for yourselves what goes on. I know because I have followed this blog for seven years!

12. Poster, you are a strong woman ehn.

13. The poster writes well oo, if you see the way I concentrating... poster God will continue to strengthen you. Anyway, when I say baby mama I don't mean it in any of the derogatory statements you mentioned, I simply mean you are the baby's mother as innocently as it sounds. Hmm... Stellz what do you mean by " I got lucky"?

1. ** anon sic forgive my blanders abeg... una get the message

14. Shantelle's Empire such a rude comment

1. If calling a spade what it is,is being rude then go phuck yourself.

2. Why did my comment disturb you tho? Are you one of the abortionist?
      You do know that being lucky in this context is engaging in sex but you'v never taken in yeah. More like playing safe tho some play safe but still shii happens.
      Don't go and spill blood and tell peeps u were lucky. The height of hypocricy...like tha phuck's that?

3. Omoh I tire for the shantelle fellow's comment

15. baby mama!baby mama!!baby mama!!! how many times did i call, onye nwere nti ya nuru. i pity u people sha because if child spoil na u dem go call, if e good well....be careful of the decisions you make in life. all i know is i can never marry a baby mama.

16. As for me i don't think i have ever shamed a baby mama bcos shit happens!
    I'm more angry at women who become baby mamas for idiot lazy NFA nobody kinda men & still live with them & then go ahead & have more babies in the name of whatever rather than running for their dear lives & baby's own,(even when they had support from family members) this kinda women end up suffering poverty & DV in full doses,my aunty is one of such..
    I always applaud any lady that had a baby outside wedlock & still happened to remain strong,independent,& still live a happy & hopeful life & good life(with or without the support of the baby daddy)its not easy,i personally can't bear it,that was why when i mistakenly got pregnant i opted for an abortion.
    I know what my mind & head can handle. So shout out to all babymamas out there,God will provide a good husband & father for your child(ren) .

1. God bless you real good. AndcHe surely will.

2. The one that pains me is those that have kids with married men with no money. As in?? And some do it deliberately.

17. I hate the word baby mama. I am a single mom with a 3 year old, maybe one day I'll send in my story as well.

18. Am a single mum to a 2yrs old boy,we doing well for ourselves without the help of his father, yes there was proper marriage but we separated cus he is a narcissist.Thank God for my strong family and friends who never let me down. Will send in my story on a good day. Strongly know I will find love again.

19. I know a baby mama that had a child with someone cos he said he will throw his wife out and marry her. She said he was wasting time so she did it to hasten things up? I was stunned!!! What did he do? Broke up with her and begged his wife.