Mobile courts are to try those bastardising the national currency, it said.
Issuing the warning after its meeting in Lagos, the Bankers Committee said the mobile courts would be deployed nationwide to try those mishandling the currency.
Cantral Bank of Nigeria (CBN) spokesman Isaac Okorafor said the police and the Ministry of Justice would be involved in the operation, adding: “If a celebrant is dancing and you spray him/her, you may go to jail from the party venue because the law enforcement agents will be there, waiting to arrest you.
Admonishing Nigerians on how to use cash as gift, Okorafor said: “If you want to give, put the money in an envelop, and give it the celebrant. Let’s know that anybody hawking and writing on the naira will face six months in jail or N50,000 or both.”
Managing Director of First Securities Discount House (FSDH) Merchant Bank, Mrs. Handa Ambah said people selling naira notes would be punished.
the nation
*So Policemen no longer have jobs to do,they will now be posted to party venues to be watching the celebrant and guests?please somebody pinch me!!!
Double hiss!!!
Story.
ReplyDeleteSpraying 6 packs of N200 notes this weekend. My only sister's child naming ceremony.
We go dey spray they go
Abi now.Dey spray dey go but remain the one you go spray inside mobile court if they catch you😂
DeleteThis Nigerian habit of spraying money to celebrate or show off isn’t nice at all. It is disrespectful to the money and the blessing of the money. It is not a bad idea to clamp down this habit. It makes no sense at all for people to be throwing money here and there while others walk on them. Some respect to the money please.
ReplyDeleteAmericans sprays that sh*t call dollar too.
DeleteYes, in America people steal too. So because it is done in the US, it makes it right in Nigeria? Americans do it in public events or in strip clubs? Ask yourself Nr Americans
DeleteFoolishness!!!
ReplyDeleteNo be today.
ReplyDeleteOne of the ways to be patriotic is respecting the currency.
But the thing is you can't enforce patriotism.
And please what's the value of the naira again?
The value is it’s ability to get you what you buy with it after you have suffered to earn it. That is it’s vslue. There are those who have multitudes and those who have very little. It gives them different services. Even the dollars, despite its strong value can not afford the needs of millions in the States because they don’t have enough. The same is with the Naira.
DeleteKikikikikiki
ReplyDeleteStella biko don't lemme laugh ooo
Mschewwwww rubbish law,rubbish country,they better face the real problems in Nigeria and find solution
ReplyDeleteWhere is the like button
DeleteRubbish! Na una money?
ReplyDeleteLobbishhhhh nwanne!!! That is fun of the partyyi in prince's voice in the Johnsons....
DeleteMtcheew!!! We will still spray and keep their 50k for them.. LMAO 😀😁
ReplyDeleteGbam!
DeleteIt's not like the money has much value sef. Mtsheew
ReplyDeleteYIMU!!!!!!!!!
ReplyDeleteBut the problem at hand is more than arresting citizens enjoying themselves nah. Truust Naija, this is a means of witch hunting opponents.
ReplyDeleteI am not a fan of spraying. But I believe people have a right to do as they wish when celebrating. This is not a law that is legally enforceable. It is a wishful pronouncement. Spraying is not just a Nigerian thing. Other cultures, Indians for instance also 'spray'. They will circle the money around a couple's head and drop it at their feet.
ReplyDeleteNa today..
ReplyDeleteStory for the gods
let's just stop it abeg
ReplyDeleteThey should go to strip clubs and see what they use naira to do there. Inside totoh
ReplyDeleteIs it there money na waoo instead of them to face boko haram...I dey owambe make them come caught Me hisssss...
ReplyDeleteAkiko...
ReplyDeleteThat's the fun of the party na
I will spray and go to jail....come and beat me
ReplyDeleteI HAVE BEEN HEARING THIS NEW TEY TEY NU, NO BE TODAY NYASH BEGIN DEY BACK. NEXT NEWS PLEASE
ReplyDeleteTo vote @stelladimokokorkus as BLOGGER OF THE YEAR text sma18 stella to 33352
Where I don't like the spraying is when they start using it to gum body. That shit irritates me. Aside that, wetin concern me...money wey no get value.
ReplyDeleteCubana chief priest is on this table.
ReplyDeleteIs now obvious that APC is a sadist govt, you people frustrate citizens we overcome,we decided to enjoy our life only for them to find a way to frustrate hardworking live band entertainers & people that spend their hard earn money to organize a party, Apc God punish una Ndi obi ojo
ReplyDeleteNaira devalues me. It is for losers. #dollarrain.
ReplyDeleteMy niece is wedding end of this month. $2000 in $1 bills must fall. Wetin concern me? Money insulted me wella before. All of you village ppl gossiping me say my money don finish, be ready. Make I no vex like this reach that day bc na $5000 I go drop. F$#k money.