Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Nigerian Facts

Monday, October 22, 2018

Nigerian Facts

Candido Da Rocha,is reportedly the first Nigerian millionaire. He was a businessman, landowner and creditor. He was so rich, he sent his dirty clothes to Britain for laundry. He passed on in 1959...

from twitter

23 comments:

1. .....he was so rich that he sent his dirty clothes to Britain for laundry? ????? Ehn πŸ™ŒπŸ™ŒπŸ™ŒπŸ™ŒπŸ™ŒπŸ™ŒπŸ™ŒπŸ™Œ

1. Story for the gods.

2. Exactly my sentiments while the forefathers in developed countries where investing their fortune and building structures to conquer the world, ours were being vain. Of course we are paying dearly for it.

The unfortunate thing is that so many are still like that. Making foolish and unnecessary statement with money that they can barely sustain. God save Africa

3. Hmmmmmm and no trademark of his name

2. When you're big, you're big πŸ‘ŒπŸ’―

3. Some Naija girls, the q&B disciples go change them prayer points to
    "O "god" make you Rocha me this year!"

4. We buy bad/condemned solar inverter battery contact us 0814139511322 October 2018 at 14:43

OTher big men is learning

1. Mmmhh this "is" you put there, na temptation?
      Make I just take am as a joke and no put sic.
      Even as you dey carry uppercase letters put for middle?

5. Let's clap for him. Why did he pass away so quick

6. The story is not far fetched at all. Let us put things in perspective. The British pound was the currency in those days. According to my grandmother, with one kobo you could cook a pot of stew. If you were the wife of a rich man and he gave you 2 and a half kobo, you could even buy some fabric with that too. My grand dad used to give her 6 pence every three days. In the 70s, things changed and the naira was introduced. With the discovery of oil, naira become 75 kobo to the pound. You could buy a good set of Italian gold for about 375 naira to about 675 naira. I was a child in the 70s and Lagos was like heaven on earth. Not every one was rich but everyone had good food to eat and people were generally content.

1. ........and nobody thought to build or even leave a future for the next generation.
      To be honest this is sad and people should do better.

From this story we were all on the same level until they thought they should outsmart us. Or how else do you explain that we were the owners of teh crude oil but THEY were the ones that still devalued our money.

Do you go to the market and determine how much the seller sells his wares and then devalue his shop?

Unfortunately comments on this matter are still raising beyonce hand for him? So the nation still has a long way to go if the youth that should query these things are even able to comprehend the loss.

It reminds me of ASA's .......there is fire on the mountain but no body seem to be the run. There is fire on the mountain top but nobody is a running.

God bless Nigeria

2. I agree Anon. WE were actually way above the British in the 70s as they were suffering from strikes, high manufacturing costs and competition from other countries. As usual, they decided to outsmart us and our forever useless leaders colluded with them. The only tangible thing was that some capital projects such as bridges etc were done with some of the money. By the early 1980s, the rot had begun to set in. The rest as they say is history.

3. Anon 17:52, please don't be ridiculous. In the 1970s Britain had the NHS, national insurance, a national database, the London underground and so much more. Nigeria as a nation has NEVER been ahead of any western nation talk less of Great Britain.

4. Anon 17:52, your comment has really irritated me this evening. Such nonsense. Nigeria was ahead of Britain so in the 1970s Britain outsmarted Nigeria????!!! . In the 1970s????!!! You didn't even consider the ravages of war. Ohh you are stupid. Stupid. Stupid.

5. The ignorance and illiteracy of anon 17:52.

7. That’s why Yoruba people used to say “Olowo Igbo bi Da Rocha” I cannot do literal translation. It just means that someone that’s so rich he doesn’t know what to do with it πŸ‘†πŸ»sending laundry to England. Btw Igbo there means bush/ forest not tribe

8. Let us give honour to whom it is due.This was a pioneering and visionary, private investor who took on the colonial might and blazed the trail in private industry.

He built the first waterworks ever,in Nigeria and was a major supplier of clean,healthy water in Lagos.He created huge employment ,supported other Nigerians to rise,was a quiet philanthropist and a pioneer again in Banking ,real estate and hospitality businesses.

Let us celebrate our own Rockefeller,Vanderbilt ,Carnegie who were also great pioneers.

9. And nobody saw the resemblance to Mr Rocha's statuekorocha

10. He kills a whole chicken for his cat as meal

1. Una go come add your own ogiri and kanafuru.

11. Please name the pioneer institutions he set up! Vanity. Sending laundry to England. Real Olowomeye,I gbo! Please don’t compare Da Rocha to the Vanderbilt’s, Rockefellers etc. He didn’t do what they do. They are the reason Lagos became the money spraying and owambe capital and spreader of that culture in Nigeria. Vanderbilt University is still there, highly ranked, Rockefeller university with the oldest biomedical research institute in the US! The other institutions by their old moneyed class are still there. Alakija, Otedola, and Uba, etc and the rest are following his vain footsteps! Don’t rewrite history. He wasted a lot of his money.

1. His child owns a prominent school in VI. Is that good enough for you?

12. Anon 10.25.

I advice you don't make comments out of ignorance.Go and check ,almost 90% of the Lagos Island Marina land was owned by Da Rocha and even as at today almost half is still owned.He was a shrewd and prudent investor and not given to frivoities,dry cleaning in England and spraying at Owambe parties are mere myths.He did go to England often strictly for business and was the only black man to have his own office in the City of London,business district.If you also had a sense of history,you would know the colonial government took over his business as he was getting too powerful.Celebrate don't berate!!