Here's my LRD experience.
It all started after I accidentally hit my stomach on the wall while trying to open the door.the bite it gave me was extra ordinary so I had to look far to know what went wrong.I used the strip I had at home n it showed double lines.next day I went to a lab and confirmed it.hubby came and I informed him.(my period was never been regular ).I registered for ANC and the journey officially began.
Eldest brother in law came and insisted on church wedding because I've refused to do that to avoid emotional breakdown(orphan).
He won anyways so 6months into the pregnancy we wedded.
5 days after was my hospital visit.on getting to the hospital,they saw my bp had sky rocketed,obviously due to stress.so I became a BP patient and was under drugs to control it.At 36 weeks I was told i can't be allowed to fall into labour rather would be induced.I was booked for the following week cos I had malaria as of That day.next week came and I checked in by exactly 6pm.
7pm doc came and asked that I change into a wrapper,pick my gloves and pad n go wait for him in the Labour room.few minutes he came and the procedure started.
Catheter was passed with several colourless fluids injected in.was a little painful though and I fixed my pad.few minutes on the pains started coming n gradually intensified while the doc was coming to check every 4hrs.(the worst part of child birth).I felt my bladder being shifted and the pain was..... (till I find the word).
Long story short,till morning under excruciating pain I was only 2cm gone.after the docs changed shift the new doc said we have to take to tablet,that it would be faster.catheter removed n tablet(5ml) was inserted,the pains tripled.I cried I begged I prayed.I was checked after a long while and the expression on the docs face showed all was not well.
I asked and he said I didn't dilate.rather we lost the 2cm achieved initially.he called for doubling of the tablet.he was given 2.(10ml).I went back and the pain continued till the end of Friday I was in serious pains and the most we could get was 3cm.
Saturday came and a new doc started work.read my folder n said the last doc wrote that the dose should be tripled if nothing happened.so we went back to the Labour room and 3 tablets thrown in 15ml by now.I saw heaven and hell all at once.by this time calls have tripled as everybody was worried including my husband who was outside just by the door but wasn't allowed in....the whole family had arrived.
All this while I had not tasted anything and hardly took the boost my husband got.
While people were going in popping and being discharged.I almost lost hope but I held unto God.By the end of Saturday I was so tired I told the doc we are going to the theatre that I cant continue in this pain,moreover I was afraid for my baby but on each check at 30mins intervals,the heart beat was still very strong.doctor said it's still too early to take that decision but my mind was made up.I picked my phone and called hubby.he said whatever I decide holds because he was tired and sick from worrying and crying.I told him to stop the doc on his way out and discuss with him.he did and the doc gave him same reply.
he begged me to exercise patient so that they don't get to blame us if anything goes wrong.I obeyed and at the end of Saturday,I didn't go more than 3cm.
one of the nurses felt pity for me after checking me by about 2am Sunday morning and said my case is becoming worrisome.she held my hand and prayed for me.....5 am the doc came,checked me and said we are reverting to catheter and he fixed it and asked that they connect one IV fluid he prescribed(didn't get the name).they did and I experienced what is called PAIN.
After 4hours the doctor came and checked and I was 6cm gone.he smiled and said the devil has lost(for where?but God over all).brethren my water was ruptured at this point and I was in high hopes.I informed the multitude outside and everyone felt relieved.from then till 6pm Sunday night I didn't exceed 6cm,the doc came.checked and wore a sad face.called for my folder and began writing for hours on end.he later came and asked me if it was my first child I said yes.he said we are going to the theatre.I should be strong.
I told him my only anger is allowing me suffer for days before doing it.by now strength from nowhere filled me and within me I was happy.my husband was called to sign some documents.he did and they gave me to also sign.I didn't care to read I just signed.
A nurse came,shaved me and brought a wheel chair;after asking me to remove every fashionable jewelry including my band.I was wheeled to the theatre.I didn't get to see hubby cos he was asked to go buy pad as we had exhausted the ones I came with.
Inside the theatre I saw about 4 people (men and women).we exchanged greetings and I was asked to climb the bed .they engaged me in a conversation and before I know I was given the spinal injection.
I was asked to lie down and everything started happening very fast.I prayed for us and they used a material to cover my face from seeing them but I was awake.I felt them pulling me but no pain.not up to 2mins I heard my princess cry.they showed her to me and in the next 5mins I was stitched and we were on our way out of the theatre.The baby had already been dressed and sent to the ward.
Outside we saw my hubby asking if we had gone in and immediately we got to where he was,he whispered "baby please be strong for me" but I informed him we were done and baby is already out,he didn't believe it until he followed us in and saw his first fruit.I was full of gratitude to God. Family members came in and we gisted till they left.only I was asked not to raise my head.
Baby was extremely hungry and yawning but I couldn't feed cos breast milk was not coming yet.
Indeed I am grateful to God.
Recovery was very smooth as I didn't feel a single pain.I bathed my baby the following morning,went for immunisation same day with her alone and even for jaundice check on the 3rd day before discharge.God knew I have received enough pain.I have since healed and ready for baby no 2.(lol).
Indeed I am grateful to God.
Recovery was very smooth as I didn't feel a single pain.I bathed my baby the following morning,went for immunisation same day with her alone and even for jaundice check on the 3rd day before discharge.God knew I have received enough pain.I have since healed and ready for baby no 2.(lol).
I will take CS a 100 times over and till today the only pain I feel is from the checking cos at a point,my perineum area was injured.but in all mother and baby strong and kicking.
We were 5 weeks yesterday and counting.
*Wow,you didnt feel any pain after the CS?that is rare...Congratulations to you and yours!
Thank God for your life and the life of your baby. I read your story with grave concern. All that doubling and tripling of doses should NEVER have happened. Elective CS should have been the first and only option in the first place. I am so glad I don't practice in our obodo Nigeria.
ReplyDeleteYour story diegwu. How can they allow you to labour for 3 days biko? Thank God you survived
DeleteThank God for mother and baby
DeleteBut what kind of hospital is that? The stress was tooooooo much for a woman with HBP. ITS this sort of distress that causes bad tales. God have mercy.
Op thank God for you again
I hate hospitals like this, wasting someone’s time, I trust myself, from the first day I for hold the doc neck to do the CS, it’s this same fear that made me opt for an elective CS, I just chose a date and went to remove my baby in peace, I can’t shout (I really can’t, cus I hate pain)
DeleteWow I was scared reading this. Why waste so much time and the pains only to still do CS at the end? Those doctors are wicked. But knows the best. Congratulations dear.
ReplyDeleteThe day i get married en, i will stop reading this labour room experience.In my next world if there will be any God please I want to be a Man oooo with plenty ego
Delete*God knows
ReplyDeleteThey should have done the Surgery early
ReplyDeleteAnd a wicked man will want to take a child from his/her mother.Well done to all women who have passed through this journey and to those who will pass through this someday.
ReplyDeleteCongratulations.. Thank God it ended in praise.
ReplyDeleteSee me crying while reading this. God bless you and your baby ma'am.
ReplyDeleteCS after all this pain and suffering. Something that would have been done since. Congratulations poster
ReplyDeleteThank God for your life!
ReplyDeleteThank God for life of mother and child, the second , third and fourth will be stress free trust God .
ReplyDeleteWow! I could feel your pain while reading all the doubling of dosage for induction. After going through all that pain ehn. I'm glad it ended well and the fact that you did not fall into post partum pains.
ReplyDeleteCongratulations!!!
See me holding back tears in the office. Thank God for the victory. You are a strong woman. God bless your family and bless all women expecting too.
ReplyDeletecongrats madam. have you resumed gbenshing?
ReplyDeleteYOU SEF
DeleteCongrats dear
ReplyDeleteI was just praying for the child
Wow!!!!! You are a strong woman. Congrats and kisses to the baby.
ReplyDeleteCongratulations madam.. May God bless your home.
ReplyDeleteCongratulations and thank God for you. I now see why people borrow to deliver abroad, delivery in Nigeria is not a joke. Only God can help that country
ReplyDeleteCongrats
ReplyDeleteCongratulations, i went through almost the same. Thank God it all end in praise.
ReplyDeleteGrateful you went through it and you both came out okay. Can’t believe the nonsense and pain the doctors put you through.
ReplyDeleteElective CS should have been the first option. Grateful to God. God bless your family.
IT'S HIGH TIME I WROTE MY OWN LABOUR ROOM EXPERINCE.
ReplyDeleteTHANK GOD IT ENDED IN PRAISE.
Nigerian Doctors be doing trial and error since nineteen kiridim.
ReplyDeleteOh boy!!!
ReplyDeleteD@ checking na d real wahala oo
You really tired. Three days in labour. Congratulations to you dear
ReplyDeletePlease why do they shave when going for CS, it no longer has anything to do with the vaginal area. Please can someone enlighten me?
ReplyDeleteTo remove hair from the lower abdomen, where the cut into the abdomen would be made
DeleteThe incision made on the lower abdomen for CS is just around the area where the elastic end of your underwear starts from just on your hip. That front area needs to be shaved.
DeleteThankGod for your life and your baby
ReplyDeleteCongrats madam,you are very strong o. You endured 3 days of labor without epidural. I only labored for 8 hours and almost ran mad. Nigerian doctors need to stop suffering women. An elective c section should have been carried out after 24hrs.
ReplyDeleteIf they gave cs, u pipu will say the doctors want money.
DeleteThey waited una no gree.
Which one una want?
Shebi una wan deliver like hebrew women?.
Carry go
Three days of labour with high BP. Thank God it ended in praise.
ReplyDeleteCongratulations. God bless your little one