Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Iya Ibeji Series -The Gucci Bag...

Saturday, October 06, 2018

Iya Ibeji Series -The Gucci Bag...

Several years ago I went to a shop to buy a fairly used handbag. 

I made my choice and noticed it was Gucci but that wasn't the reason I picked it, I loved the designs and as a matter of fact I didn't like the Gucci inscription on it because I didn't think it was original.

So the seller came and praised my "great" taste then this conversation ensured.

SELLER: Madam your money na 12k.
IYA BEJI : 12K? For 1 or for 4
SELLER: Ha madam na Gucci bag you pick o, original one
IYA BEJI: See madam if na because of the Gucci wey them write make you find how you go take remove am, I'm not big on designers. I wan buy this bag because e fine forget the logo.

The seller continued talking about how the bag was limited in production, plus plenty other talk I was interested in so I didn't really pay attention. I told her to leave story that the highest I could go was 4500.

She shook her head pitifully like I cheated her and collected the money, me no really understand her drama. She said madam use this bag well na celebrities dey use am o. 

Madam I hear.

Few days later in church a sister walked up to me and started admiring my bag. Then she started saying same stuff the seller was trying to tell me about it been limited and expensive and all that. I became interested and asked her to tell me more , see how I was smiling because it felt like I had hit a jackpot.

The sister asked where I bought it and I said on the island (OK I lied in Church) I didn't tell her it was fairly used not after all the praising I couldn't fall hand na. Liver no let her ask me for the price (Thank God for that, as that would have resulted to another lie)

So after that conversation with the sister, I started treating the bag with maximum respect as the master piece that it was. I even changed it's hanging place. 

The next Sunday not several Sundays o, the very next Sunday, I dressed up carry my Gucci bag as the celebrity that I had become.

I saw sister from afar and we nodded to each other, several times during service I caught her starring at the bag. And just when the service was about to end I heard it clearly "SOW THIS BAG TO SISTER. Immediately I replied get behind me Satan.
But who was I kidding I knew it was from God I became sad, service ended for me.

I got home and I started talking to God. "Lord if you had asked me to give her this bag last week it wouldn't have been a problem its just 4500. I have sowed money/things much more than that. I just got to love this bag and from what they say I can't get it again, its limited. You know I can't afford the new one.

Father its not like I'm materialistic you know I'm not. Its just that I have fallen in love with this bag, please don't take it away from me. Or at least let enjoy it small".

It was a struggle for me, I kept resisting. During the midweek service I didn't carry the bag so I won't be complied to give it. But walking home from church that Wednesday evening I started talking to myself. Should anything be too hard for me to give God. Wait Iya beji you are not giving God you are giving sister. But God asked me to give her. The same God that gives you life?

I continued talking to myself and by Sunday I was ready to let go of the bag. Got to church on Sunday and sister wasn't around, a thought came "abi the bag is not meant for sister? " I said the devil is a liar. I refuse to second guess. Na so I call sister like say I wan do follow up. I asked why she wasn't in church and when she would be in church she said Wednesday.

To cut this story short I gave her the bag on Wednesday and she refused to collect it. The voice came again "You have done Gods part and if she refuse to collect it God knows you have tried. I replied the voice get behind me Satan. I told her God wanted her to have the bag and i felt she will value it more than me.
She said ma "I didn't tell you about the bag so you will give me".

I said I know but God wants you to have it and we dont want to stand in Gods way do we? 

She accepted the bag and then hugged me long and hard and i just felt this peace that comes from doing the right thing.
Next Sunday sister carried the bag to church and it was her turn to catch me starring at the bag.

I wish I could end this story by saying someone blessed me with another designer bag, no that didn't happened. But I never regretted giving her the bag. She carried that bag with pride for many years and until I got married and left that church branch for another that bag still looked fine.

26 comments:

1. Some things are hard to let go.

Chai your fine Gucci bag

2. Officially best post ever from you Iya Beji....👏👏👏👏👏. It is good to follow God's instructions

3. Wow! That is lovely

4. Awwwww.. ....you did well iya ibeji
    It must have been difficult letting go

5. I notice say, when we ladies wan lie, we no dey think am. It comes naturally, like customized! Na when the lies pile up them con confuse as to how them go dis-entangle am.

6. I don't know how people hear God's voice. I also want to know how to recognize it when he speaks.

1. That tiny winny positive voice you normally hear inside you....

2. It's a still small voice.
      Devil on the other hand is loud and quite persuasive.

7. Chai
    Your fine Gucci bag
    U tried oo
    But how do u recognize God speaking to you?

8. I love..the still small voice, I am glad you sowed the bag into her life.

Socialmediaawardsng

To vote @stelladimokokorkus as BLOGGER OF THE YEAR

Text sma18 stella to 33352

9. Nice read Iya beji
    It was so good of you to give her the bag.

10. Wow... Now I understand my husband's way of giving.

11. O make sense. I enjoyed reading this.

12. I love this write-up. so inspiring and motivating. Your blessing is coming really BIG. I tap into that blessing ooooo

13. Good read!!!
    There some things you spot in second hand market that is unbelievable

1. Are you serious Lagos Shopper?? My addiction is high heels! Something tells me I can get fantastic bargains at thrift shops.

14. 👍👍👍👍👍👍👍👍👍. It is called sacrificial giving. You might not reap the rewards immediately but you would definitely do one day.

15. Nice one, iya Ibeji. God bless you.

16. Mmmmmmm... This post was just a waste of time! Everybody is talking about God. Sowing... I sowed. Where was He when I got sacked. Please!!'

1. He was on the throne and still on the throne. Your sowing is not in vain. You will reap when you will not expect. Don't stop sowing. I know what I am saying.

Where was God when Jesus was crucified. He was on His throne and that did not make Jesus a loser but He is the Saviour of mankind.

Be happy. Wished I can share some things with you

2. He was in the same place that He was when you got the job.

So everyone who 'sows' never has anything negative happen to them? Wow.com.

I enjoyed the post (Iya Beji thanks) if it was a 'waste of time', well step to the side and keep sucking your thumb.

I guarantee you though that a positive attitude and a hefty dose of massive growing up will ensure a better results for you.

17. @awesomesombori even in difficult situations. give thanks to God.God's Ways Are Not Ours To Know.Beg Him For Forgiveness.Worship And Praise Him.I Can Assure U All Wil Be Well.