Vanguard source said: “Fayose has a lot of issues to clear with us and we hope he can clear them on time. He is to write a voluntary statement on all that he knows about the N4.7 billion that he allegedly received from the former Minister of State for Defence. Daura lobbied me twice to support Buhari – Fayose “Interrogators also confronted him on the choice property he allegedly used fronts to acquire in Lagos, Abuja and other places and the allegation that he collected kickbacks from some contractors.
“There are so many issues for which Fayose must provide answers to our interrogators. These things take time and he should know that it is beyond fanfare but being honest and providing answers to the issues.
” It was also learned that, in a bid to provide a watertight case against the former governor, a former Defence Minister, who reportedly ferried the huge cash to Ondo for Fayose, and now appears to have been given a soft-landing by the government, might be used as a prosecution witness against him.
EFCC is also said to have lined up several top bank officials, who handled many of Fayose’s accounts, which are subject of investigation and litigation.
Some of the accounts, had been seized by the anti-graft agency but was forced to reopen them because of Fayose’s immunity as a governor. Similarly, some of the property in Abuja and Lagos worth billions of Naira, had already been marked by the EFCC as being under investigation and the anti-graft agency wants to invoke the Assets Forfeiture clause to seize the properties in line with Sections 28 and 34 of the EFCC (Establishment Act) 2004 and Section 13(1) of the Federal High Court Act, 2004. EFCC listed some of the property acquired with illicit funds through Fayose’s fronts to include those on 32 Yedseram Street and 44 Osun River Crescent, Maitama, Abuja and those on Plot 100 Tiamiyu Savage Street, Victoria Island.
According to the EFCC source, the four duplexes are valued at $1.3m (N364m) each and were allegedly bought through a company, known as “JJ Technical.” In preparation for Fayose’s trial, EFCC had in a 10-paragraph counter-affidavit deposed to by Tosin Owobo, accused Fayose of using the proceeds of crime to purchase the said property. “Apart from fraudulently retaining the sum of N1, 219,490,000 being part of the N4.7 billion stolen from the treasury of the Federal Government through the Office of the National Security Adviser, the applicant (Fayose) has also received gratification in form of kickbacks from various contractors with the Ekiti State Government such as Samchese Nigeria Ltd, Tender Branch Concept Nig. Ltd, Hoff Concept Ltd and Calibre Consulting Ltd. “The applicant (Fayose) received these kickbacks and gratification through Still Earth Ltd and Signachorr Nigeria Limited.
In turn, the applicant (Fayose) instructed the Still Earth Ltd and Signachoor Nigeria Limited to use the funds to acquire properties for him. “In complying with the applicant’s instruction, Still Earth Limited and Signachoor Nigeria Limited acquired properties on behalf of the applicant (Fayose) in the name of a company known as J.J Technical Services Limited belonging to the applicant (Fayose) and his wife (Feyisetan). “That the applicant (Fayose) also used the name of one Mrs. Moji Ladeji (the applicant’s sister) to acquire a property situated at 44, Osun Crescent, Maitama Abuja, from the proceeds of the alleged offences of receiving gratification and kickbacks.” Fayose caused a stir when he arrived the Wuse 2 Office of the EFCC on Formella Street.
Wike said the former governor deserved to be praised for keeping his promise and not running away at the end of his tenure. He was accompanied into the EFCC premises with his lawyer Mike Ozekhome, SAN.
It is not clear if Fayose would be granted administrative bail by the EFCC.
From Vanguard.
*I know who the Former Defence Minister is..........na wah oh...Politics is really very dirty,no friend no enemy!!!
WE ALL know the Minister was Obanikoro. He was wise enough to do plea bargain and refund some of the monies in his name after his return from hiding in the States. Fayose’s case is different. He wants to prove being a champion but his hands are dirty and there are clear evidences to nail him. Lest we forget, before Fayose became a governor for his second term, he had a case of murder on his head in court. I’m hoping Falana will bring it up and continue from where he stopped. No more immunity. Fayose should humbly go for plea bargain like others or he will end up in humiliation. No one should call him a hero just because he is against Buhari. No. Fayose is a big thief like other criminal politicians. Don’t let him use our vulnerability.
ReplyDeleteEfcc , while you are at this, kindly invite Rotimi Amaechi, Oshiomole, Abdulahi Adamu, Mains, Babachir, Tinubu, Obanikoro and co to start their immediately prosecution, because we expect that while you where investigating Fayose you ought to have been doing same for this people, while at that kindly start the investigation of other alleged looters like Bello Koji state, Aregbesola, Ibikunle Amosun, Rochas, Ganduje, Yari, Maikanti Bark etc. It is then I will believe that the present ordeal faced by Fayose is not because of his opposition to Buhari
DeleteMaybe you should have included the names of Wike, Theodore Orji, Stella Oduah, Ihedioha, Mimoko, Seriake, GEJ, Peter Obi, Imoke, Dankwambo among many others so that it won’t look as if you are one sided. Because it seems you are.
DeleteWe are watching
ReplyDeleteWhy was Obanikoro given a soft landing? Aren't we suppose to know the reasons? Obviously the truth isnt far fetched. When you align with the presidency, automatically your corruption will be forgotten. Obanikoro is as guilty as Fayose in the disbursement of that fund but I wonder why the government decided to exonerate him. It is very obvious that this corruption fight is selective and targeted towards oppositions. Nigerians are watching the likes of Orji Uzor Kalu, Godswill Apkabio, Murtala Nyako and his sons, Maina the pension thief, Abba Kyari the telecommunications bribery thief and Lawal Daura ex DSS disgraced criminal not to talk of David Babarchi Lawal the grass cutter criminal and the father of it all @Babarigga mobile banking with a bullion van cap Ganduje. We are keenly watching.
ReplyDeleteTeejay have you ever heard of plea bargain? Do you know that a suspect can be converted into a prosecution witness? Before you start typing with your I know it all attitude, kindly endeavour to do a little research. You are ironically here keenly watching while you became deaf and dumb on the post where he settled himself with tax payers money. Are you even aware that Orji Uzo Kaluis among those banned from travelling outside the country? U clearly are not just biased but one of the problems we are facing in this country.
DeleteThis rejoinder is obviously not from political anonymous because he usually comes very hard on issues like this. But I agree with you. The first comment above mentioned something about Koro and plea bargain. That is what many people don’t know but keep asking irrelevant questions. Other politicians did the same thing and were let off the hook. This is not about safe landing. It is admittance of crime and sorting out yourself from court case that you will obviously lose after spending so much money. Fayose, teejay’s mentor and role model is not using his head on this. There are much proofs to implicate him but he thinks he is an invisible warrior. After all, his name is Fayochukwu right? I saw it here. He thinks he is Ijele the warrior. Till him start to sleep for prison. Even Orji Kalu who defected to APC still has his case in court. Joshua Dariye defected to APC but he was sentenced to jail. Even Muritala Nyako still have his case in court. Well, to those who keep claiming that only those who defect to APC become safe. The three examples above prove the opposite. But it is also interesting that while these people are busy asking about newly defected or old APC members, why are they not talking about PDP former governors who stole money. People like Theodore Orji, Peter Obi whom Obiano accused of asking him to pay him 7.5 billion Naira for supporting his election, Ohakim, Okowa, Sule Lamido, even Wike who was used a stolen money conduit by Patience when he was a minister? Yet they claim not to be bias. What hypocrisy! May God help us Nigerians from the shackles of criminal politicians who have turned us against ourselves but feed far on our wealth. Help us from being blind to these injustices that our emotions make us support directly or indirectly.
DeleteSo if I get you correct, corrupt politicians should start going for plead bargain? If every one does that, what then is the law for? Do you know Olisa Metuh asked for the same plead bargain? Was he given? No!!! I remembered him saying he wants to return 400million he received from Dasuki. Why was his own different? Why is he still being drag to court? Obanikoro even received more than Metuh, so what will you say about that?
DeletePLEA bargain not PLEAD. Olisa Metuh that ALL the biafrans claimed he was witch hunted and denied ever taking money until evidence was brought to him? Olisa that wanted Jonathan to come to court and Jona gave him a very big disappointment by requesting for one billion Naira as mobility fee? Mr Man, plea bargain is part of the law. And that is why the legal name is plea bargain, not a market terminology. And no, he didn’t ask for plea bargain. He asked for ‘out of court’ settlement. They are two different things. Pay attention to details Mr Man. But Obanikoro didn’t ask for ‘out of court’ settlement. He accepted his role and returned that which was on him. Signed legal papers to that effect which means, if he defaults, the law will be against him for jail. Does this make sense to you? If not, ask again, I will gratefully explain without charge.
DeleteI don't like when you assumed to know it all in an argument. Why would you say Metuh didn't asked for plea bargain? What sort of lies are you giving out? Please Google is your friend, you can search for it but let me give you how the Nation newspaper put it.
DeleteOlisa Metuh, Adeshola Amosu and Mohammed Dikko Umar are eager to return their “loot”
- The EFCC has formally received letters of plea bargain from them
The Economic and Financial Crimes Commission (EFCC) reportedly got requests from three people on trial for alleged corruption to return their “loot” in exchange for freedom.
The three people are Olisa Metuh, the former national publicity secretary of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP), ex-chiefs of air staff Air Marshals Adeshola Amosu and Mohammed Dikko Umar.
An EFCC source said they want to return the loot to avoid going to jail, The Nation reports.
- Olisa Metuh, Adeshola Amosu and Mohammed Dikko Umar are eager to return their “loot”
- The EFCC has formally received letters of plea bargain from them
- The anti-graft agency has also strengthened security for its key witnesses against suspects on trial for the $2.1billion arms deals scandal
The Economic and Financial Crimes Commission (EFCC) reportedly got requests from three people on trial for alleged corruption to return their “loot” in exchange for freedom.
The three people are Olisa Metuh, the former national publicity secretary of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP), ex-chiefs of air staff Air Marshals Adeshola Amosu and Mohammed Dikko Umar.
An EFCC source said they want to return the loot to avoid going to jail, The Nation reports.
The source said: “We have formally received letters of plea bargain from three accused persons, Metuh, Umar and Amosu and we are studying their terms.
“We may enter into a plea bargain with the accused persons if it will serve the public interest. The interest is getting back the stolen funds. If they can fulfill this condition (public interest), we may accept their offers.”
You didn’t finish the news and that is why the guy said you don’t pay attention to details. The offer of plea by Olisa came with a condition of ‘out of court’ settlement and that was the ONLY REASON why it was rejected. Umar’s was accepted with no conditions. I don’t know how Amosu’s ended. But you cannot seek plea with an out of court settlement if the legal place cannot be a binding place of juridical rulings. That was why his failed. Pay attention to details and know the conditions of plea he sought before his was rejected. Details! Details! Details!
DeleteAnother interesting thing to read here is that, you finally accepted that Olisa stole and was ready to return the stolen loot. Recall that you were those defending his ‘innocence’. People dey forget their past o.
obanikoro the man that shared the money himself will speak the truth of fayose involvement.these guys are guilty but to use wisdom and seek for a pardon and refund all they would not..rather they will be making noise as if when they were enjoying the money they used it to enjoy with the masses ...no..but when trouble comes they come to disturb the peace of the masses.
ReplyDeleteYou made sense here.
DeleteAllow them acquire the whole world, it belongs to them already! Whatsoever is taken from a govt, another govt will loot it.... Thats how e go be till the world ends. Nigeria is in their hands. Atiku, buhari... Whoever, d pattern is not ending soon
ReplyDeleteAll I see is billions, dollars,properties....na wa
ReplyDeleteExactly. Only personal interest
ReplyDeleteThis one no be Shereshere
ReplyDeletePolitics and Vendetta are like 5 & 6. Frenemies all over the place but Justice be served to real culprits. Decamping moves insitu