Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Defence Counsel Withdraws From Alleged Husband Killer Maryam Sanda's Case

Thursday, October 04, 2018

Defence Counsel Withdraws From Alleged Husband Killer Maryam Sanda's Case

The trial of Maryam Sanda, accused of killing her husband Bilyamin Bello, has suffered another setback as three senior lawyers in the defense team have withdrawn their representations......

Maryam, who was accused by the police of causing the death of Bello, son of former Chairman of the People’s Democratic Party (PDP), Alhaji Bello Halliru Muhammad was docked alongside her mother, Maimuna Aliyu, her brother, Aliyu Sanda and one Sadiya, who were accused of assisting her to conceal the evidence by cleaning the blood of the deceased from the scene of the crime.

Daily Trust reports that Joseph B. Daudu (SAN); Rotimi Ogunesan (SAN); A. T. Kehinde (SAN) had been representing Maryam, Aliyu and Maimuna in the trial before the latest development while Olusegun O. Jolaawo from the chambers of Messrs Ricky Tarfa & co represents Sadiya.

In a notice of withdrawal of counsel filed before the court said to be in “pursuant to Section 492(3) of the Administration of Criminal Justice Act, 2015”, Maryam’s counsel asked the court to “Take notice that Mr. J.B. Daudu SAN hereby withdraws appearance as counsel to Maryam Sanda charged as 1st defendant in this case.” The notice was dated September 18 and signed by Daudu.

In a similar notice, signed by counsel to the second defendant, Rotimi Ogunesan (SAN) dated September 20, the court was informed of the counsel’s withdrawal from the trial.

Although no reasons were stated in the notices for the withdrawal, there are speculations however on issues surrounding legal fees not being paid promptly. The families of the defendants could however not be reached for confirmation.

The case had been adjourned to 4th October for continuation of hearing.

Daily trust

*There are no sentiments here and there is no need for any delay tactics,this woman should be jailed for her crime please!!

15 comments:

1. 4th October ke? Dats today o. Get another lawyer sharp sharp, it doesn't necessarily have to be a SAN to win a case, as their legal fees can send one to early grave.

2. The family of the guy should collect the child from her. Let her face her doom alone,that baby is their blood unless they never like the guy. Let her be sent to jail. It's long overdue

1. I pity broke guys and their family that gets involved with this rich people

2. The guy’s Uncle was the former PDP Chairman so he wasn’t broke. The girl’s mother is a millionaire so that both fit.

3. Uncle? lol
      Talking immediate you are talking extended.

4. Really sad. Well, justice must take its full course. i really wonder what went wrong though in her marriage.

5. Why withdrawal now. Let her family arrange a Lawyer sharperly. Marriage o marriage, you have done more evil lately.

6. This is sad and I wonder why this woman has not been jailed since? Whatever she must pay for her crime.

1. Court process is like that. Throw away sentiment. In the US, this kind of case would take more than three years. Except if na black person.

7. THAT'S THE SYSTEM HERE...VERY SLOW AND FAVOURING DEPENDING ON YOUR POCKET.

Socialmediaawardsng

To vote @stelladimokokorkus as BLOGGER OF THE YEAR text sma18 stella to 33352

8. In Nigeria we tend to drag issues. Evidence brekete every where. Caught red handed, still we are doing court case up and down. What will it take for them to sit and convict Maryam of her premeditated murder? See Rev.King, despite being in jail, still has a strong hold on his members. Shey he was sentence to death by hanging? Very soon he will be given presidential pardon. 9ja I hail oh. We are 58 and still slow.

1. No, she was caught red handed. No one was present. Secondly, the evidence was cleared by her family members while she was at the police.

9. If she had jejely left the marriage, would anyone have died. She was shouting and wanting a divorce from the man, did they tie her legs from leaving? Smh. Now you carry ur whole family enter wahala.