Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Archbishop Wants Government To Deduct Tithe From People's Monthly Salary

Tuesday, October 30, 2018

Archbishop Wants Government To Deduct Tithe From People's Monthly Salary

Kampala Archbishop Cyprian Kizito Lwanga has fronted a controversial proposal that seeks to have the central government deduct 10% from people’s monthly salary and forwarded to the church.

Speaking at Saint Mary’s Cathedral Rubaga during mass, the Catholic Archbishop said many Christians don’t tithe and this affects projects by the church.

“Whenever we ask for tithe, everyone gives only what they have at that time. But the Bible says a tenth of whatever you earn belongs to the church,” said Archbishop Lwanga.

“Give me your support as I front this proposal because it is good for us. Aren’t you tired of putting money in the baskets all the time?”

Archbishop Lwanga said he wanted Uganda to go the Germany route where Germans who are registered as Catholics, Protestants or Jews have a church tax (Kirchensteuer) of 8-9 percent deducted from their annual income. The church tax is collected by the government and channeled to the respective faiths.

He added, “I was told Germans make agreements with their government to deduct monthly tithe from their salaries and forward it to the church and this money they use to build and renovate their churches.

From Citizen tv

*This is how it is done in most economies oh

16 comments:

1. Will people agree. This is your blessing by fire by force.

But not everyone is on the same path. If only they know

2. How many worker's will agree to it..
    Difficult issue..

Many will not agree because they don't pay their tithe..

3. I will declare atheist immediately

1. Hahahaha. @declare atheist immediately... But that means you just denied Christ naa

4. This is wrong. God does not compel people to do things. You have the power of choice. The bible even confirms it with the phrase"God loves cheerful giver". Why force people to pay tithe?

5. Tithe is never by force, it has to be willingly given for it to be acceptable to God not grudgingly. If you introduce this to churches in Nigeria many people will stop going to church

6. Its like this man smoked weed before mounting the pulpit.
    Stella countries that do this,things actually work. Is it our govt that is still owing people 2yrs salary that want to deduct thite from their salary again.
    That is how my company is now deducting almost 10K from my salary monthly for pension and tax. Money that isn't even enough for me before.

7. This is wrong at all levels whether it is practiced in the western world or not. All those Daddy GOs and Archbishops forcing people to pay tithe. Tithing is a sin, don’t even bother arguing with me. If you want to continue paying tithe that’s your business but don’t force people to pay tithe! Tithe is not tax.

8. Government can't afford Gift Aid declaration in their tax system in Africa. As charity funding in England is usually tax free and churches can claim up to 28% from members tax paid to HMRC. Nigeria in particular will not accept such proposal as this will make churches be considered charity organisation and it's revenue will be subject to government control. I doubt if our so called "General Overseers" are will to play by the rules.

9. Nonsense. Thief people, Stella in the “most economy” u said, things actually work and their finances are reviewed. Those ones can go to jail if they mismanage church funds. In Africa fear won’t let them question their pastor cos “touch not my anointed.” African pastors use tithe to threaten people, unfortunate things happen to people from time to time but African pastors will attribute it to not paying tithe as if the world is a smooth place. What is my own sef? I don’t pay tithe.

10. It will discourage a lot of people going to church. When I was a student, I wont go to church if I didn't hv money, cos of a portion in d Bible "not come to my presence empty handed".
    It is totally wrong to deduct and pay church, it is supposed to be voluntary.
    Christianity is not about building churches, it is about feeding d flock, taking care of d needs of members and then preaching to them about salvation.

Jesus fed over 5000 people. How many did d church of today feed?

11. If you are a baptized member of the faith then this should be welcomed news, unless of course you are going through financial strife. Otherwise, most ppl pay tithes in the hopes that they will receive constant blessings so what is wrong with this what the minister is saying...lol. I remember giving my friend some money because she was really in a bad way and instead of using all the money for their family's benefit they had to pay tithes, and they didn't even work for the money. Even the poor and destitute wants to pay tithes to appease God and to be granted favours.

12. Greedy pastor (with small letters)
    Mtchew!