"The South African film and television industry has suffered a loss in the passing local actress, Shoki Mokgapa. After a long struggle with clinical depression and anxiety she took her life on Tuesday 25 September at the age of 34. She was a brave woman who had been seeking help but the disease proved to be stronger than her," the statement reads in part.
"Her family and friends are currently together, going through the process of mourning and burial. They celebrate their daughter and appreciate all the love that her fans and peers have extended to them."
A memorial service is planned for Tuesday 2 October 2018.
The young actress graduated from the AFDA film school with a bachelor's degree in live performance, and made her South African TV debut in the SABC3 series The Lab.
She went on to appear in Ashes to Ashes on e.tv, Intersexions, Swartwater, Those Who Can't on SABC2 and the British BBC series, Silent Witness.
The Safta award-winning actress was most recently seen in the American drama series The Looming Tower on Amazon Prime Video.
from channel 24
*Depression is an illness..OMG!!!
Please if you think you have recurrent depression,talk to someone about it and seek help....OMG!!
Chai!!!!
ReplyDeleteRip Shoki Mokgapa
A lot of your so called "celebrities" are in her shoes but showing fake displays on IG.
DeleteWhen you read me write FAKE on this forum, I know what I am writing.
Celebrities are very lonely and insecure people. It stresses their marriage and everything else
They act like it does not in public only to go back home to sulk.
It is a vicious cycle.
May her soul rest in peace.
ReplyDeleteIv been feeling so depressed as of late. I hardly feel like waking up in the morning, havnt even read my bible and prayed in a while except when i go for sunday service. Use to be a prayer warrior.
ReplyDeleteBut i know the reason i feel this way. I am doing a job that doesnt pay much though money isnt a problem. But i look at my mates excelling. Then the major one,i am in a dead end relationship dont even know where it is going. And i am in my 30s. Almost all my mates are married with kids
I feel my life is lacking behind everyobe. If i can sort this issue i will be fine. Suicide has crossed my mind. But it is something i can never do. I feel bad for this actress but i understand the feelings.
Wow!!!
DeleteIs this really enough reason to get depressed ???
Hmmm. I have felt this way too many times. Before 2016, I always excelled,never had to wait for anything too long. Got everything I needed in life at record breaking ages. 2016 came and my life went from 100 to 0. Nothing was working. I started struggling to get things that I would never have even given thought to before. All those I was ahead of before came and overtook me and I was left behind. Nothing was working! I would cry non stop for days,won't eat,or talk to anyone. But you see, for every time I could muster a word of prayer, God would tell me to hang on. I would go out and see people in worst states than I was,then I would run to God for forgiveness. After a while the feelings would be back again and the process will start again. So my dear,please hang on. Things will be fine. I'm not where I want to be but I'm taking baby steps. I'm moving, slowly but surely. Everyone has his race to run,run yours.
Delete@ekajoy....people think there are things one can be depressed about.
DeleteTruth is, depression is an illness thatvhas diverse aetiological risk factors . some like what the poster stated and others could even be a good news.
I have seen an 11 year old kid with severe depression..the world will wonder why a kid has to be depressed in the first instance. Depression just like malaria is no respecter of age. I wish all depressed people seek help and not hide behind "people will judge me for even allowing this bother me let alone being depressed" whilst forgetting depression as an entity has the genetic components.
My dear however you want to see it in this season of travails,just know that the hand of God is holding you and He'll never let go! Hang in there and know that this too shall pass ok..,Remember if you have prayed and nothing seems to change pls switch to praises and seed sowing, then,watch Him do what no man can do for you! worry less on how and when it'll come but believe it will come..i can see everything turning around for your good child of God.shallom!
Delete9:37 educate yourself about what depression is. You sound too ignorant to be a teacher.
DeleteYou need a man of God you can confined in ASAP, ve been here twice, once I tried to jump in front of a moving vehicle, sometimes the devil torment me with tears, I'll just cry and cry over nothing in particular, then I met this genuine man of God who prayed for me and monitor me, I prayed hard and ask God for help, it's been 7 years now and I'm still breathing, hold on in there tight, God is in charge.
DeleteMy dear don't allow this monster called depression get u,think about gift of life God has given u and appreciate Him,u are work in progress, God has not finished with u,He has something great for u,go back to him and begin to praise,thank and live for Him.I will hear ur testimony soon shalom.
DeleteIt's so sad the way depression is suddenly spreading in our continent. It's not a shameful thing, it's an illness and should not be hidden. I think it's time depression is taken more seriously. Some people can deal with it, others can't and really need help.
ReplyDeleteWe simply neglecting God when we talk about depression. He is just the way cling on to him
ReplyDeleteBehind depressed is an illness...one doesn't neglect God when one talks about malaria likewise depression.
DeleteGod, seriously? Do cancer patients neglect God? Abeg leave depression matter
DeleteBut for Jesus, this may have been my story. Holding on can be so difficult, but for grace. And most people don't really get it. They say all sorts and are critical of you for feeling depressed.
ReplyDeleteRIP Beautiful one.
ReplyDeleteEyaaah.. May I soul rest in peace.
ReplyDeleteDepression is real...RIP
ReplyDeleteRip to her
ReplyDeleteWhen people are sad for sometime, they say it's depression, I pity them. Depression is an reoccurring indept anxiety about many things and everything including existence.
ReplyDeleteEven when you are happy, you know the reality and that is your real world. Although being constantly busy with fruitful things help to reduce the suicidal urge but once depression hits, no energy, no motivation. You just want to quietly stop existing instantly, then the fear of unsuccessfully suicide, people that you love falling into depression because you committed suicide hold you back. It gets worse with time.
Please don't tell me about religion or God. 90% of depressed or suicidal people know it and him respectively.
Opening up about real depression is the worse. 70% of persons that committed suicide opened up to someone. You don't blame them, they don't understand. That's why people attach it to unnecessary things and give stupid advice.
Don't judge, love and pray for people who never wish they existed. I constantly ask myself why I came to this world without my consent. I know there is a God, but why did he do that. The regrets and sadness is deep. Why didn't I commit suicide when I was very young. Satan does not even deserve to be depressed. Why me?
I know people are naturally happy for nothing. My dear, happiness is a gift. If you you have it for any reason, it's worth celebrating. I give the little I have. Why so much frequent anxiety?
I'm tired and I'm not strong enough to commit suicide. I don read, pray, go church. I'm tired men.
If you feel God didn't work for you doesn't mean He can't work for others. Faith can do wonders. Stop discouraging people who want to try God. That is being judgemental. I wish you the best.
DeleteDepression is a negative energy, stop sharing it. People want to be happy and enjoy their happiness. I learnt that and I'm happy I did. I'm depressed but I rather save people from the negative energy and die peacefully on the good day.
ReplyDeleteDepression is real.I thank God today for every single thing He allowed in my life.It all start in 2015,2016 and 2017 .There's no one to talk to moreover the people I thought I can talk to directly and indirectly add salt to my wound.my bible becomes the only good friend I have,Jer18:1-6 and Eze 37:1-14.is the portion of the I read every day.come 31 night 2017(ie crossover night) I made up my mind to dance away my shames and sorrows.This year 2018 I join the church fasting and prayer I did only 6am - 12pm cos I was empty inside,one day as I was in the place work I heard a still small voice called me He told something from the bible which I will say here He concluded by say I will not leave you or forsake you.only that voice pulled out of that mess .Thank you Jesus my Lord and personal saviour.Today I can dance in the church,laugh and play with people around me.The thought or plans how to end my life secretly is no longer there.Now I know who I am .Thank you Jesus my Lord.#iambornofGod#.
ReplyDeleteI was at that point last year. Couldn't take it anymore. Gosh. A lot of unresolved issues makes depression deep. Having a close friend and someone that genuinely cares helps. Knowing God more than just going to church helps. His peace takes away the pain.
ReplyDeleteI had to send in my story here, had lots of encouragement from people but for a while almost all stopped checking in but for 1 amazing woman that never stopped. She made sure I talked about everything. it helped. Once once you can fall back in but having someone there to help you back up just like that woman did me helps.
Today I'm healed, I'm even helping others get through this slowly killing illness.
Not a good reason for her to take her own life
ReplyDeleteDepression is an illness .. is part of mental health illness.. seek help if you have one.. pharmacology and non-pharmacological will help.
ReplyDeleteEyahh, rip to her
ReplyDeleteRip
ReplyDeleteAhn Shoki... Shoki why nau?
ReplyDeleteSuicide is not the solution. I pray she finds peace.
Ahn Shoki... Shoki why nau?
ReplyDeleteSuicide is not the solution. I pray she finds peace.
If you are depressed and you need someone to talk download the app 7 cups. Go to play store, download the app and sign up. You can share whatever that's bothering you with the approved volunteer listeners there. It helped me alot last year. It's like therapy for me. I felt better each time I finished speaking to someone there
ReplyDeleteAtimes we just need someone to talk to but for fear of being judged we hold back.
The listeners are from different parts of the world and you are at the liberty to choose whomsoever you like their profile