Investigations showed on Sunday that senators and members had discussed the matter across political parties, where they consistently questioned Buhari’s seeming unwillingness to sign the bill. It was learnt that the lawmakers observed that if the bill was not signed, there was no way the Independent National Electoral Commission could spend the N143bn as the bulk of the budget was earmarked for the procurement of election equipment envisaged by the bill.
An official stated, “It is true that this concern has been raised. Nigerians too are not helping matters because nobody is asking the President why he is keeping the bill. Everybody is shouting, pass the budget, pass the budget. If there is sincerity of purpose, the first thing is for Buhari to sign the bill in order to justify this INEC budget.
You don’t build something on nothing. We are worried because we hear from presidency sources that the President does not want to sign the bill. He is likely to return it to the National Assembly. However, our committees had to continue working just to save the National Assembly the persistent blackmail that it was delaying the budget of the 2019 general elections.”
From punch
throw that bill into the trash. when executive wants something done,you all play politics and now you want them to do your bidding.forget that..e no work that way..forget that bill...
ReplyDeleteI think they should veto him on that since the 30days waiting period is over. I can't seem to understand why they are begging when the constitution stipulated the right to veto. For those who still think Buhari is a democrat are nothing but a disgrace to sanity. A man who see himself as the only corrupt free Nigerian, and as such override the rule of law to sooth his personal interest. A man who is a prosecutor and at the same time a judge in his own case. So disgraceful how this nation has been ridiculed before the world.
ReplyDeleteThe man (buhari) is here to destroy Nigeria.
DeleteYou said it all, anybody supporting Buhari & his partten of governance needs his brains reexamine by a psychiatrist
DeleteHey, one question you dummies didn’t ask is “what is the content of the electoral bill?” Who does signing the bill favour? Nigerians or the senators? You guys are just quick to be fooled by any accusations against the president. But your minds are lost in critical thought as to what the bill is about. Electoral bill is just the name. Content of the bill is what should be our concern. But our constitutional professor, Teejay, who always claims the law says this, the international organization says that, that our constitution says this, has come up with another of his frivolous claim of VETO. Veto what please? Do you even know what that means in parliamentary case? Man, you just reek of bla bla bla bla. I think it is your comments that should be disgrace to sanity because you betray knowledge. You betray sound knowledge. If not, you wouldn’t be proud of yourself posting bombastic comments with lacking meaningful meanings. Whoa! Come of it man. You can do better!
DeleteDeos Mr dumbest understand what the bill is all about ? How can Mr clueless Lifeless sign what he does not understand ? That was how he tossed the PIGB to the trash. What do I even know, shebi na cartoon him dey read.
ReplyDeleteonly seriousness people will see him as a democrat. by nature he is just too high handed and does not consult people..he is not a peoples man, one of the reasons babangida overthrew him sef..they are just playing politics with that bill
ReplyDeleteThe man is the worst mistake ever made by Nigeria