Bisola said this minutes after receiving a surprise award during last Saturday’s African Magic Viewers’ Choice Awards held at the Eko Le Meridien Hotel and Suites in Victoria Island, Lagos.
Fielding questions from journalists on the sidelines of the event, Bisola, who received the Trailblazer’s Award in recognition of her impact in the developing African film and television space, said she had been on a journey to self realisation as an artiste since 2006.
She said, “I started out in the entertainment industry in 2006. In 2008, I was on MTN Project Fame West Africa music realty TV show. I have been an actress prior to Big Brother Naija. I wouldn’t say that BBN gave me all or the mileage that I am getting now. I am stressing it because a lot of people may think I woke up one day and just went for an audition.
“I attended the Big Brother Africa audition for over eight years before I finally made it into the BBN house. So, it has been a journey and I didn’t give up.
Speaking on the future of the Nigerian film industry, she noted that further growth could be possible through collaboration between the media and stakeholders in the industry.
She said, “The media and filmmakers should come together to work as one. Collaboration is the new competition. We shouldn’t see each other as competitors because it would help to bring in more funds and help us to deviate from the cliché that we are used to producing, which is mostly drama.
“There is so much money that can be made from the African movie industry. Animation is a good example of how we can tap into the potential of the industry. It is one sector that we haven’t exploited at all.”
Bisola dedicated her award to the memory of her late baby daddy, Malcom Olanrewaju who passed on recently at the age of 37.
“It’s been a sad week for me, but I’m also happy that I won this award. It’s not just for me; it is for my family and for people who have watched me grow, as well as those that have seen through my journey.
“Notwithstanding, it would have been beautiful if Malcolm was around to see me win this award. He knew about this journey that I embarked on some years ago.
I’m dedicating this award to him and everybody else in my life,” she said.
from punch
*I did not know who she as before the show..it doesnt mater how long she has been hustling,BBNaija gave her the big break through and she owes her success to Biggie!!!
I love this Lady. Ride on Bisola
ReplyDeleteGood for her
DeleteYea, she might have been hustling hard all d while bhet nobody noticed/knows her as such till after d show. So bbn gave her ALL d mileage she needed to stardom puhleaseee.
DeleteI don’t know what she’s saying, I dint know her before big brother and no I wunt have noticed her if she dint attend so what the hell is she saying, the fame made you recognized
DeleteI knew Bisola in films like President for a Day, Loose my Girl etc before Bbn and others. She is a fantastic actress and she said 'I won't say Bbn gave me "all" the mileage ', all being the operative word here.
DeleteTrue Stella. Bisola shouldn't have said that. She owes a large part of her success story to bbn and another part to her hardwork. She was acting before but only a few people knew her and after Bbn, she soared. It actually goes without saying that she owes a huge part of her success to BBN
ReplyDeleteBig Brother gave her limelight because she made use of the opportunity and platform.
ReplyDeleteShe has oil on her head....Bisola is versatile
Despite the fact that she doesn't have a degree...she stands out!!!!!
I think Bisola had to clear air on this matter bcuz rumours have been flying about by some insane fans that BBN gave her the platform & that she made it this far cuz of BBN, forgetting that Bisola has been in the industry for years.. .... Moreover, to y'all that keep saying Bisola didn't go to school, don't forget that she has a college degree in London, that college degree could be even equivalent to some Unis here in Nigeria.
DeleteAnon 11:14 you said it all...I know i had watched her drama series on TV ever before BBN...Shes simply a hardworker,who utilized an added oppotunity presented to her.
DeleteYes I didn't watch bbn. I heard about it. Not knocking the show. But I know bisola from movies and that ndana show on YouTube. She's a good actress. Bbn introduced her to a new audience but many of us already knew her
DeleteIf not of BBN, I will not have known her. The show contributed to her fame
ReplyDeleteAre you minding her
DeleteContributed is the word. What she is trying to say is BBN just contributed not that it made her. She had been in the game long enough to have the contacts and network required. She is trying to explain why she has remained so relevant even after BBN. It is because she had been in the game way before BBN.
DeleteBy the way, I remember her from project fame.
For all intents and purposes, that show made her. How many followers did she have on IG before the show and how many after? Let’s start there...
DeleteShe cannot negate the huge impact of that platform. It made it possible for people to see her versatility... it kept her in our faces for 91days., yes, she’s been working before but she got to BLOW after BBN
What an epic apologue! Imagine 8 attempts just to get place in Big brothers. fight on girl.
ReplyDeleteWho is she?
ReplyDeleteBisola...and you are?
Deletebisola don't be too proud, biggie deserves some accolades please. I don't even know you before big brother naija ,so keep shut.
ReplyDeleteIf you weren't a dummy and actually knew this girl, you wouldn't have spat out this thrash
DeleteSophie you are the dull one here, why crying under my comment, please swerve joor
DeleteYes Stella I did not know her too until big brother naija. Congratulations to her. She is a strong and focused woman.
ReplyDeleteI knew her from project fame and Africa magic original films.
ReplyDeleteBisola has really been carving a niche for herself for quite a while. I Had watched her in a couple of series like SGIT,The life of a Nigerian couple to mention a few prior to Big brother. So i feel like big brother or not she would have eventually blown because she was already on her way to stardom. Big brother only made it faster, so yeah it was a factor but likely not the major determinant factor as she reiterated.
ReplyDeleteVery correct
DeleteI saw her in Slim girl in transit(Hope I am correct) before she went for bbn, but never knew she was the one. Also another movie where she was a newly wed to an Igbo man.
ReplyDeleteI think it is time to refer to Bisola as an actor now, Instead of a reality star. She has earned that right,even better than instagram actors I have never seen on my screen.
Her song that day touched my soul. I knew she was holding back tears. I could see the struggles.
Lol...it's Skinny girl in transit.
DeleteI recently started watching it, and was wondering if it was before or after the show.
You made 8 attempt just to be in big brother, finally got it and you're saying you don't own it to bbn. My dear a lot of people didnt know you before then. Congregation to you though.
ReplyDeleteGbam!!! If you didn’t need the platform to blow, why did you attend auditions for a while 8 years? Haba!!!!
DeleteShe is Right Stella.you need to see how fans were mocking some of the bbn2018 ladies,that it is only to do photoshoot they know,comparing them with bisola.Lilian afegbai DAT won award also worked her way through it.I rembember how Nigerians curse her out after BBA,it took her how years to gather herself too. She already laid d foundation
ReplyDeleteI knew her before bbn and i dont even live in 9ja. She was a key actor/character in sgit.....a very good series of ndani tv
ReplyDeleteno one is talking abt her antics with thin tall anymore.talent can really erase sm things
ReplyDelete...but you are
DeleteUngrateful much?
ReplyDeleteYou're blown because of BBN.
Not everyone knew who she was before the show.
Give biggie some accolades, Bisola.
E pain u?
DeleteHonestly, BBN drew more attention to her. It made her more popular, it gave her more recognition. Yes she is good and a bunch of talent but BBA platform really helped her career.
DeleteI love bisola 😘😘😍
ReplyDeleteStella check your heading 😀
ReplyDeleteWhy are some people like this? See now, you just missed a big one girl. DSTV won't use you for adverts they are currently doing with BB stars. What's my own? Lemme come and be going joor. I feel like gbeshing, who got spare banana?
ReplyDeleteI've got one here, but it's pay per use.
DeleteBisola has been known in the industry way back b4 BBN....so there's absolutely nothing wrong with what she said.
ReplyDeleteBisola has been in the entertainment Industry for long, but BBN made a large number OF people to know her.
ReplyDeleteI think what she is saying is that she was already in the industry before the show cos I personally know saw her in some movies and series before BBN. Unlike the others that just discovered their talent after they came out of the house and didn't know what to do with their lives. So they opted for acting since that's the easiest they can venture into before they become irrelevant.
ReplyDeleteThe BBN gave Bisola popularity but I bet you that she would have blown sooner or later cos she is raw talent.
I think what she is saying is that she was already in the industry before the show cos I personally know saw her in some movies and series before BBN. Unlike the others that just discovered their talent after they came out of the house and didn't know what to do with their lives. So they opted for acting since that's the easiest they can venture into before they become irrelevant.
ReplyDeleteThe BBN gave Bisola popularity but I bet you that she would have blown sooner or later cos she is raw talent.
Some people can be do ungreatful sha cos I don't even know her till her bbn breakthrough
ReplyDeleteJust because you didn't know her before, so she can't say the truth?'abeg shift
DeleteYes! Bisola has made name for herself before BBN. I remember during BBN we were watch a movie in the house i think it's Ovi's Voices or so i can't remember and i mention she was currently on BBN everyone agreed she didn't need BBN because she is a good actress. Bigger you is my prayer for you every day Bisola Girl. God bless your hustle in Jesus name
ReplyDeleteNothing bad in what she said.
ReplyDeleteCongratulations Bisola
That song you did at AMVCA was 👌👌
The sky is your starting point
BTW I finally saw Ifu in a movie on ROK last night. Don't even know the title sef.
Lol I agree with her because she is not the only person who made it to BBN, she stated BBN helped but honestly it’s not the reason why she is successful else other housemates too would have achieved same level of success that she has if it’s by BBN. People knew Bisola before the show, BBN is a platform alright and it made people “stop and pay attention to her success” but it’s not why she is successful so let’s not join issues.
ReplyDeleteSo many people made it to the show but remain irrelevant, Bisola has worked very hard and she is talented. Her success is solely because she didn’t relax after the show expecting manna or riding off the back of the BBN show. Beautiful actress and singer, I love her.
But BBN brought her fame nau. I didn't know her before the show.
ReplyDeleteGo to her IG page!!! She has denied she said anything like that..
ReplyDeleteWe thought she is trying to advice people because some people may get think that all they need to do is go for big brother and that’s it. People that have been sent successful after but g brother are those that work hard it’s not just to go for big brother and that’s all. If she went for big brother and hadn’t been working hard before and after the show, she wouldn’t be here today. I think we need to learn to process and understand messages and not be quick to judge. I understand what she is saying, big brother contributed to her success but isn’t the primary reason for it.
ReplyDeleteYou are so right. People just don't understand what she's trying to say.
DeleteI Pray for the spirit of discernment and understanding when we read stuff....... Amen! !!
ReplyDeleteAmen sister. Once stella says something, there's always a long line to agree with her.
DeleteAmen Cookie !!the matter tire person 😒 I celebrate you sister!
DeleteI didn't know you before BBN o namesake😗😗😗
ReplyDeleteStella you are right. Never heard of her before she participated in Big brother Naija. Never watched any of her movies until they were showing them while she was in the house. How many Instagram followers did she have before entering the house? It was not more than 50,000. Now she has 1.5 million. She ought to be grateful to big brother naija that gave her the exposure to build on the little success she had before entering the house.
ReplyDeleteKeep quiet Bisola ,who knew you before BBN2017? You were just an ordinary struggling actress before the show. few movies you made didn't make you popular, it was BBN2017 that opened the door for you & brought you into limelight.
ReplyDeleteWithout BBN2017 all these achievement you got after the show would not have been possible, you would have still remained the actress you were without recognition. People learn to appreciate what God has done for you.
Very ungrateful lady , BBN deserve some accolade don't be too proud appreciate them. I don't or never ahead of u until I saw u on BBN show .alot of people got to know u after BBN show so stop dat nonsense comment u are making .u loose more by being proud foolish dick sucker.
ReplyDeleteBisola somehow BBN helped you, at least that was how I got to know you
ReplyDeleteStella and her jumping way to conclude on something and assliskers will follow suit.
ReplyDeleteBisola has always and will always be grateful to Biggie!!!