Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Nigerian History...

Thursday, September 27, 2018

Nigerian History...

The Dufuna Canoe is the oldest Canoe in Nigeria and Africa at large. The boat is over 8,000 years old and was discovered by a Fulani Herdsman in 1987 when he was digging a well....

22 comments:

1. I so love historical facts!! I wonder which museum this canoe is kept!! Beautiful!

1. National Museum Damaturu in Yobe state ,Mallam Yau who discovered it is also from the state

2. Abeg wetin dem give d discoverer?
      How dem take know d boat na 8000 yrs old?

3. The technology used to discover how old an object or bone is, is called a radio carbon. It's capable of predicting dates as old as 10,000 old.

2. I disagree with this fact! 8000 years ago? As in, a black man that is still running around naked carved out a canoe? Our brain never develop reach that level abeg. Look how smooth the braces are( 2 by 4 wood) that Canoe is like 16th century after the white men discovered us.

1. My dear, there are discovered wooden objects as old as Jesus Himself, for example, Noah's ark of as discovered somewhere around Turkey and some of the wooden decks are still as still firm; preserved by nature itself.

2. Please have sense in Jesus name

3. Na lie! can any good thing ever come from herdsmen?

4. I think there is a typo, its should be 800 not 8000

5. Dufuna canoe is about 8000yrs old was tested in Germany using radio carbon dating ,and was discovered by Mallam Yau a herdsman ,Africa once had a thriving trade ,transport and leadership system way before the Europeans,we are the cradle of civilization .Nok art is also one our oldest civilazition ,very stylistic and naturalistic way more sophisticated than European antiquities let us be proud of our ancestors achievements for once we come from a great continent.

1. U study history ko?

2. Ngozi Nwaugo, thank you for googling on our behalf. If no be you, we for no know this one. Tenkiu o.

6. @Ngozi, believe me, that Canoe CANNOT be 8000 years old! The angle of the braces is too perfect. 8000 years ago, we don't have the mastery of carpentry to carve out such a perfect brace, neither do we have the brains to develop the machine that would give such a perfect brace! By Africa been the cradle of civilization, they were referring to Egypt and NOT black Africa!

1. U dey here 8000yrs ago to know how black brain works? Pls learn!

2. Stan an afraid you are very wrong, have you heard of the NOK culture in Easter Nigeria with their fine iron works, the salt mines of Tanzania, the gold bracelets of Mali during Mansa Musa's reign and many more. Please seek knowledge before you conclude on certain issues. Africa and Nigeria had already developed great civizations before the white men came into the picture, the trans-atlantic and the atlantAt slave trade slowed us down for more than 400 years.

7. U guys don't understand what 8000yrs sounds like! Like really? Black race is freaking backward, if indeed we have all these so called "developments" in black Africa, I wonder why we have not improved on anything in black Africa..... You need to stop believing all these concocted lies to boost our ego as black Africans. Black descendants ( all wat you stated above as civilization are cultures copied from another place and brought down to black Africa!) Please do your freaking research before displaying your half baked stories on here. I still insist that black Africa CANNOT come up with such a perfect brace! The edges and angle is too smooth. Read more on this pls.

8. I will advice you guys read more on Canoe and the design obtainable 8000 years ago..,We no get the capacity (,brain wise) to design such a perfect brace.

1. Please go and sleep and stop arguing blindly.

2. Your self esteem is zero that's why you don't believe that blacks don't even exist 8000 ago blocking all the places with your stupid idea & argument, please keep quiet & learn about history, Mumu

9. It is obvious that am proving nothing to block heads.... Am talking the technical angle. Amacastle, pretty obvious you must be block head or you read stuffs upside Down. Canoes don't have that kind of braces 8000 years ago!( that is if you know the meaning of "brace" and what they stand for. You need to do proper research with ur Brain intact( it is obvious ur brain is porous). Pls read and research extensively before coming here to display ur sheer generational dumbness.