Thursday, September 13, 2018
Nigerian History
Angry at Fela's song "Zombie", 1,000 Nigerian soldiers raided and burned his residence - the Kalakuta Republic in Lagos in 1977...
19 comments:
It is well with Nigeria
ReplyDeleteI listened to one of his songs and in between, you could feel his pain when he started thus π΅dem kill my mama,dem kill my mama...π΅
DeleteNigeria lost it a long time ago and I just pray we recover from our own man made disasters!
That was when a musician stood up and stayed for what he believed in even before brutal military regime. No be today wey them go call for a democratic protest only to chicken out before it starts.
ReplyDeleteU gat me confused π€π€
DeleteWhich 1 is before brutal military regime?
Obj was the military head of state in 1977.
DeleteIt was brutal of him to have vandalized and burnt Fela's house.
He did correct some things as a civilian president though.
Fela forever lives: Ajorojara joro zombie no go go unless u tell am to go 'zombie' goan kill ajorojara joro put am for reverse ajorojara joro
ReplyDeleteI remember this time, I was 7 years old. We lived at surulere(rasqaq Balogh st then). My mom was so frightened to take my siblings and I to school. It was so terrifying!! Those soidiers were really Zombies!! Rip Fela!
ReplyDeleteMeeeeehnn
ReplyDeleteWooow! No be today lagosians craze start ashe.
ReplyDeleteThis is unlike what we have today where they chicken out before they even start a protest.
ReplyDeleteALL Musicians are friends of politicians and cannot stand to criticize them like Fela did.
They are all looking for what they will eat instead.Long live the memory of Fela the great, bold enough to speak even during the military era.
Today musicians na yeye. Small tah dem go begin cry
ReplyDeleteππππ
DeleteHow will they not cry,when Amaka keeps disappointing them.
DeleteRip fela the legend of Africa
ReplyDeleteThe best military regime is worse than than the best civilian regime...na so them teach us for Government class then in secondary school.
ReplyDeleteπ π π
DeleteNa lie dem lie giv us dat year!
DeleteWho counted the soldiers?
ReplyDeleteThought same two