Saturday, September 15, 2018

Kemi Adeosun Confirms She Resigned Because The NYSC Certificate Of Exemption She Presented Was FAKE.

Finance Minister Kemi Adeosun has confirmed her resignation from President Muhammadu Buhari’s cabinet and confirms she presented a fake NSYC certificate but did not know it was fake!...says she is still in shock!

In the letter obtained by Dailypost, Adeosun confirmed that she was stepping down, because of allegations of forgery of her National Youth Service Corps (NYSC) certificate.

She also thanked Buhari for the privilege to serve in his administration.

She went on to appreciate the president for his patience and support “during the long search for the truth in this matter”.

Below is the full text of Mrs Adeosun’s resignation letter

14th September, 2018

His Excellency
Muhammadu Buhari
President, Federal Republic of Nigeria
State House
Aso Villa
Abuja

Dear Excellency,

Let me commence by thanking you profusely for the honour and privilege of serving under your inspirational leadership. It has been a truly rewarding experience to learn from you and to observe at close quarters your integrity and sense of duty.

I have, today, become privy to the findings of the investigation into the allegation made in an online medium that the Certificate of Exemption from National Youth Service Corp (NYSC) that I had presented was not genuine. This has come as a shock to me and I believe that in line with this administration’s focus on integrity, I must do the honourable thing and resign.

Your Excellency, kindly permit me to outline some of the background to this matter. I was born and raised in the United Kingdom, indeed my parental family home remains in London. My visits to Nigeria up until the age of thirty-four (34) were holidays, with visas obtained in my UK passport. I obtained my first Nigerian passport at the age of thirty-four (34) and when I relocated there was debate as to whether NYSC Law applied to me. Upon enquiry as to my status relating to NYSC, I was informed that due to my residency history and having exceeded the age of thirty (30), I was exempted from the requirement to serve. Until recent events, that remained my understanding.

On the basis of that advice and with the guidance and assistance of those, I thought were trusted associates, NYSC were approached for documentary proof of status. I then received the certificate in question. Having never worked in NYSC, visited the premises, been privy to nor familiar with their operations, I had no reason to suspect that the certificate was anything but genuine. Indeed, I presented that certificate at the 2011 Ogun State House of Assembly and in 2015 for Directorate of State Services (DSS) Clearance as well as to the National Assembly for screening. Be that as it may, as someone totally committed to a culture of probity and accountability I have decided to resign with effect from Friday, 14th September, 2018.

Your Excellency, It has been an exceptional privilege to have served our nation under your leadership and to have played a role in steering our economy at a very challenging time. I am proud that Nigeria has brought discipline into its finances, has identified and is pursuing a path to long term sustainable growth that will unlock the potential in this great economy. Under your leadership, Nigeria was able to exit recession and has now started to lay the foundations for lasting growth and wealth creation. Repositioning this huge economy is not a short term task and there are no short cuts, indeed there are tough decisions still to be made but I have no doubt that your focus on infrastructural investment, revenue mobilisation and value for money in public expenditure will deliver growth, wealth and opportunity for all Nigerians.

I thank His Excellency, the Vice President and my colleagues in the Federal Executive Council for the huge pleasure and honour of working with them. I also thank most specially, the team in the ‘Finance Family’ of advisers and heads of agencies under the Ministry of Finance. Your Excellency, this group of committed Nigerians represent a range of backgrounds, ethnicities and ages. They have worked well above and beyond the call of duty to support me in the tasks assigned. The diversity in my team and their ability to work cohesively to deliver reforms, convinces me that Nigeria has the human capital required to succeed.

Your Excellency, let me conclude by commending your patience and support, during the long search for the truth in this matter. I thank you again for giving me the honour of serving under your leadership, it is a rare privilege, which I do not take for granted. As a Nigerian and committed progressive, I appreciate you for your dogged commitment to improving this nation.

Please be assured, as always, of my highest regards and best wishes

Kemi Adeosun (Mrs)

*WOW this is the honourable thing to do and  all my respect Madam.God bless your future endeavours!

56 comments:

1. The first political person to do a honourable thing in Nigeria, I must give her that. I don't even care if she's lying up there, she did the honourable thing by resigning.

Ok, the second person after GEJ gave up the presidency without any arguments or bloodshed

1. Kano state deputy governor and a host of others that have resigned peacefully nko? The ignorance of these GEJ "hero" worshippers thou 😏😏

2. Eesah shut up, just shut up! Moron

3. Why did it take her this long? Lies

4. It is not any honourable because it is belated, she only yeilded to pressure from Nigerians and the fear of been ousted by Court's verdict, if everybody gullibly believes her feigned innocence I am not .

5. Honourable would have been to resign as soon as she realized it was a fake certificate. That is IF it is true she didn’t know in the first place

6. How can you tender a document that you can't own up to? Blaming others doesnt cut it. Will be a shame to let her walk away from it all. There is nothing honourable here. She rode to the last mile. There has to be more to her resignation.

7. She was asked to resign which is a sacking. Eka Joy so your comment is null and void. Plus she’s not the first. Do keep up.

2. Good one!!! But would have been more honourable if it hasn't linger this much. To me it seems you were compelled to do that and not willingly as you paint it to be. But be that as it may, you have done the right thing millions of Nigeria had expected from you long before now. I know your resignation has a political undertone to savage Mr President incompetency but too late, even that can't save him.

1. Teejay just keep on masturbating on posts concerning all these APC people
      Don't kill yourself Mr identity crisis

2. So in your fickle Biafran mind, you think there is any politician in Nigeria atm who can unsit the president in a free and fair election yeah? Bwoy, wake up and smell the coffee 😊😂😁

I won't take you serious until you provide one candidate in the whole of Biafra Land who is more competent than Buhari. Until then, ✌

3. Wisdom will not kee you.

4. Eesah the shallow mental state of most northerners will blind them from seeing the incompetence nature of Mr President. Even the Arewa youth chairmen Mr Shettima has strongly condemned Buhari administration in a strong worded interviews. If not for the borders your criminal politicians do open for Niger people to come in and vote, along side under age voting, do you think the north has the numerical strength to conquer the Southern part in an election. We have competent hands to defeat Mr President in a free and fair election but will only mention them to you on a condition that you list Mr Buhari achievement so far and why you think he deserve another term in office even when international are warning him not to.

5. Typical politics of emotion that the Igbo race are known for. Gej lost an election, and was held in his balls by the generals. Do u think Abdusalam was begging him to leave. Gej wey no get liver. The generals dealt with him....that's all. U r a baby!

6. Still me....the north has numbers! Wake up, tour the north and understand the life up there. They don't rant on social media, they act!

7. Still me, gather your elders in the east. Let them know you can't win a national election in Nigeria by hating on other tribes."romance 2 or more regions strategically..

8. Still me...and while u romance the 2 regions, don't show hatred on the opposing regions because u may need them later

9. Oh yes they act in manipulation and killing whoever don't align with them. With over three decades they have been in governance, what could they show for it?

10. Perhaps, the bigotry, craziness, foolishness, and all the necessity of using -ness of negativity to describe your parochialism, inferiority, crisis of identity, weakness, and misunderstandings are very manifest in your comment above. If not, what would make you, who claim to be sound, wise and awake use such a condescending description or ascribe shallowness in mental capacity of MOST NORTHERNERS in your comment. Yet you come out to make reference to Shettima as a mouth piece for how many millions of people in order to rationalize another form of your foolishness and hatred for a group of people or political party.
      Mr man, stop being silly and wake up to reality. Your pettiness doesn’t help you at all. It clouds your mouth from objectivity and sound understanding. If I asked you now to describe what it means to be a northerner, you will start vomiting more ignorance. And you talk of southerners as if there is one homogeneous description or quality that joins a man from Oyo together with another from Enugu, or a man from Lagos as same thinking with a man from Bayelsa. The same way you say northern as if an Igala man from Kogi thinks the same as an Angas man from Plateau or a Hausa man from Zamfara having same thought exercise like a Kanuri man from Borno. Stop being foolish and stop displaying this bigotry that you suffer.
      If ‘you’ have ‘competent’ hands from the south, field them for the next coming elections and we will see who wins. It is a thing of majority. Instead of barking about election rigging only in the North but free and fair in your so-called imagined south. Even if Easah mentions what he and others consider as Mr President’s achievement, you will dismiss it so does it matter. If he hasn’t achieved anything, the outcome of the elections will tell. Stop barking and prepare your candidate to take over the country come 2019. What you are doing now is absolute nonsense and trash talking with no substance.
      Your emotions, hatred for a group or people, party, and individuals are taking the best of you. It is not helping you but causing damage to your sanity. That is, if there is any left. First of all, prove to us that you are sane enough, educated enough, competent enough, sound and not shallow minded by writing and posting SOUND sentences with CORRECT grammars. Do not disappoint southerners with your dead sentences. If you are a sound southerner, educated in the south, a product of sound southern education system, then we expect you to comment with sound speech. Make your sentences clear as well as your grammar like an ‘ignorant’ northerner like Easah. If you can do that, i will submit to your soundness and never challenge your ‘critical’ ability anymore. I dare you to do that. I leave BVS to be our adjudicators. Do not disappoint them. Please, no fall their hands.
      You already know whose comment this is.

11. Tell an Igbo man to collect his pvc and vote, he will ask you to bring money. Everything is money to him. That was why a politician in your State Enugu was arrested in 2015 elections with hundreds of pvc. The Igbos have never had and will never be able to present one consensus candidate. Even Ojukwu couldn’t be their consensus candidate. That was why the Igbos couldn’t have one consensus candidate for Senate president during Obasanjo’s eight years tenure. The south east were to produce the Senate president then, but we had Okadigbo, Anyim, Nnamani, etc. All with different problems. David Mark was Senate president for how many years? Yes, the North has governed for over three decades. Tell us what the southern president’s did for Nigeria? Tell us what Nnamdi Azikiwe and Aguiyi Ironsi did? Igbos will never rule Nigeria again. Not because people will not vote them. But because they can never agree on one thing. That is why they are scattered in different parts of Nigeria. They are scared of remaining in their lands. Okija shrine is not a joke. Evans and his colleagues are still alive. Baby factories are not empty in Anambra and Abia. Should I go on?

12. It's biafrans that don't kill. I don't even want to talk about biafrans. Bunch of failures. You hate Hausa, you can't leave their north for them, you hate Yorubas, you can't leave their west for then and stay in your zone which will make it easier for you to form your country. Noise makers full of hate.

13. 11:38 that is the Igbo men of yesterday, the reason the new generation of Igbo youth are striving to change that orientation and ideology. The igbos you painted black are the most successful black race in the world and I believe you know that. An average Igbo man may not want to get into politics doesn't mean there are no better Igbo politician to rule the country. Truth be told, the structure won't favor them even if they contest. We all saw how the census was forged to favour a given region and also how the eastern part are shortchanged in state equality. Who said they are scared to remain in their land is a fat lie to your reasoning. Right from origin the Igbo race loves adventural life styles and the reason no country you won't find them. They don't depend on politics to be rich or happy just as the northerners do. They believe in their hard work and the reason they often don't get involve in politics. Take away politics from the north and see many of them go into coma or liquidated. I am proud where I come from and will chose it over and over again.

14. 11:47 why are your kinsmen opposing us from leaving the country? What does that tells you? Even they are afraid of restructuring. They know the economic prowess of the igbos and are afraid if they let them go, Nigeria may collapse. Tell your kinsman to conduct a referendum and see if Igbos aren't united and if those in the north won't come back home. They should be grateful we developed their region, which shows our commitment to national unity and love but in return they killed us and raped our women, destroyed our farm lands. You see the life they are living?

15. Teejay stop yarning allover the place with this igbos are the most succesful " black race". Where did you get your statistics from. You didn't even say in Nigeria. If I hear.......hahahahahaha.
      Nobody is disputing the tenacy,hardwork and business savy of igbo people.
      But let me school you even amongst the richest on forbes list is Aliko Dangote,Adenuga,Alakija and Otedola. When you talk pls do with facts. We have alot of igbo billionaires yes but are they captains of industry, are they internationally known and are they making a difference in the society and politics with their wealth. And dont tell me forbes didn't carry them and their billions are under their mattress. If they are making an impact in the GDP of the country they will be included.

16. I don't like it when one tribe believes they are the best in Nigeria. Each tribe has what they bring to the table. Each has their strength and their weakness and we all depend on eachother for one thing or the other. Together we are stronger. So stop with all this hate.

17. I don't want to write again because Stell is not posting my comment...oshi

18. People in this comment threat I applaud you all. Such concise powerful arguments. Both for and against.
      I really enjoyed this. This depth is not usually found in the comment section.

19. However, the facts remain @ BedsnRoses,almost all the Naija billionaires you mentioned, got huge government contracts and are still getting huge government contracts and patronage to remain in business, in order, to qualify as so-called billionaires. Was the playing field ever even? Alakija, a former seamstress to the Obasanjo's turns into an oil magnate almost in a "blink" bcos as per Soyinka, OBJ was pleased with her pussycat;shall one go on with the rest so-called billionaires in consort with corrupt politicians, who carted away the public purse for personal gains at the expense of the real hardworking men and women of this nation? Abegi, talk beta oh

20. Nobody is stopping igbos to get government contract? Or dem no get head to collect contract. Did orji uzo Kalu,Uba and so many others too not enrich themselves through contracts.
      That is the problem with you igbos
      You are not the only hard-working or smart people in Nigeria.
      Everybody is hard-working in their right. Enough of all these excuses you people keep making since biafra times. That is why biafra was a failure.

3. She just earn my resepct.

1. ...which respect?
      Its like catching a thief red handed & the thief is forced to surrender the item, then u tap the thief on the shoulder and say "youve earned my respect" thats bullshit.... she was boxed up! what other option did she have?

2. Lols... Oxygen go to any pharmacy of your choice and take a pack of flavoured condom. The bill is on me.

3. God bless you Oxygen. I don't know why people are praising her, this act should have been done long ago. This is political strategy to paint Buhari as fighting corruption.

4. Teejay baba if u are honest and understand the rigidity of our polity ,then you gotta praise her.

5. Teejay Mr know it all... carried of fake news... ur emotions and hatred for Northerners and APC are taking the best of u. Tell me where this bigotry will led u.

4. Yen yen yen yada yada rada rada.
    Long mtcheeeeeew. I keep saying it buhari cabinet is full of dullards and incompetent folks with fake results starting from the olodo president himself. Oshisco.

5. She should return all the salaries and allowance she collected while in office too and then prosecuted. That's what happens in sane climes.
    I'm not moved by this "honourable" gesture though

1. No Amaka, telling her to return all her salaries is against the principle of natural justice.

2. Tell us where the ‘saner climes’ are. And please provide us with two examples from what happened in those ‘saner climes’.

3. Mhiz A please Amaka is right. She's returning all earnings in the last 2 years.

And yes, Nigera is somewhat a Sane clime.

She resigned honourable taking into cognizance that she never knew the certificate was fake. Forgive her.

There's an application form for her exemption letter but none signing out the "said cert".

Probably the legal procedures were too stressful for her and an alternative "shomolu-oluwole cert" with 5 errors was paid for and forwarded to her.

Shocking that she's been with notable firms and they didn't see this?
      Some companies are about to lose their Certifications. Dang!

6. Don't know why i believe she didn't know it was fake. She did the right thing by resigning

7. She resigned because she is tired of appending her signatures on the borrow borrow documents this government is known for!
    They are indirectly mortgaging our future to Chinese and other countries!
    They will soon borrow money from Sudan.

Just Krix!

1. I read they have turn to Japan for loan. So bad that this country turn this way.

2. If you guys knew how governance works, you would stop posting such comments because they reek of ignorance and shallowness in policy, politics, administration and statehood.

3. Anony, what do you think they are before? Enlightened beings. See teejay na.

8. Is good the way she respectd herself nd resigned..mrs kemi Adeosun aka Madam forgery..i knw there many others forgery result in Buharist led government..kudos to the jonourlist who exposed her..he deserve an award.

1. Premium times newspaper did. They deserve an award.

2. This comment has been removed by the author.

9. As for me, I don't buy this shit.

There's absolutely nothing honourable about her resignation. Her response was well calculated, no wonder she took her time to comment on the issue. Believe me, if she had another option or if the next elections wasn't close, she wouldn't do this. APC will not want to risk their chances of coming back next year cause of her.

Integrity my foot!

10. We buy bad solar battery contact me 0814139511315 September 2018 at 11:20

Good for her

11. Much as I feel Kemi Adeosun is rather incompetent as a finance Minister and the fact she just lacks the experience and expertise it's actually a good thing for Nigeria as a whole that she resigned.
    But I'm also sympathetic to her plight that she may not have known the exemption certificate was fake.
    She wasn't born or bred at all here. She came in at the age of 34 and started working in Chaphill denham(my friend also worked under her at the time). She came in as an expatriate just like alot of people there. It wasn't necessary for her to present an NYSC certificate. She didnt need it until she went to Ogun state. I'm sure she just gave someone money to sort it out like many do. The person probably brought a fake one and she didnt verify the authenticity. Her mistake was probably not going to NYSC office herself to get the original. I believe this can happen to anyone. I'm not excusing this,but I'm just saying it can happen to anyone.

1. Yep. It’s truly possible she didn’t know. Just gave someone money to sort it all out.
      But that in itself is wrong too. If she had gone through the normal process, this wouldn’t have happened.