Former Acting Managing Director of Niger Delta Development Commission, NDDC, Pastor Power Aginighan, died yesterday in a car crash alongside his son.
The auto crash occurred at the Bayelsa end of the East-West road.
One of his aides, Dan Sagey confirmed the incident Vanguard.
He said Aginighan died alongside his son, Tami, who was driving.
One of his aides, Dan Sagey confirmed the incident Vanguard.
He said Aginighan died alongside his son, Tami, who was driving.
from dailypost
May they rest in peace. When he was acting chairman of NDDC he could have used the allocations to repair the roads and hospitals.
ReplyDeleteOMG. You wake up to hear bad news on the blog.
ReplyDeleteI hope others in NDDC should do the needful and help in nation building
This is a real tragedy. RIPP
ReplyDeleteKarma, they gave them money for roads but they choose to pocket the money forgetting they won't be in position forever & they will pass the same road, indeed no peace for the wicked
ReplyDeleteMy Father died just after the Mbiama part of the East West Road. I was young and didn’t quite understand why the road was that bad. I was 14, the oldest, with lots of siblings. I am a lot older now but shocked to see that the conditions aren’t much different Thirty Five years later.
ReplyDeleteNigerians are very tough. We adapt to situations and have endured years of hardship. We have the financial capability to fix these roads. Why have our elected officials all turned a blind eye to very basic things??
NDDC has a high allocation. What do they do with all these monies?? Why do the people have to ply these roads under such conditions when we have a so called federal government in charge of these roads??
Even Johnathan as President, sat in power and never bothered to ensure that road was given a complete facelift. The East West road is a death trap. Same for Lagos Benin road.
I am at a loss here. What have we done wrong in this country? Well, may they rest on.
My Father died just after the Mbiama part of the East West Road. I was young and didn’t quite understand why the road was that bad. I was 14, the oldest, with lots of siblings. I am a lot older now but shocked to see that the conditions aren’t much different Thirty Five years later.
ReplyDeleteNigerians are very tough. We adapt to situations and have endured years of hardship. We have the financial capability to fix these roads. Why have our elected officials all turned a blind eye to very basic things??
NDDC has a high allocation. What do they do with all these monies?? Why do the people have to ply these roads under such conditions when we have a so called federal government in charge of these roads??
Even Johnathan as President, sat in power and never bothered to ensure that road was given a complete facelift. The East West road is a death trap. Same for Lagos Benin road.
I am at a loss here. What have we done wrong in this country? Well, may they rest on.
It's simple:time to pay back to ogboni!
ReplyDeleteThere is no high political post that is not occupied by cultist in Nigeria.
Shut up blabbermouth
DeleteI lost my mom on this same road with our family driver then, I was 10yrs when it happened.
ReplyDeleteAt 12yrs, I travelled to the United State of America with the rest of my family. We came back last year during the festive period, and were really shocked that the road is still like that. That we were shocked was an understatement.
My sisters and I decided never to visit again.
It's quite horrible.
Now look at this.
Nawa oo
ReplyDeleteReally saaaaaaad. Rip to dem.
ReplyDeleteThis is another great loss to humankind and the people of the Niger Delta region. Indeed, this ugly incident is an urgent reminder that much more needs to be done for safer roads and safety in Nigeria. As a member of an NGO working for focused engagement of youths in the Niger Delta region, l am deeply concerned over the many lives of youths that have been cut short by road traffic injuries. Candidly put, the sudden death of Pastor Power Aginighan Is clearly a signal that every Nigerian road user has become a potential road crash victim. It is therefore high time, we
called on the authorities to do the needful to avoid huge
preventable road deaths. That
Pastor Power Aginighan, a notable contributor to the development of Niger Delta for over two decades was killed by highly preventable road traffic injury is very unfortunate. May his soul rest in peace. My deep sympathy goes to his family, friends, associates, the entire good people of the Niger Delta region and millions of fellow Nigerian road users that face similar road dangers on daily basis in meeting their commuting needs. These needless road deaths must be stopped and the way to go is for our policy makers to prioritize safe road travel whilst the rest Nigerians should regard road safety as a collective responsibility that should not be left for the ill equipped, under staffed and insufficiently funded Federal Road Safety Corps.
The life saved tomorrow through enhanced and concerted effort on road safety can be that of any innocent road user in Nigeria.
Theresa Edwin Akpata,
Secretary General,
Committee for Advancement of Niger Delta Youths in Creative Engagements (CANDYCE).
candyce.nigerdelta@gmail.com