Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Federal Government Demands Fresh $2bn Tax From MTN

Tuesday, September 04, 2018

Federal Government Demands Fresh $2bn Tax From MTN

The Federal Government has ordered Africa’s leading mobile operator MTN to pay back taxes of $2 billion just days after the government ordered it to repatriate $8.13 billion, the company said on Tuesday.

MTN gave a brief statement to the market in which it confirmed that Nigeria’s attorney general gave “notice of an intention to recover the $2 billion (1.73 billion euros) from MTN Nigeria”. Based on the detailed review performed, MTN Nigeria believes it has fully settled all amounts owing under the taxes in question,” said the company.

Nigeria’s central bank said earlier that it had ordered South Africa-based MTN to refund $8.13 billion that it allegedly illegally repatriated and fined four banks involved in the transfer.

News of the unexpected tax bill sent MTN shares tumbling by as much as 7.5 percent to an almost 10-year low. It was also the latest challenge to hit MTN since it began operations in Nigeria 17 years ago.

24 comments:

1. Why are these xenophobic people taking a piece?

1. They are looking for monies to share for the erection.

2. haba the government should kuku tell MTN to pack and go.what is all these penalties for.

1. See how foolish your comment sounds! So you are among the lazy youth giving room to foreign corporations to clean us dry? Can MTN do what they do to us in South Africa or other non-African countries where they run their services? You didn’t read or follow up on the development but jump to typing senseless comment.

2. That’s part of what we are saying.because the govt is trying to do what is right you are here talking like they are frustrating MTN.First of,Nigeria is where MtN makes most of its money,like 70% of its money and they dare not try all the shit they do in Nigeria in South Africa or other African countries they operate.

3. If they pack and go they will be at the losing end.without Nigeria MTN is NOTHING

4. Pack and go, y’all are chanting, forgetting you have relatives who will be out of job directly or indirectly. Thereby increasing the number of unemployed. The so called government that is giving y’all impression that they are helping our matter, how many Nigerian companies floated by the government is still standing. How much of that billions will get to you directly or indirectly? How much of that money will be infused into the economy to maintain or build infrastructures. Keep clapping for them that they are doing the right thing. It’s just a matter of time, the scales will fall off your eyes. You are hailing and encouraging them to send away the people helping to keep your economy afloat meanwhile their kids are flying all over the world freelancing and living large. N’a you go suffer an because when the foreign companies leave, the so called govt will migrate with their families to better countries even to the so called SA you are frowning at 😏😏😒😒 please note, the government doesn’t have your interest at heart so wise up.

5. Good one, I no get strength tol type long epistle but that up there is the truth. Protest against the discrimination. What'sd name if that national carrier floated by govt. They should do an audit of why it failed, rubbish govt

6. Stop this MTN is south African. MTN is owned by aa Nigeria Dozie CEO of Diamond bank. This is franchise purchase deal. lol @ someone who wrote money for erection (election) una douuuhhhhhhhh

3. They will surely wind up with the way Nigeria government and Agencies are coming at them

4. You haven't seen anything yet. Why do you think China is rushing to Lagos? Why do you think foreign companies are sprinting down to Nigeria? They don't pay tax, don't abide by the law, can get away with all kinds of corporate crimes without anyone batting an eyelid. Nigeria I'm sorry for you. So what's FIRS doing if I may ask? Why does it exist? For Tunder Fowler to carry prostitutes?

5. We do not have to be sentimental about the issue.MTN has reaped off the country for too long.They should pay what is due to the country to it.What they are doing in Nigeria will not be allowed in other countries.Shame to standard chartered bank,stanbic Ibtc and diamond bank that held down Nigeria while MTN repeatedly raped our Nation
    They should pay up

6. The customers of MTN will bear the pain of this battle.

1. No they won’t. It will be a big opportunity to move to Nigerian telecommunication instead of foreign ones.

2. Eskizmi biko is it Globacom that your referencing, na die be that. The biggest telecommunications thief who doesn’t pay tax nor provide quality services busy fighting the foreign companies by using government agencies. Sebi na una de shout no network on Glo for 3days 😏 mschewwww. He will rip you off and still ask you to do your worse bc he is sorting out politicians...... oh yes. And oh, he doesn’t pay his staff well and can fire you for no reason..... ask his staff 😒😏

7. Let's see how This will end

8. It's like glo wants to chase mtn out using f. G like the way dangote chased other cement owners out

9. We buy bad solar battery contact me 081413951135 September 2018 at 08:30

Jesus Christ!!!!! They should be made to pay the money or leave the country period

10. Stella tounshould have approved my comment abi you are supporting Globacom and his inhumanity to Nigerians in the name of network provider. Please practice what you preach. Be truthful and standby it when required. Globacom is all shades of typical Nigerian business owner with the mentality of wants to be worshipped for ‘establishing’ a business and ‘creating’ employment. Please try and be honest and unbiased in your blogging.
    Good morning 🌞

11. Thank you... they should be made to pay or leave the country... they evade tax, and just some weeks ago they illegally repatriated huge amount of money back to their country. something they can try in their country. If they go,they can't carry their infrastructure with them, A local investor or another company will purchase it. They should go if they want to o. Dstv and shoprite should be next. you break the law, you pay for it. they are certain laws that guide intertrade.

12. MTN should pay. They are threatening to sack all contract staff after the picketing down by NLC.

13. FG Can I have ALL my outstanding salaries and allowances over the years??????!!!!!