Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Aso Rock Villa Driver Reportedly Attempts Suicide Over Poor Salary

Thursday, September 27, 2018

Aso Rock Villa Driver Reportedly Attempts Suicide Over Poor Salary

A 34-year-old driver at the State House Villa, Sunday Offre was found dangling from a tree and quickly rescued before he committed suicide...

Offre who hails from Cross River state is on Grade Level 3 with a monthly salary of N25,000. He joined the service of the State House in 2009.

Workers at the State House disclosed that the driver, who is a father of two, was found in a bush in Kubwa, a suburb of the Federal Capital Territory (FCT), dangling on a tree. The suicide attempt which happened penultimate Monday has become topic of discussion at the State House.

One of the workers said the driver was rescued when his wife saw the suicide note on the table when she returned home.

“It was the wife that saved the whole thing. When she saw the suicide note on the table, she raised alarm that attracted their neighbours,” he said.

He said the wife and their neighbours embarked on spirited search across their environs. "They saw him dangling on the tree in a bush in their neighborhood. When he was found, they thought he has passed on. It was while they were conveying him to the mortuary that he moved his hand.

It was gathered that the driver lamented poor remuneration in the suicide note. The driver was revived at the State House Clinic, as he was said to be unconscious for days.

Offre blamed devil for the suicide attempt. He said, "It is what I can’t explain honestly. They said I attempted suicide. I can’t explain how it happened but they said I tried to hang myself at the bush in Kubwa. I live in Kubwa.

Asked why he attempted suicide, he said it was the work of devil, “ I can’t really say what happened.”

On the suicide note, he said, “ they said I wrote it but I cannot remember. I can’t even remember the content of the suicide note.

“It is what I can’t just explain. The car issue has been addressed before this thing happened. But it is because of difficulties. I only depend on my salary which is about N25,000. Permanent Secretary visited me in the hospital and advised me not to try such a thing again,” he said.

Contacted, the Permanent Secretary of the State House, Mr. Jalal Arabi who confirmed the report said he visited the driver at the hospital. He said the driver regretted his action and he advised him not repeat such a thing again.

On the poor remuneration, he said there was nothing the state house could do, saying “it is a federal issue.”
From daily trust

*I hope he is not relieved of his Job....

17 comments:

1. He will not be sacked, I work there. Say only what you know and sure of.

2. Wicked people. When company drivers in my office are earning 80k and still over-time when they work weekends.

3. How many company drivers na? You guys should stop exaggerating sometimes. Besides, this man is in grade 3. How much does he want to earn? Bed and roses, private or corporate world is different from civil service. In every parts of the world, not just Nigeria. So stop this nonsense examples. In fact, many of these your so-called companies are the biggest exploiters of people. Cheap labour, much profit but less pay.

2. So much poverty in the midst of plenty.

God will judge the entire Nigerian Leadership PDP o APC o all join.

Heaven will judge you all

3. He's a level 3 staff. How much does he expect to be paid?

1. They need to change it. 25k that i use to buy food-stuff and groceries for my family each week.
      Civil service is just crap except you know your way.

2. A level 3 staff since 2009 till date..... has he not grown?doesn't he have responsibilities? this is just too much.The cost of living is high,family responsibilities, only to name just a few.
      He should acquire a skill or start up a small biz that will enable him support his family better and improve their standard of living.
      Nigeria is a country where shit happens and it is swept under the carpets.
      Abeg, no wait for the government to improve your life, make and take the effort to improve yourself.God is your strenght

4. The villa is not a money making venture. Na the amount him and all in his level(3) dey earn

1. You are a wicked and bitter soul. What of other benefits? He doesn't deserve any?

2. You know how we like to blame everyone or government for our problems. Grade level 3 expecting to make millions just because he drives in the State House. Plenty mechanics don build houses with their mechanic jobs. Even bricklayers. Let the man take another job.

3. Can you survive on that amount?. That is less than 100 dollars for a month's salary. Mindsets need to change. It is not enough. Sad for a country whose senators earn millions in dollars.

4. Anonymous 23:24, he is not expecting to earn a million but that salary N25,000 is too low for someone that has joined the service since 2009. Haba! things are expensive and the standard of living is high.He should at least be earning N45,000 to N50,000.

5. A lot of people commit suicide or are nursing thoughts of it not because of money or other trivial issues as they claimed, as much as it might look like the cause for them but it isn't true most times.
    A lot of people fill empty,there is this void that needs to be filled,but because they have not realised it,they always claim it is just one pressing need or the other.
    While some try to fill that void with love from loved ones,boyfriends,girlfriends,husband,children,vocations etc. But the truth is that it is never enough, again when that void suddenly becomes empty,maybe as a result of betrayal,death,heartbreak,failure,disappointment or any unforeseen circumstances. It creates room for depression,suicidal thoughts.

The reality of the whole issue of life,is Jesus Christ. That void should only be filled with the love that never fails or betrays. And only Jesus can give that kind of love.
    Unfornately,we keep Jesus behind and only remember Him when it is dark. We call those who understand that Jesus is the answer stupid,foolish,fanatics etc. We fail to see that they are the ones living the fulfilled life. Tell me! How do you survive crisis without Christ?
    The answer is what the society is seeing today, crime on the increase ,depression,suicide and all sorts of evil. And all because the void is there.
    The love of God has waxed cold in the hearts of mankind but trouble has increased for mankind. Evil know no young or old,everyone is suffering,sicknesses and disease abound and yet we have not realised our mistakes.

The solution is to return back to God,and rekindle the love for God in our hearts. Jesus is the answer,He condemns no one but loves all and always cares.

Sweet dreams to everyone.

6. It really is not enough money and he has been there almost ten years. Driving dignitaries daily and making measly $100 for the entire month. May God help Africa. Anybody who thinks he should be satisfied is crazy. I spend more than $100 monthly just eating out only.

7. And our senators earn in million dollars

8. Sadly no hope for him except minimum wage is,increased....level 3 means he has no qualifications above primary school...it’s fustrating being in the midst of people who earn well and flowing in money...sadly na your cross for being illiterate..