Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Actress Genevieve Nnaji Says She's A Proud Feminist

Sunday, September 09, 2018

Actress Genevieve Nnaji Says She's A Proud Feminist

Veteran Nollywood actress, Genevieve Nnaji, in a recent interview with Women and Hollywood at the 2018 Toronto International Film Festival on September 8  revealed she is a proud feminist who embraces her femininity.

The mother of one whose new movie “Lionheart” was screened  said......

W&H: Name your favorite woman-directed film and why.

She said, “Patty Jenkins’ “Wonder Woman.” It was powerful and strong, and at the same time, feminine and sexy.

I’m a proud feminist who embraces her femininity. I feel sometimes women are made to feel self-conscious and ashamed of their womanhood. Perhaps like “Wonder Woman,” we may wake up one day to discover that it is our superpower, and then we would be unstoppable.”

42 comments:

1. Instablog is on hire for this her statement you see comments like
      "This is what we call feminism, not some babes that will claim feminism and com to dm to beg for recharge cards" lol
      I don laugh tier,

Before u guyz say cos she is single that is why she is claiming feminism pls remember Chimamanda is married

2. Beauty with no brain. Acquiring material stuff without innesting in her future.

3. Anon 21:57 You are truly the one without brains cause if you had one you won't have made that statement

4. Who cares. Is she relevant in society - NO.

2. i thought they said this babe is married

1. And what has that to do with anything? The way some of u are stupid 3hhh...una go Mek devil sef go shake head everyday. See stupid question?

3. Every body is free to be whatever they wish, so long as it doesn't affect the next person. So over sabis should not pollute this post.

4. Akuko
    Do they really know the meaning of feminism?
    Most Naija babes think it is "anti-men and not getting married?"

1. It’s you who don’t know what it means. What makes you think that was what she meant by feminism? Did she say she’s anti-men and unmarried because she a feminist? That’s how you people break your legs by jumping into conclusions.

2. How virus come infect my comment like this; wetin I do?
      Make I no write again?

3. Just like a virus..... jumped in blindly and started attacking without cause. Can you kindly read anon’s comment again or you would also jump in to attack me for no reason? Nobody said that was what she meant by feminism. Your attack was unnecessary......... Just Saying

4. What ano 19:25 said is nothing but the truth, though not in Genevieve’s concept.

Most Africans, Nigerian women in particular think Feminism is all about anti-men and not getting married. In fact, they are yet to comprehend the whole scope of feminism.

Do whatever makes you sleep soundly at night.

🙋🙋🙋🙋🙋🙋🙋
      Newly Janded

5. The truth is, we all are feminist if we truly understand the concept of it.
    Personally i don't like labels, it restricts you and tends to put you in a box, just too many do's and don't that comes with a label.
    My underlying principle is respect!

6. Pls I want to ask in simple English what is feminism? Because all this fight about feminism I don't understand.

7. I read the interview and it was beautiful. Genevieve is a very intelligent woman, she answered all the questions perfectly well. I can't stop loving her. Queen G For Life.🙌🙌🙌🙌🙌 💖💖💖💖💖💖🍷🍾

1. What is perfectly well?? 🙄🙄🙄🙄🙄🙄🙄🙄

8. Let us do this. If u are a woman,look at the first man that u see. If u believe that u are less of a human to that man then u are not a feminist but if u feel u r an equal human to him then you are a feminist. That is what feminism is about. Equality

1. What if I feel he is less of a human than me?
      We need more labels na.
      This one nefa do.
      *sips tea

9. Who will not be proud to fight for the right of females?

Unfortunately some rogue females have taken it a little too extreme by making it seem like we dedicate our lives countering males or hating on them. It is not triggered by a heart break. It is simply demanding that the rights of the female/girl child be equal to that of a boy child.

If you are still confused about Feminism, Read about the Dagenham women’s strike in the 60’s.
    These women worked for Ford in the Uk, unfortunately they were not paid same salaries. It was that strike that triggered the EQUAL PAY ACT. You can cop the movie too... Made In Dagenham.. It will definitely make you understand better.

1. I understand female equality for pay. My feminism is in the family unit. Abeg help me check am. Me and hubby came home together after a long trip both tired and hungry but I had to cook from scratch while hubby sat down with feet up watching and chatting. Is this fair? Am thinking of divorcing him. Am a feminist who thinks equal rights at home too (with chores and cooking) likewise work place.

2. Anonymous 00:17, your husband ought to help you, or start unpacking or doing something else, not balancing and resting.But if you 've your own money you can buy food on your way home.
      Please talk to him about it.

3. I don't understand why u will want to divorce him over that little mistake. I understand u were tired and needed to rest just like him but he made u do the work alone. All u could have done was beg him to help u with some things. U could still talk to him about the way u feel. U could have bought food on Ur way home. Sirry my dear, that's the way our men are been raised.

4. Anonymous 00:17, u want to divorce ur man bcos he's not helping you with home chores? Pls make the divorce fast...other women are waiting to move in. This "superpower" women tin don dey burst una brain oooo...

5. Anon 00:17, i see no feminism in that matter, i only see a selfish man that cares not for his wife. If i didnt buy food on the way, i will sit by my wife and gist while she cooks or I will cook if it was noddles,cos thats the only thing i can cook well. Having said that i dont believe in Feminism though until the day men can call women to come help change their flat tyres.

6. 5:39 I change flat tires, oils, replace and reroute wiring etc.
      If you are living in Fragglerock Nigeria, this might seem very strange to you, but there are some women who are equal to the task. And yes, we are well aware that this intimidates men.
      Besides your penis what else do you have to offer?
      Since we can do every other thing on our own?

7. I don't understand Nigerian men. You say it is woman's work, but you don't mind the woman doing man's work by bringing money home. They actually go out of their way to look for working women, just so they can have money to continue cheating with small girls; they know the woman will fill the gap.

8. Anon 08:39. Congrats on your 2 mins of joy responding, i know you feel important now. But i dont see your husband calling you to drive 20 miles to come help change his tyres. Deny all you want, but there are still things expected mostly of a specific gender. Theres a reason some people has oestrogen while some has Testosterone. Theres a reason a man has more muscle mass, theres a reason a female pelvis looks different. So please next time you need to lift a fallen tree branch in spring do it yourself and dont call your neighbour cos he is a man.

10. That's the spirit Genny. Well done. Truth is, regardless of gender EVERY human being deserves DIGNITY, RESPECT, JUSTICE, EQUAL OPPORTUNITY for education, work/to earn a living AND a chance to meaningfully contribute to his/her community. QED@AllTribesMatter #IStandWithNnaji

11. I'm just amazed that everything about this woman is shrouded in secrecy.
    Who is the father of her daughter?
    Even the most enterprising journalist(who I still mega lazy hasn't managed to get an interview from him?
    Who is her daughter?
    This is how to control your narrative.
    Maximum respect.