Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: UK Based Nigerian Doc Wins Appeal To Keep Job After Being Blacklisted

Tuesday, August 14, 2018

UK Based Nigerian Doc Wins Appeal To Keep Job After Being Blacklisted

A Nigerian doctor has won her case to continue at her job after being suspended over the death of a little boy. 

Dr Hadiza Bawa-Garba, a doctor whose mistakes led to the death of a six-year-old boy has won her Court of Appeal challenge over the decision to strike her off. In 2015, Dr Hadiza Bawa-Garba, was found guilty of gross negligence manslaughter and given a two year suspended prison sentence over the death of Jack Adcock.

The little boy had Down’s syndrome and a heart condition, and she had marked him as ‘do not resuscitate’ after confusing him for another patient.

Jack, from Glen Parva, Leicestershire died at Leicester Royal Infirmary in 2011 after he developed sepsis. At her trial at Nottingham Crown Court, the sentencing judge said that neither Dr Bawa-Garba nor a nurse who was on duty at the time ‘gave Jack the priority which this very sick boy deserved’.

Dr Bawa-Garba was the senior junior doctor on the ward at the time, although The Medical Practitioners Tribunal Service (MPT) found that failures including a lack of senior consultant cover, IT problems and staff shortages leaving her covering two wards, had contributed to Jack’s death.

She had been suspended from the medical register for a year in June 2017, but the General Medical Council (GMC) appealed against the decision and claimed it was ‘not sufficient to protect the public’ and she was struck off completely in January 2018.

Today, Lord Chief Justice Lord Burnett, the Master of the Rolls Sir Terence Etherton and Lady Justice Rafferty allowed Dr Bawa-Garba’s appeal against that decision and said her name should be restored to the medical register forthwith and remitted the matter to the MPT for review of the suspension, which will remain in place in the meantime.

‘I’m very pleased with the outcome but I want to pay tribute and remember Jack Adcock, a wonderful little boy that started the story,’ she told BBC’s Panorama. ‘I want to let the parents know that I’m sorry for my role in what has happened to Jack.

Source:Metro UK

14 comments:

1. How did she win. She is lucky sha. If Na me be the parents I go dey para by now but I guess we are all human. Who will hire her now is the question she is now even black with hijab on top. Na wa

1. Did you read what was written at all?

2. It was absolutely not her fault,they were short-staffed and she was overwhelmed.

3. what do you mean did i read what was written? I read it clearly. 'she had marked him as ‘do not resuscitate’ after confusing him for another patient.' Meaning she mistook the patient for another and acted accordingly. that is a big mistake,but she is still human no doubt. The question of if he might have survived if resuscitated is another argument. After being suspended by the GMC, struck out put back on, and this negative publicity some trusts may want to hands off, not to mention the prejudice that already goes on in the NHS and for immigrants in general. How do my comments not apply?

4. Anonymous 09:43, the system is different from what you are used to. Everything has to be considered and mind you her fellow doctors came out to fight for her with one raising over £300000 for her legal fees. And yes she is going back to work with the NHS. The mistake did not start from her, it happened that she was on shift and everything got pushed on her to make her the scape goat.

5. Lol how do you know what I’m used to? A bit presumptuous to assume... obviously you have information separate from what Stella posted I commented based on the write up above.

6. Anon 14:44. Well, your ignorance is too compound hence your stupidity exposing another brand of your foolishness in the comment section. Your obvious halfway reading of what Stella posted above is denying you the benefit of knowing the present state of the woman’s victory at the court. And yes, with her blackness and hijab, she is retaining her job. It was not her fault the boy died. She was covering two wards at a time they were short staffed due to shift in addition to IT problem. And yes, the system is different from what you are used to going by your compound ignorance and ignorant comments above. You need some water to wash down your dirty sense of thought.

7. Anon 18.50. You are very very stupid. For me to break down a 4 line comment for you like this and you still don’t get it is seriously alarming.

My comments was very relevant to the post above. You are coming here to bring extra information and bombarding me with facts that do not apply to my earlier comments. You are eager to insult and talk rubbish so it is clear YOU need the cold water to chill. No one stated how many wards she covered or whether she was the cause of the boys death. Stella’s post was clear she was struck off by the GMC and the victory here is being put back on. it makes no mention of retaining her job. A concern about whether she will get another job in the U.K. is fair.

Please read and comprehend before responding as your comments do not apply.

2. Congrats Doc but next time be careful oh human life no get duplicate. Yesterday I watched 93 days and had nightmares all night. Doctors are human after all. I watched it with a paediatric surgeon and even the guy was so emotional. He kept talking about the trauma they go through daily especially when there's an outbreak of a deadly epidemic. Shout out to all of them. E no easy!

3. So many doctors are guilty of this her crime especially here in Nigeria, deadalife means nothing to them.

4. ThankGod for her, may the little boy rest in peace.

5. Thank God.Congrats Doctor. It's not easy working in BHS.