Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Saturday In House Gists - The Right Age To Marry!

Saturday, August 11, 2018

Saturday In House Gists - The Right Age To Marry!

Are you Married or Single?

What do you think is the right age to get Married?Should it be when one finds love or when Marriage comes knocking?Must it be when one gets to a particular age or what?

Do men and women get the same amount of pressure to Marry or is only women cos of the Biological clock Brouhaha?

Are you Under pressure to marry?Did you Marry under pressure?If you did,would you advice anyone to tow your line or wait?

Is there a certain age women get to that men no longer want to Marry them?I see Singles Mingles request where there are requests for women in their early to late 20's and i ask myself ''who will marry those in their 30's and 40's?

Why is it that in Nigeria,once a woman clocks 50 years old,she is written off but when a man is in his 70's he can get a 20 year old bride?

What is the right age to marry?

*Please contact me if you dropped this headline as a Suggestion for in house gists....

96 comments:

1. Very very interesting topic. Who will marry us nau?

2. First I am single not married yet but I think for a man 27years is ideal for marriage if the finance and resources is available. A wealthy man once told me that marrying early as a man is good as to withstand pressure that comes with marriage. At 47 your first child should be 20.

1. You are right Teejay,my husband was 29 and i was 22 when we got married,my first child is 14,by 17 by the special grace of God she should be in the university. Though marrying at a younger age has it own disadvantages.

2. Grandma at 45 is ok

3. This will be an emotional topic for me..as I'm above 50 and still single. Let me read comments..

4. Really @sky ? God will do it, don't worry

5. Amen Indiana! You are blessed!!

6. ๐Ÿ˜‚๐Ÿ˜‚๐Ÿ˜‚๐Ÿ˜‚๐Ÿ˜‚๐Ÿ˜‚๐Ÿ˜‚๐Ÿ˜‚๐Ÿ˜‚๐Ÿ˜‚
      Indiana are you New here?
      Sky plays too much.

3. Well as we have Aunty gwegwegwe we also has uncle Gwemz.

Then people should get married when they are ready but if you're above 38 and not yet "ready" just make due with whatever comes your way even if na one terrible old papa nkanka!.. Maka na akuna ga ebe akwa nwa na una nka

1. Chimooooo. You are so so so Stupidly and Pathetically Dumb, it's amazing how u tink and interact wit people outside this blog

2. Fan Emma pls desist from using derogatory words to describe the single ladies and guys. Its doesn't sound palatable .
      Marriage is good but nobody should be stigmatized for bn single

3. Amu and totoh minister, wetin you dey yarn?

4. Your mouth eeh. I think 38 is not too old to be looking for agadi Nwoke.

5. See this mumu called fan Emmanuel, for your mind it marriage you are in so oh. If I post something about you n that your ikpesu husband now, Stella will not post has she refused posting the last one.

6. I don't blame you fan Emmanuel, if you laugh us it would go right back at you, somehow.

7. What is wrong with agadi nwoke?choice for some people,many of u married to very young guys are not even happy,young guys that give u stds,hiv,high blood pressure

8. Oya correct her na... which word is appropriate?

9. Princess are you new to SDK? Na me coin the name?? Ha,abeg leave me alone ooo

10. Stella why do you like swallowing comment that is for fan Emmanuel why, allow me wash this girl right in this blog, allow me please, she will. Spit rubbish n you will post but never reply to her, nawa for you oh. Allow me tell the world about her I don't care whether she will decode me when I do.

4. The right time to marry is when you find someone you really love.

5. Marry when you find the right spouse for yourself, you know what's good for you, you're the one that will be in the marriage

1. some marriage stories especially Nigerian marriages has so many rules and regulations especially the chronicles in this blog
      is just discouraging me women of this country has always been practically brought up with the mindset of marrying a rich handsome guy with a car some are even aiming to met their dream man while in uni making stupid competition with their peers facing guys instead of books while boys are being brought up to be successful in life in order to be the head of a family but some men i just don't know no money nothing will still go and get married WHY when someone finds it difficult to even feed himself three square meals how he take care of his wife or children I remember one of my teachers saying he don't have a girlfriend because he has not taken care of himself completely how can he take care of someone else. There is no certain age in marriage expect when someone is under the age of eighteen or even twenty is too young and not mature enough for marriage. marriage is not just living with your spouse it is the union of two people and that why you should never rush into it there might be some people that are not destined to marry young some might not be destined to even have children there is no perfect marriage but as far as your happiness is more than your sorrows and you have peace of mind you can carry on

6. I want to get married before I hit 35. I'm 28 now. Never been in a serious relationship hence why I'm still a virgin. I hope to find a man that I love and that loves me.

7. The right age to marry is when you are psychologically,emotionally,FINANCIALY ready to be commited to a partner for life time. If you cannot look at yourself in the mirror and say that you are ready for the above mention please STAY SINGLE so that you don't become a recurrent living nightmare in any other persons life.

Marriage has no age limit,once you have a life partner and you both tick the boxes I mentioned up there you are Good to go

LEP๐Ÿ˜›

8. The million dollar question!!
    I am single & if i had my way, I'd rather not be married. The pressure from my family has been there since I was in my finals..Yoruba parents can frustrate ehn.. *rolls eyes*

I'm kinda scared of loosing my freedom & privacy. Now, I'm committed to waiting till Mr right comes along..I'm used to the talks of "you're not getting younger".

Having children earlier has lots of advantages...you get to set your priorities right but the fear of having children for someone who we aren't on same page is what is holding me back. I love kids, I really want some real soon....but not outta wedlock

1. you wrote this well dear. The pressure now is even much but thank God for my life.

9. Lady T/ am worth more than a thousand dollars11 August 2018 at 14:19

Heads or tail the female folk should not marry under 20. That is not to say some don't get it. But majority, don't get it when they marry below 20. In Nigeria.

This is my opinion.

10. My dream then was to marry before 25, I am a year away from achieving it.. .
    Nigeria atmosphere doesn't allow for early marriage for people like from humble homes.
    The Ideal age is when you are financially, emotionally, physically,spiritually,and sexually ready to marry.
    Some might be 25 and ideally ready, while some would be in their 40s but they aren't ready to.. .
    To cut the long story short..
    Any age is okay as far as you are capable

1. ๐Ÿ‘Œ๐Ÿ‘Œ๐Ÿ‘Œ

11. Hmmm grabs peanut and zobo
    reading and comenting from lecture hall
    for me 22-25 for women and 26-30 for men

12. There is an appointed time for everything
    Either 20 or 30,simply marry right
    When you find true love, marriage will come knocking
    The ultimate is to put God first

13. Will marry once my elder brother get married, as I'm still under 50

14. I'm 27 year old guy but married due to pressure from my igbo parents as the only son wey I be ๐Ÿ˜€๐Ÿ˜. Is all good though!!

15. 23-27 is the ripe age. 27-30 na prayer point and fasting age. Above 30, e done happen. The lady done sour be that. Why buy Tokunbo when you can buy chassis at the same time? Above 30 na to join church or feminism movement and take out all life frustrations and disappointment on men. All the real feminists like Chimamanda are married but the losers keep tagging along. Single @ 40?.Na God fit judge their matter, no be human. They deserve condolences

1. Please take 2 tablespoon of honey and a bottle of coke. Mtcheeew

2. I repeat feminism doesnt mean old unmarried and frustrated.

3. You are very silly.

4. Some truth though but not totally true,mid thirties will be luck cos it gets harder as a lady ages,well for me i got married at 34 and best decison ever,i did not have much suitors like i used to have when I was 28,29,30 but the most important thing is i married the best and happy.,marriage thing can be luck sometimes too,some married early and not happy.

16. To me once you are emotional, financial, physical mature enough you can get married from both side,I don't want to believe cos of preaurw I should marry when I am not ready.

17. Hmmm...this is gona be interesting.....

I need popcorn and cold fire(if u know u know)

Ⓜc pinky ๐Ÿ‘ฎ

18. ersonally, I think once a woman clocks 25, she is fut to get married. and for a man, 30 is fine.
    but my parents think it fine for us to stay with dem forever. my sister who is 30 wants to marry and they are complaining that where is she rushing to? can u imagine?

1. Your parent are not Nigerians I guess. ๐Ÿ˜‚๐Ÿ˜ƒ

19. 27 to 30 for men and 24 to 28 for ladies. . The pressure on me to settle down is hotting up at incredible pace and I am feeling the heat from friends and family,

1. Don't feel the heat biko. Take your time and marry right.

20. Am single, I don’t think there’s a right age for marriage. You should get married when your mentally, financially and psychologically fit to do so. Am 28 and not even mentally ready to Settle yet. Maybe I need to see a counsellor.

1. Awww same age, and I think I'm not ready mentally too. I have tried live-ins with two of my exs. I really did not like it at all. So I have been wondering how then can I live with a man forever. Except for my ex which was two years younger than I'm, I enjoyed my 3 years relationship with him, sad he thinks I'm too bossy and controlling so he is scared of marriage with me. And I'm not one to try and cajole guys into staying or committing. I just tell you to do whatever you think is best for you. He is d only guy I can say I have truly like/love. Always wanting to know the reason behind every sad look or long frown. I think I still want him in my life because after dating about two guys after him, I can say he is the kind of guy I could risk spending my life with. My last ex was a sex maniac from aks. Very nice guy, but I tend to be disgusted with his love for sex. I don't like sex one bit but I just want to cuddle and all. And this guy always mistake my cuddle for sex. So I was more than happy to go home after nysc away from him. And since then I have made a promise never to date any guy for now because 99% wants sex which I'm not willing to give anymore. It's been two years now. Well I would like to get married at 30/31. And pressure from FAM and friends is not in my dictionary because I will not allow anyone push me into any one chance marriage lai lai.

21. Can't find all I typed...jeez! Glo!

Just be sure you're fully prepared before you set out. Age is a minor factor, in my opinion.

22. Rubbish topic for jobless people! What is the right age to have sense and realize that people do things at their own pace. No developed country in the world would ever have this topic as part of their social discuss. Nigerians are super lame tbh. The same dense set of Nigerian primates that shout "marriage is not for everyone" are the same ones that discuss useless topics like this telling everybody they know to go get married. I have always wondered how somebody else's marriage makes the world a better place or just marriage itself. One can even argue that pressuring people to go to school, develop their talents,get a job are all geared towards making them non-liabilites and improving the society and world in general,but in Nigeria they pressure everybody to get married both illiterates and retards who do not have the mental capacity to function independently as adults and work with others. Absolutely ridiculous! You would hear adults say words like "I am waiting on God for a life partner." Like what???? Omg! I wonder if Nigerians choose to be ignorant.How can an adult who is not retarded actually bring up the discussion "what is the right age to get married?" How? Okay let me tell you; The Nigerian constitution puts the age of adulthood at 18 and above. This means from the age of 18 any citizen is free to do whatever they wish to improve their quality of life without parental consent or hinderance from others which would include activities or milestones like having a job, furthering their education,having a child, being part of a union, joining the military,emigrating etc. So based on what I have written the right age to get married is from 18 and above. It is only in Nigeria people must marry and have kids, thereby overcrowding the earth would more lame asses and retards like themselves. We are still battling malaria and children are still dying of malnutrition,unemployment rate is at its peak, fuel tankers are still collapsing, our government is a joke, child rapists and molesters abound and this is still a topic? Instead of us start a discuss about proper retirement schemes and pension plans, what to invest in, educational development et al. I opened this post thinking somebody would write an article debunking the "age of marriage" nonsense that goes on in our country but no! My mistake,I forgot I was dealing with Nigerians.

1. Omg I wish I could like your comment! I'm sick and tired! The country is in shambles. Nothing is working. Yet, people still feel the need to make marriage relevant. They breed tons of kids, then go around begging people for funds to raise them, or abandon them to their fate. Let's talk about gender inequality, the biggest issue in Nigeria. Women are still raising sons as Kings and daughters as slaves. A grave lack of awareness exists here, and even those who know, do not think it important enough to spread awareness. We worry over the stupidest of things, while we let serious issues drown us. Pathetic lot!

2. Sense will not kill you.

3. It is not compulsory you contribute or participate. If you don't like marriage, you may concentrate on other things. Life is not as hard as you're taking it.

4. I see auntie gwegz in the making or already one. Dey there dey console yourself. No go find better babalawo tie someone. Time waits for no one.

23. I am 28 years. Wanted to get married before I clock 26 ๐Ÿ˜€ .Well ,God's time is the best. The best thing is to marry right and not marry for marrying sake. I feel there is no particular age that is right to get married. It depends on the person. If you feel you are psychologically, mentally and physically prepared to get married ,then marry.

24. My husband was 34 and his parents were pushing him to marry. I was 31 when we met still waiting to meet the right man. We married because we love each other and God has blessed our union. I am saying, there is NO right age to marry. What matters is marrying the right partner who brings out the best in you. It sounds cliche but it is the truth!

25. I married at 24 and I regret it and will forever regret it. it's the worst mistake of my life. I'll preach to my children to be matured enough b4 getting married. like for my girls: btw 29-33 years, the boys 36-40yrs. by then they would have opened eyes and make a right choice. in short, if there's re incarnation, I'll rather just carry belle, and have two children a girl and a boy. shekena. for me o, marriage is the greatest mistake in my life. I'm in bondage.

1. Sorry u married the wrong person, that is why i took my time and married the best man late ,they said late but 34 was so ideal.

2. Sorry love but what are you still married if it's this bad?

3. Regretting your marriage does not have anything to do with age ma'am,don't say things that might affect your kids in the future,if your daughter finds the man of her dreams and stable enough@25 you'd dissuade her from marrying?
      I got married at 24(this was one of my wishes as a teenager and God heard me)and I have never regretted it,may happiness find u poster!!

4. Please if the kitchen is too hot, kindly leave. No need to regret, this life must be enjoyed with or without anybody. Create your own happiness, never rely on others to be happy.

5. Married at 23. Been married for 23 years.
      Kids are grown, husband and I are still young. Infact we don’t look our ages at all. Enjoying our lives and marriage. No regrets.
      The issue isn’t how young but who you married.

26. I dey single no rush rush in marriage.I know one day I go marry.but no b now because I wan balance up well before marriage incase of my future

27. I have been married for almost 20yrs and from experience I say the IDEAL age is 25 - 28yrs for ladies and 28-32yrs for guys. But the practical age is when you find someone who is right for you,compliments you, add value to your life and have the same vision with you.A lot of people don't know Marriage is the end product of a process and not a stage. The process involves Friendship, relationships,courtship,engagement and finally the marriage. The time frame for each stage depends on the individuals. And if you skip any of these stages then you will have a lot battle with during the marriage. So the IDEAL practical age is when you find the RIGHT partner,friend and lover.

1. @Queenjezebel ....Am a man o. Thanks and God bless you too.

28. There's no particular age to get married. Marry when you are ready all round.

I wanted to marry at age 22 but marriage didn't come then.

I'm so glad I married at the age I did because I married right.

29. Got married at age 34 best decision ever cos at the right time i got the best man.

30. No ideal age. When you meet the right one then you get married. Africans looking for ideal age.

31. The right time for ladies to get married is between 25 to 35, men 32 to 40..

32. I think from 25yrs a woman should start consedring marriage. That's d ideal age for marriage. Am a female and 28yrs currently under pressure to get married. Dey said all my cousins that are of my age r all married. That am being too selective, but I don't think I am. Can't just marry anything all in d name of marriage.

33. D right age to get married for a lady is 25yrs. While for men is 30yrs. Although am a female and 28yrs and still single.
    I am currently under pressure by my siblings to get married, they said my cousins that we are age mates are all married. And that am to selective. But i don't think am being selective, just doing d right thing. U don't expect me to marry any man.
    Stella men are not under pressure like d way we women are, cos they feel anytime they want they can get married. And a guy once told me that y men don't look d way of women above 35 is that them go Don too open eyes and dey won't easily bend for a man.

34. I would have loved to be married early but i was too dependent on my parents and that would have brought me issues in my marriage. Now,i can think for myself and I am independent which I believe will help me conduct my affairs better. So,there is no ideal age for marriage, if you are not ready, you are not ready.

35. Marriage should come when you're MATURE enough to handle it.... Spiritually, Mentally, Financially MATURE!!! Now, this maturity varies for people, some mature early while some don't ...... Marriage shouldn't be rushed into ,since it's forever, why are we rushing then?? ๐Ÿ˜‚๐Ÿ˜‚๐Ÿ˜‚๐Ÿ˜‚

36. One can marry anytime u feel u are ready for it.buh those that want have their biological kids without going through process of fertility clinic methods,females shld try and finish giving birth before the age of 35 yr,cos maternity morbidity and mortality increases with age(35),even chances of having abnormal child increases with that age.just be discrete,know the amount of kids u want to have and plan urself.thou there is nothing God can't do.

37. I think these days when you have the money you can marry at any age. I know of Seun who works with o**do as an Engineer and only got a man when she was 41. Still waiting to be Mrs thoug as the man is still married to his first sweetheart. men these days worship women who have their own. whether in their 30s or 40s.

1. Not all men if not all succesful girls would have been wifed

38. One can marry anytime u feel u are ready for it.buh those that want have their biological kids without going through process of fertility clinic methods,females shld try and finish giving birth before the age of 35 yr,cos maternity morbidity and mortality increases with age(35),even chances of having abnormal child increases with that age.just be discrete,know the amount of kids u want to have and plan urself.thou there is nothing God can't do.

39. If marriage didn't exist, when do you think you should marry?
    They say,'Change is the only constant thing in life'.Marriage is outdated.It's time to change that system and STOP putting pressure on human beings.If you want to marry, by all means do and make sure it is your choice of man/woman...and if you just want to have kids, your choice also. Afterall, 90% of most marriages in Nigeria today, both the wo/man didn't marry their first choice or love.
    unu enyezila mmadu nsogbu!

40. WHEN I SAW THIS POST TEARS ROLLED DOWN MY EYES,MARRIAGE WAS THE WORST MISTAKE I HAVE EVER MADE IN MY LIFE.STARTING FROM DATING MY FIRST BOYFRIEND GOT MARRIED TO ANOTHER LADY AFTER 2YEARS OF DATING HIM,AND I DID NOT KNOW TILL SFTER 8MONTHS.MY SECOND BOYFRIEND WAS NOT IN NIGERIA WE DATED FOR 3YEARS NOT KNOWING HE WAS MARRIED WITH 2KIDS.THEN THE PRESSURE COMES ON ME AFTER SCHOOL TO GET A HAD TO SETTLE FOR A MAN I DID NOT EVEN KNOW.GOD I SUFFERED DOMESTIC VOILENT FEW MONTHS TO THE RELATIONSHIP,GOT A BLACK EYE,BUT MY PARENTS SAID HE WOULD CHANGE.IN A MONTH HE CAN BEAT ME FOR LIKE 3TIMES.THIS IS ALL BEFORE THE MARRIAGE,JAN 2017 I LITERALLY STOOD MY GROUND THAT AMNO LONGER DOING,THIS GUY CAME TO MY HOUSE BEGGING WHEN I SAID AM NO LONGER INTERESTED MY MUM BEATS ME IN THE PRESENT OF THIOS GUY SAYIN I MUST DO,HMMMMMMMMMWE LATER GOT MARRIED THAT WAS WHEN THE BEATING STARTS IN FUULL I HAD TO RUN FOR MY LIFE.MARRIAGE HAS NO EXPIRING DATE ALL I HAVE LEARNT MY LESSONS,AM 28YRS NOW I KNOW THE RIGHT MAN WILL COME ONE DAY.NO RUSHING RUSHING KILLS

41. The best time to get married is when you find the best man/woman,marry when you are contented with your intended!!
    I got married @24,my family(dad especially) had a rough time cos they thought I was too young but I was TOTALLY ready,hubby was 29 and his parents were seriously pressing us both cos of his age,we dated for 4years but known each other for 10years,my in-laws was in so much hurry they barely waited till I finished NYSC..lol

42. Whรจn it is convenient for you.

43. Marriage is not for boys and girls.It is for mature minds.Unfortunately,age no longer determine maturity. so,permit me to say that,no matter how old you are,until you are ready to take responsibility for your actions you are not yet ripe for marriage .

44. I noticed something in some of these comments,many 28years old unmarried females,I pray for you all here that before this same time next year,you will all be in your husband's house,and married to the best man ever in Jesus name.

1. Amen! I receive it.I am 27 though, but I pray that I'd be married before my 28th birthday. In Jesus Name.

45. Well here’s my little story, I’m female. Got married at 25, separated by 26, divorced by 28. I don’t see my self settling down atleast before I’m 30/31. I’m however praying I find a good man soon. Based on my experience in marriage, there is no true or perfect age. Go in when you are mentally, physically and financially ready. I believe it’s not how soon but how well. For the men I would say as from 30 years up, make sure your finances are right and you have established yourself to a level that is good enough. For the women, I would say as from 27 up. I believe for women 27-33 is okay. I also want to empower my fellow women to establish themselves, life is not all about entering a mans house and bearing kids. Make sure u have ur own money and self worth in tact.

1. Na your problem. Make we fry bottle?

46. I dey find husband. I dey find husband. How come I dont meet all these single ladies. All the ones I meet are already taken. Where una dey hide?