Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Rules For Wearing Men's Suit...

Thursday, August 23, 2018

Rules For Wearing Men's Suit...

A suit is essential in every guy’s wardrobe. 

Double-button for business

Those looking to pull off a more professional look or those who want to show more professionalism at work are advised to opt for a double-button suit, preferably with notched lapels to maximize the formality of the suit.

Vests can add a touch of class

Wearing a vest has the power to transform what is essentially a fairly normal suit into something a bit special. It’s also a great way to stay warm and, works in both formal and casual settings.

Pocket squares should never match the tie

One of the key rules of suit wearing is to avoid choosing the same colour pocket square as your tie. Instead, your tie and pocket square should both be distinctive yet still complimenting each other for the optimum look.

Accessorise with modesty

Suit accessories such as cufflinks, tie bars and even wrist watches undoubtedly add something unique to your look. However, going too overboard can leave you looking like you are trying too hard to impress.

Match your belt with your shoes

Another simple, yet often unheeded rule of suits is that your belt should be the same colour as your shoes. A thin leather belt will always look smart and befitting no matter what kind of suit you have on.
by adeniyi ogunfowoke

*Didnt know about the pocket squares!!!

21 comments:

1. Dont wear a suit if you dont have at least 10k cash on you!

2. Most people do to match with their pocket squares and ties

3. Good to know. Noted @ pocket squares.

4. I didn't know pocket squares should not match with the tie. I think it can if not why do designers sell them together? Even high end ones?

5. I'm my DH's personal suit shopper.

6. I didn't know about the tie/pocket square stuff.

I also heard the last button on the suit should always be left undone.

7. The pocket square/tie different colors is ghetto. Who is this ibadan man advising people on oyibo attire?

8. We don't care anymore...she can remain 16forever

9. Those ones that people wear and trek allover the place with their shoe wey trekking bend like comma, follow? One in my office can stink! The sweat and the loonngggg trek eh! If those ones follow then me I hate suits!

1. Hahahaha hahaha,Anon 16:12,you are wicked,or those ones that their'suitcoat',can sew iro and buba For two people.

2. @anon16:12 your bad mouth na wa. Chai! I wan die with laff.

10. One of my greatest pet peeve is seeing a man in an obviously cheap suit. If you must buy a cheap suit, at least take it to a tailor to be fitted properly to your body. Marc Jacobs and Hugo Boss makes some of the best suits on the market, but you need mucho dollars. Nothing beats a skilled tailor and a custom made suit of good fabric.

1. Leave this your Hugo whatever. If you enter Aba and buy correct material and give to those Bad ass tailors there to sew it, my dear, u can never believe that the suit ain't designers. Those Aba tailors are wizards on machine.

2. You are very correct

11. person go just sitdown dey formulate rubbish! who said pocket squares shouldnt match the tie??? abeg e...