It is unclear what causes post partum but most women experience it as their bodies try to return to its non pregnant state...
Two famous women Beyonce and Serena Williams have opened up on having postpartum and this has somehow helped a lot of women realise that they are not alone and it can happen to anyone...
Women every where are discussing this now and some are just realising what they are going through same...
Postpartum varies......There is Post partum belly which i have and still trying to deal with,there is hair loss,bleeding,crying tantrums,depression,backpain....you name it.
I am calling on all who have had or going through postpartum to come out and lets discuss this...what are you going through and how are you dealing with it...
what did you go through and how did you deal with it....
I remember just waking up and cutting off all my lovely Blondie dreadlocks...
I remember attacking hubby when he was driving on the expressway and going into a fit,very angry.....it was a tough time for me.....
I would look at my baby and just start crying,didn't know what was happening to me and only just finding out i had post partum...Imagine!!
Wanna talk about yours?
Wednesday, August 08, 2018
115 comments:
I thank God I went through pregnancy with the situation I was and had my baby safely, and living well 19yrs thereafter. It is well.
ReplyDeleteI have not given birth before but I have sisters who have. One of my elder sister just put to bed last month outside the country and she is yet to come back to Naija so one day she was video chatting with my parents and the baby kept disturbing, she tried trying to make him calm down but no to no avail, at a point she started crying too and my parent being old didn’t understand why and where even shouting at her to get herself together and all but I somehow understood and took the phone from them before they made the situation even worse seeing that she is far away and no1 to pet or console her. Her hubby wasn’t in the same country with her too
DeletePost partum depression etc. is just abnormal. Somewhere along the line the woman breached the "code of faith". Let's prove it from the manual of life:
ReplyDeleteJOY IS THE ONLY EMOTION A WOMAN IS SUPPOSED TO EXPERIENCE POST PARTUM.
John 16:21 A woman giving birth to a child has pain because her time has come; but when her baby is born she forgets the anguish because of her joy that a child is born into the world.
God promised to RENEW WOMEN POST PARTUM BUT THERE IS A CONDITION; THE CODE OF FAITHFULNESS:
1 Timothy 2:15 15 But women[c] will be saved through childbearing—if they continue in faith, love and holiness with propriety.
This nullifies the "pain through childbearing" that we saw in Eden.
What do you believe?
i believe that this is an irresponsible thing to say. using the bible as a backup does not make it ok.
Deletemaybe it is the way you conveyed your opinion but still, it feels like you are blaming the sufferer
You well? In fact, you are suffering from Pre and Post Foolishness Syndrome!
DeleteGet out of here with this nonsense. This is how your bible and your pastors lead people to depression and suicide. You religious people are all schizophrenic and need mental evaluation. Is it not your same bible that says that slavery is ok or that if a woman has been raped she must marry the rapist or be killed if she doesn't shout? Only ignorant people believe in Religion. Most of the intellectuals, scientists and richest people are atheist while you religious bigots are suffering. I pity you. Heaven and hell doesn't exist. You should try to make your life on earth feel like heaven but I'm sure you are too daft to understand this simple concept.
DeleteHmmmmmm.... Thank you. Bible is indeed complete .
Delete@Anonymous 14:05
DeleteYou contradicted yourself; "heaven and hell doesn't exist . . . try and make your life on earth LIKE HEAVEN"
Don't you see that right inside of you, you know that heaven and hell is real and that you are on the wrong path . . .For God has set eternity in the hearts of humans.
Please that anonymous is not the cause of any problem you have at the moment, he/she only made an opinion.
Nna mehn,
Deletesome people day angry ooo . . . just a simple opinion?
Una need help fast before una drown for una bile.
Your post is extremely upsetting. I had a baby at 25 weeks and he spent 4 months in the NICU. Postpartum depression really hit me hard. I thought about taking my life so many times. I was in a bad place. Even the medication prescribed by the docs didn't help much. For you to quote bible verses spewing so much bullshit just irks me.
DeleteIgnoramus
DeleteAnon 14:37 you are clearly too daft to understand what I meant. Let me explain it to you. I don't believe in heaven and hell but I know how you people describe it to be, like a perfect place so what I meant is try to make the world the perfect place because there is no heaven and hell after death. Oh and for your information me not believing in god and expressing my opinion doesn't mean something is going on with me. I bet that my life is better than yours. I have everything I need, I'm healthy and surrounded by good people that care about me. I'm happy and free. I am about to get my degree and start working as a nurse. I'm young and intelligent. I'm grateful for my life. As for you I bet that you spend time crying to your fake god to make your life better instead of you working towards it. I pity you.
DeleteHonestly, you deserved to be flogged with 'pankere'. Like maybe 24 strokes just mayb you will receive sense, sanctimonious fool!!
DeleteLMAO 😁😀😁.@ one4all,na real pretty and post foolishness dey worry this anon
Delete🤦♀️
DeleteI mean deserve jare before I start adding ed to every word like somebody.
DeleteYou need a virtual slap.
DeleteIt wasn’t easy! Not always,I did so many unspeakable things,and to think mine lasted for almost 2 months,arrggghhh I look back and I’m like, u didn’t say all this,made everyone around me uncomfortable,always yelling and crying,with bp ooooo, and an annoying silly hubby! If not for my love for children,wld have regretted having that child, to think I always wish to sleep and never wake up to same faces in my house,esp my bastard horseband! I see myself as soo ugly ehnnn, My mum being a pastor and plenty prayers and her love/petting helps calm me down at some point ,and d nxt sec I’m at it again! God pls I don’t wanna experience this again, not anymore! Thank God I’m fine now,in our 3rd month now😆🙃,it’s not funny oooo,
DeleteAnonymous 13:13 don’t mind any of these haters instead of them to take manucfaturers preventive advise they are there spilling bile.
DeleteMy wife is a testimony of that 1 Timothy 2:15, thanks a mil for sharing the scripture
I gained belly fat , i lost 10kg and d fat disappeared.
ReplyDeleteMy hair also shed .i used shea butter to combat that one.
MOST belly fat is just laziness. You add weight all round and you want only your belly to go down?.
Just shed a few pounds and see your waist drop an inch.
Ps: i said MOST". Cos i know some people do have separation of d abdominal muscles.
For those that blame the pill, weight loss is not impossible. It just becomes harder.
how did you loose weight?
DeleteBreakfast by 11am .
DeleteAll your meals about your fist size.
Fill up with veggies and low carb fruits.
A little cardio here and there wont hurt too.
please, when you say veggies, do you mean salad and the likes? cos i am not a fan of such. what can i do to replace that? i will do the meal portioning and low carb fruits (pineapple, watermelon, apples etc abi?) i walk distances in the evening, that should suffice to abi? thanks
DeleteCardio are exercises that leave you sweating and your heart jumping. Try watermelon, cucumbers, spinach/ugu saute , apples.
DeleteMine is back pain ooo... and i cried stesdy for abt a year cos my baby didnt look anything like i expected... i and hubby are light skined but my baby is dark, I'm really hairy but my baby has funny hair... but she's gradually changing now and is looking pretty... my crying is also reducing cos my baby is picking up
ReplyDeleteYou are so vain. I pity your children. You don't deserve to have children with your mentality. If we look at you, you are not even beautiful and your husband is ugly yet you expect your child to be beautiful.
DeleteAre you kidding me. You are trying to say your baby was ugly and dark and you and your hubby are fair.
DeleteOr what do you mean by your baby didn't look like anything you expected and also have funny hair.
How old are you exactly. Kids bearing kids.
When there are some people that give birth to kids with disability. Yours was born healthy with no health issue you are complaining about her looks.
aww. stay strong, i experience back pain too, but it comes and goes. i also wish my baby has my curly and long hair but nope, nothing from me, not even fingernails.
DeleteIs being dark a sin...maybe u or ur husband bleached
DeleteFair genes are the strongest. You are crying cos you know that baby isn't for your husband. Two fair people cannot have a dark child.
DeleteFair genes arent always the strongest.
DeleteMelanin production genes doesnt follow a rigid rule.
This doesn't mean "miss silly strong" aint silly though.
O please the trumpet should sound already.
DeleteHahahahaha na lie. Trumpet go wait
DeleteLMAO 😁😀😁😀
DeleteLies anonymous donor . my parents are biracial and I’m darker than both of them the only thing Is I’ve got my dad’s eyes and my mom’s hair .
DeleteHow vain....I guess your baby didn’t have the ajebutter looks you were expecting...cure your low self esteem.
DeleteI don't exactly understand the write up. Postpartum is simply a term for after childbirth, so every woman who births a child goes throughout the postpartum phase, just as they go through the pregnancy phase.
ReplyDeleteSaying Beyonce and Serena had postpartum is ridiculous, off course they had babies so they will go through that phase. Maybe you should rephrase the write up and be specific about postpartum depression or emotions. Postpartum itself is a universal phase for every woman who births a child.
Tuck in your ignorance honey, it’s showing.
DeleteHahaha
DeleteHahahahahaha
Hahahahahahahaha
I don die. Anonymous@18:47 is wicked
Kai I'm crying right now!!!!!!
DeleteAnonymous 18:47, you are actually the ignorant one here, unknown is right, post partum simply means after birth, what unknown means is that Stella should have indicated post partum depression which is actually a condition some people go through after birth, don’t be too quick to judge even when you’re not sure.
DeleteStephy, then unknown should have just said that instead of that unnecessary epistle. I knew exactly what Stella meant despite her not stating “depression”. I knew she meant postpartum depression/issues/difficulties etc, not just depression- by the way. And I’m sure unknown knew that too but just decided to bore us with ignorance just to sound intelligent. Anon 18:47, you’re savage! 😂😂😂😂. ......... Just Saying
DeleteI had no serious issues, I was just normal and happy. Thank God.
ReplyDeleteSame here Anon. I didn't experience this post parturm depression. Thanks be to GOD
DeleteHi Stella, please note that "postpartum" simply refers the period after birth/delivery. Every woman who has delivered a child (irrespective of mode of delivery) has a postpartum period.
ReplyDeleteSo, postpartum is not a "condition" per se. Experiencing "postpartum brouhaha" is ok in this context but experiencing/having postpartum isn't.
I got totally confused too
DeleteI still suffer from neck pain as a result for the epidorial I had in my spine, it also hurts my hand from time to time, I have added the weight people thought I could never achieve in this life 😅 but I am so grateful and enjoying it all
Finally, someone else noticed that. I got confused after reading. I believe it show be something like "postpartum .......". Then it will be clear that another word needs to complete it.
DeletePPD is damn real,it us caused by stress during delivery and after.The after is caused by no helping hands and emotional stress caused by in laws who are so dramatic.
ReplyDeleteU experienced that in my first baby...my in laws really caused a lot of wahala BTW me and hubby.
During my second baby,my mother caused it cos she refused to come reason being that since my salary has been slashed and so no big money will not be possible anymore and Hubby's salary isn't so big.
When I went for baby's circumcision,a nurse asked my why baby's stomach is big and umblical cord smelling.. is ur mum not with u...chai I cried on my way home and felt like a failure.
awwww....sorry
DeleteI actually had all the help I needed with my first. And I still felt stressed internally.
DeleteWith my second, My Mom had to go home breifly and even though We were stressed with a toddler and a new born.... I didn't feel depressed or that evil sadness that you can’t shake off.
Wooow your life is sooo “purfect”
DeleteOf course online.
🤥🤥🤥
Believe lie lie Iphie at your own risk. @17:46
Delete😤😭
This umblical cord isn't touched in the US. They tell you from the hospital not to touch it. But in 9ja, people clean it
DeleteThis is mummy’s section.. all singles should sit back, relax and enjoy this section..
ReplyDeleteKeep shut...everyone is equal here
DeleteAll these gragra to be noticed on blog.
DeleteDon’t worry you’ll soon go into oblivion like the rest of them.
🤸🏻♀️🤸🏻♀️🤸🏻♀️🤸🏻♀️🤸🏻♀️
It’s like u r mad.. don’t start oo, I no get ur time
DeleteWow.. ..Lemme learn from the comments
ReplyDeleteHian olori talk let's hear from u too na
DeleteSealord bro.. ...you know me I am still looking up to God. I need to gather all informations.
DeleteOlorun ase Omo alalubarika aridunu Omo fun yin oo Amin
DeleteI like your disposition Olori Orente,may God grant your heart desires..add me on Whatsapp 08180276512..m female o
DeleteSealord, Amin loruko jesu
DeleteAmen anonymous 15:07
@Anonymous 15:07, I thought so too. She is just a happy positive person. I have been a total silent blog reader and have observed her comments. Her husband is so lucky to have her. May God answer your heart desires Olori faster than your expectations.
DeleteAwwww. ....Anonymous 17:30
DeleteNow you wanna make me cry...thanks so much and Amen to your prayers.😘😘
my own is crying, anytime I give birth to a new baby, cry go dey hungry me
ReplyDeleteThat was me when I had my First baby. Even if a fly no fly well I must cry. Everybody tire for me. Thankfully I had enough help.
DeleteLool @ cry go dey hungry you
DeleteThat's baby blues
Deleteno serious issues for me, i suppose. somedays, i look at my belly and wish it would be flat again, other days, i accept my big belly in all its glory. some days i am angry with my baby but then i quickly remind myself that she is a blessing and this baby phase will pass.
ReplyDeletepostpartum depression is real. if you suffer from it, seek help, talk to your doctor, mother, sdk, etc. and do not let anyone make you feel like you are an unfit mother. be strong
Buy a scale and tape rule.
DeleteDon't give up. Greatly reduce rice to two or one fist sizes .
Eliminate completely garri, yam , fried foods, soft drinks, bread.
Eat beans with little or no oil, okpa, boiled egg, boiled corn, cucumber, spinach, ugu, fruits.
You can do it.
thanks @anonymous donor. the funny thing is that when i was pregnant, the doctors were saying i was underweight. i weighed 50 - 55kg before pregnancy and 68kg during pregnancy. will need to shed off 10kg fast
DeleteThis comment has been removed by the author.
DeleteSo it is 68kg you weigh and you acting like you are fat. I weight 90kg!! I have started working out every day.
DeleteLol anon. Some people do take these things seriously. I weigh 65 and I'm on a diet. Have to shed at least 3/5kg more before i stop.
DeleteSomeone will see me on my cheat day and say "no matter what she eats she doesn't greet fat". Lmao
17:43 It depends on her height. If she's 6ft, I guess. 5ft at 68 kg is a sandwich na.
DeleteMe once I reach 65 kg in this lifetime eh,the kind of dancing and celebration, una go hear on this blog.
Infact I may even do giveaway.
Not every time somebody will be looking like pendant.
Lmaooo... looking like pendant 🤣🤣🤣
DeleteWhen I was pregnant I registered with baby centre and got to know every single thing I needed for the D day. Like making sure I ate a little before going to the hospital and emptying my bladder to fasten contraction. I never really read about postpartum depression.I didn't even think it would happen to me. I have never been the hyper active,sanguine type of person so it crept up on me unnoticed.
ReplyDeleteI gave birth and after we left the hospital I started feeling angry and generally unhappy. It felt like I was in an endless tunnel. Nothing made me happy. The feeling is unexplainable but I was being pulled into the abyss of sadness and dejectedness. I had a good support system. Everyone was at my beck and call. All I had to do was breastfeed baby but I felt burdened and sick.
It was when I opened up to my Doctor ai realised what I was going through. I hear my experience is nothing compared to some others that wish they were dead.
So just imagine what people that are really depressed and suicidal feel on the daily. Jeeezzz!
I fear postpartum depression more than Morning sickness and all the other things that come with pregnancy!
Darling, you women are strong and I envy women who have carried to term because tomorrow is my late sisters post-humous birthday and she died while 8months pregnant from a brain aneurysm/high blood pressure. The fact that some women deliver without seeing the walls of a hospital is a miracle.
DeleteThen women who have to go through it alone with no support system are truly strong from all I’ve read but I’m not sure I want to go through it o.
Not all heroes wear capes!
Women are strong.
Thank you so much Doppel.
DeleteMay your sister keep resting, such a horrible way to go.💔
Bringing a whole child into this world through Vaginal or Caesarian birth is one of the greatest miracle ever.
Women will not keep quiet anymore... We are speaking up about our experiences so others will be more prepared.
Those days you ask a woman what to expect in the delivery room and they tell you to go experience it yourself.
I like that we have started this conversation all around the world🙌
I was sleeping alone with baby in his room. I would deal with his crying and uneasiness alone cos truely MIL was not very helpful with this part and I didn't want to complain or keep hubby awake at night. I started having shortness of breath at 5 weeks. I would wake up at night gasping for air. I switched rooms thinking it was poor ventilation, but it still continued. One night i was rushed to the hospital and placed on oxygen before i could breathe well. Long and short, i was diagnosed of peripartum myopathy. What i experienced was a mild heart failure caused by pregnancy according to the cardiologist. I am undergoing treatment and pray I am fully healed soon. No more children for me. God has blessed me with a girl and a boy. Women, please listen to your bodies.
ReplyDeletePele dear,you are healed and strong by God's grace ,amen.
DeleteI don't want to even comment on this post because it will bring bad memories and make me sad.
Which kind mother in law wey go come person house wet Don born and e know go ready do anything
DeleteFU, dem plenty o! I can’t even start talking my own. It’s best to have your own mother or sis or close family member after giving birth instead of your mil. My work and responsibilities just tripled instead of reducing when she came. And you don’t want to complain or they’ll say you’re showing “true colors” and not a good wife, bla bla bla. I’ve heard some mils are very good and helpful tho. God bless all mothers and God bless all expectant and hopeful mothers to be. You shall receive your hearts desires IJN.
DeleteI experienced it wen I had my twins,I cried my eyes out for no reason. I was angry at everyone; hubby suffered choi
ReplyDeleteMine is hairloss and backpain.but seeing my little angel smiles made it all worth it.. It's just a stage
ReplyDeletePls I want to ask something on this issue of postpartum. Some women who hives birth to 6,7,8 children,I don't think they experience anything postpartum depression and most times they don't even have money or the support they need to cater for the children. Because if they feel any depression, I don't think they will keep giving birth.
ReplyDeleteI experienced it when I had my child 5yrs ago and uptill now I don't look forward to birthing another one, scared of a lot of things, we have money to cater for another child ooo but I just don't know why this fear overwhelm me like that.
Some of those women suffered it. No one to talk to, nobody to listen to them. That is why most turn into abusive mothers screaming and throwing objects at their older kids/toddlers.
DeleteI know a woman that killed herself after giving birth those days before I even started giving birth. I didnt understand it then.
Most of this depression comes from the so called pple we hv around to help. My MIL came with her wahala. Another thing is be easy with urself. U cant be eating like a tiger b4 baby nd expect the weight to fall out like that. Hv protein based meals during pregnancy and post. Also include carbs too oh, fruits nd veg. After my 3 months maternity leave when i got to the office every one was screaming hw did u do it, hw did u do it. If you added a healthy weight during pregnancy its very normal to shed them off gradually even without exercise in the first 8 weeks. Another thing fall on ur knees and pray. Dnt let the devil steal ur joy.
ReplyDeleteJust to clarify postpartum means after birth. So really every new mother will have post partum changes. Most post partum changes are expected as the body heals and return to normal. Others can have more major imact. To clarify Serena Williams had post partum haemorrhage: significant blood loss after birth. post partum depression is a serious medical condition that can have significant impact on the mothers health. This article is rather misleading
ReplyDeleteI have two kids....and after each one I cried for weeks for no reason...My mom walked into the room one day after I had my first, I was just crying and sobbing loudly and she was sooo scared, she asked if someone had died...It was when I was talking to my elder sis on the phone ,who is a doctor, that i realized it was post partum depression and she was really worried about me. For my second baby, after my baby kept me up all night, I called my parents very early about 6.30 crying as if i had a heart break, my parents were confused, my mom had to go to work and my dad was telling her to start coming to ph from lagos o. in fact they almost quarreled that early morning as my dad was scared.she started begging me that she had a very important meeting on monday and if she came that day being friday she would still have to go back sunday...i think a small part of me did not like my kids when they were just born, not that I did not want them but bcos my whole life had changed and I could not even have my time again to myself , I couldn't sleep well, and couldn't do stuff i used to do without baby crying and all...but now..they are my world and I love them to bits!!! Post partum depression is real, pls dont ignore it!
ReplyDeleteOne episode that scared me was the height of my baby’s Colic. I couldn't take a bath from morning till night cos she found succor in breast feeding. At a point i was just pacing and weeping.
DeleteEveryone tried to console me but I hated them because I felt they didn't understand me. Like I will be the one to stay awake when they doze off.
And since my daughter had Acid reflux... I couldn't express cos it got worst anytime she uses the feeding bottle. It was crazy
Iphie my daughter had the worst case of colic...like she wud cry from 11pm till 4am....only me wud be awake. ..I lost my front hair...even till after two kids. ...I called mom n told her my daughter wasn't allowing me enjoy motherhood !!!!lol
DeleteMy sister experienced it after she gave birth. Her own was get angry and crying. Spoke to her doctor about it and doctors response was if she would like to give them up for adoption. Americans are crazy!!! They had to bring in a counsellor for her.
ReplyDeleteGetting*
DeleteWhat
DeleteHad postpartum anxiety.mehn!....it's crazy.
ReplyDeletemy own was as a result of mother in law wahala.......... I felt like running away both not without my baby.
ReplyDeletePostpartum depression is real.when I had my first child I didnt notice it,I was full of joy.depression started creeping in after naming,he will sleep from morning till night,no cry,once it's 10pm he will start crying till 4am because he had serious collics and my mother in law will not attend to us because I refused to give him formulae.my ex hubby was in another state,i managed for 3weeks by the end of the third week I went for check up cause I was bleeding from my episiotiomy site(he weighed 4.2kg),I dare not bend my head,couldn't stand for long,it was as if my womb wants to fall out of my Vagina.The doctor asked me to rest more and gave me antibiotics because they can't restitch.i was depressed for 5months cause I couldn't do anything on my own cause the epi site dint heal until some part was scrapped off and another dose of antibiotics administered.my mother in law and exhubby thought I was pretending,a lot of stuffs happened that I hate to remember.The both of them dint understand what I was going through and that marriage collapsed just a year after giving birth but i bless God for my family.Each time I use the bathroom I still remember what my V passed through cause it will never be the same again.please to first time mothers always insist on the best person that can take care of you and your baby properly.......Tinu
ReplyDeleteWow. You went through a lot.
DeleteJesus...where was ur own mother??
DeleteBeing suffering from post partum depression for the past 5years! My second baby's birth was a traumatic experience that has changed me completely. Cant seem to get out of the depression and constant anger and rage
ReplyDeleteNeed to add it's been so bad my system automatically initiates an abortion/ miscarriage once any pregnancy is confirmed. In my sober moments I feel bad for my child because I know he wonders if I love him at all because no matter how hard I try I can't treat him same way I treat his older sibling. In my worst moments I wish I never had him
Delete♥️
DeletePlease see a counsellor. You shouldn't suffer like this.
DeletePlease.
I suspect 90% of PPD in Nigerian women is caused by a weak spouse and unreasonable in-laws. My in-laws expected me to cook for them after CS and refused to assist. Complained about any assistance that they had to render. Thank God for Karma. They are getting their reward in their matrimonial homes now.
ReplyDeleteVery good
DeleteI had the baby blues and post partum anxiety. I couldn’t sleep even if the baby was sleeping, and would cry at the drop of a hat. My in laws laughed at me crying and scolded my husband for allowing it, he in turn started shouting when I cry.
ReplyDeleteOne week after birth, I still had no help, they came and fully excepted me to cook. Let’s just say they were a big part of the problem and almost ruined my marriage. I was suicidal at some point when I had no help. But thank God I’m fine now.
I had PPD after my second daughter. My mum was ill and on admission in the hospital weeks after I put to bed and MIL kept taunting me that I had another girl instead of a boy. I poured my anger on my innocent 3 year old first daughter and shouted or beat her at the slightest provocation. Hubby was oblivious of what was happening until I told him I felt like committing suicide. That was when it dawned on him that I was going through PPD. He quickly sent for 2 of my elder sisters to come stat with me and warned his mum never to call me till he says it's okay to.
ReplyDeleteTill today I feel so bad each time I look at my daughter and remember how cruel I was to her when I had her younger sister.
Tell your mother in law that she is very stupid.
DeleteBloody illiterate from the dinosaur era.
So I this age,there are still homo sapiens that don't know that it's what the man 'provides' that determines the gender of the child???
And what's up with all these in laws coming to someone's home and crossing leg like Flinstones?
If they want to go on holiday, they don't know where embassy is?
These stories are so sad and upsetting and I can only pray that you all make it through.
From many of the comments here it seems most women were simply unprepared mentally especially for motherhood!
ReplyDeleteYou people should stop watching all those fantasy E!, Telemundo and Zee world, learn to focus more on the real world.
Make the right confessions over your life constantly.
Congrats to all mums
Yea, maybe a few weren't prepared but a lot were. Custom or tradition plays a role in this whole thing.
DeleteMother in law has to come first as opposed to the wife's mother in most cultures. One can send one's mother on errands but how do you do that with your mother in law or in-laws.
Mama I am hungry , please get me something to eat? Or mama please can you stay with baby tonight?
So it is not totally about being prepared,it is having the right people who can help you at that time not people who will judge you or think you are exaggerating your pain or say will you be first to give birth.
Hmmmm.....mine was after my 3rd child my sister in law that gave for omogho wasn't helpful at all, she doesn't sleep with us at night, and I do the cooking, she's so food selective, doesn't eat all the food, she's so difficult to please and I was doing everything to please her. On the process my BP became so high almost 220, I was put on bed rest at the hospital. Hubby was not in town, when I told him all that I was passing through, he got angry, and asked her to leave our house and someone came in place of her. Post partum is not easy to deal with
ReplyDelete*came*
DeletePPD is reàl,God bless u stella am currently pasting through one is not easy.