Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Plane Crash Survivor Kechi Okwuchi Says The Crash Was A Blessing In Disguise..

Sunday, August 05, 2018

Plane Crash Survivor Kechi Okwuchi Says The Crash Was A Blessing In Disguise..

THIRTEEN years ago on December 10,2005 a Sosoliso plane carrying more one hundred Nigerians, including students crash-landed at Port Harcourt International Airport,Killing 107 passengers. 
Fortunately, Kechi Okwuchi was one of the two survivors on board that day.

In a recent interview, the 2017 America’s Got Talent finalist who have had over 100 surgeries due to injuries and burns, opened up about the outcome of the crash and how it has affected her life.

Since surviving the plane crash, you have had a lot of surgeries, are there likely to be more?

The way things are right now, I am in a place where if there are more surgeries that would benefit me by improving any functions that I am having issues with, I am open to such. I have no problems with undergoing various surgeries but if I have to live my life this way, then I am ready.

In what specific ways did that accident change your life?

One important way that tragedy has changed my life is that it has afforded me the opportunity to meet many amazing people from around the world, which may never have happened if I wasn’t involved in the incident. I wouldn’t trade anything for this amazing people I have met over this period. The incident is more like a blessing in disguise.

Are there people who categorize you as being physically challenged even though you only have burn scars on you?

There are many people like that. When some people see me, they hardly believe that I’m without any sort of physical limitation. Personally, I am glad that the burns didn’t cause me a kind of disability. I didn’t break a bone or a finger. I am grateful to God for this. I was 16 when the incident happened, so the tragedy took the best part of my teenage years. I just jumped somehow from 16 to 20 years of age.

If you are given the chance to make one wish, what would that be?

My wish would be to be able to speak every language in this world.

It’s been several years since that tragedy, would you say you have fully recovered from the trauma?

I have been relieved from the trauma, but not completely over it. The incident is something I cannot forget. Every single day is a memory for me. As long as I am happy and doing well in life, I think I would get to that point. I usually ask myself “do I really want to forget it” because it is the memory of the incident that drives me on in life. Can you ever board a local flight in Nigeria again? Actually, I have flown on local flights on my two visits to Nigeria after the incident. I had no reason to fear or panic.

Are you considering marriage already?

Not at the moment and I am not actively searching also because marriage isn’t something one should hurry into. However, if I find someone interesting, I would be happy to get engaged and marry. I do not feel I am against time even though I am trying to catch up with a lot of things after the accident. But we can’t say what God has in plan for me.

Do you sometimes look at your childhood pictures, see how you used to look and feel bad about the way you are now?

I actually don’t get to look at my pictures before the accident, but when I come across them, I just smile and say “wow” to myself. I admire my slim figure in those pictures and not how my skin used to look.

Do you still remember how the sad incident happened?

I wasn’t conscious for the whole time but I remember that everything was normal when the plane took off and suddenly it went into turbulence. Even at that, nobody panicked because that was a normal thing on air. But when the turbulence persisted, panic set in. I remember sitting in my chair and thinking about what was happening at that moment. I couldn’t overcome the shock of experiencing what I used to see in movies. The last thing I remember was holding hands with my friend who sat beside me before everything went blank. It was a terrible experience but I thank God for sparing my life.
From Punch

*Some of those questions are just somehow...let her move on and stop dragging her back ...Haba!!!

31 comments:

1. She is such a positive minded and strong woman. It is well with you Kachi.

1. The person asking those wicked questions deserves a hot dirty slap.
      Beautiful kechi the Lord got you. God spares you life for a purpose, which to make you a blessings to many generation.

2. I will never forget that horrible day in 2005.

2. *Some of those questions are just somehow...let her move on and stop dragging her back ...Haba!!!

I thought so too.

1. I don't think so. She had and has no problems answering the questions if not she would have declined to answer. It is well.

2. At the beginning of the post it said interview but did not specify publication, I just assumed US since she is based there.

As I read daft question after daft soul cringe worthy question, I said this must be a Nigerian publication, infact I could have sworn with my life before I saw PUNCH.

Nigerian journalists, you need to wake up ehn? This is not the dinosaur.

Enough with these irritating, poorly researched, daft questions you people always give by rote. Is there some dank library of Nigerian Interview Questions filled with cobwebs, cockroaches and spiders that you people ALWAYS pick the same dumb questions from?
      Have you never heard of engaging questions? You don't know what it is?

For example: What's her favourite part of being a big sister, she's very very close to her younger sister. This gives readers a closer look at her personality,thoughts etc.

Her 5 fav books and songs, she is an accomplished writer and singer. So who are her muses?

This is someone who graduated summer cum laude, participated in one of the most rigorous competitions in the world, is engaged in philanthropy etc etc and you are asking if she is planning to marry and looks and previous pictures??? That is the much your 'brain' could gather to ask??? Looking for one tacky headline that you can sell your toilet papers? Thank God she gave you a life size L to eat like a burger.

3. 💖 💜 💛 💖 💜 💛 💖 💜 💛 💖 💜 💛 💖 💜 💛 💖 💜 💛 💖 💜 💛 💖 💜 💛 💖 💜 💛 💖 💜 💛 💖 💜 💛 💖 💜 💛 💖 💜 💛 💖 💜 💛 💖 💜 💛 💖 💜 💛 💖 💜 💛 💖 💜 💛 💖 💜 💛 💖 💜 💛 💖 💜

3. Way to go girl
    positive vibes only
    this lady is a true strong woman

4. Sometimes talking about sensitive issues like this heals a lot Stella.

1. Yes, it does sometimes.
      Such a strong lady. Its well with you Kachi.

5. Very silly questions. My friend had an accident and her face was scarred, I know what she's going through, sometimes I wonder where she gets the strength and courage to step out of the house. It's not easy at all, I pray that one day she'll get money to go abroad and get the surgery done cos Nigerian doctors are just using her for practical and wasting the little money her family has. Stella I'll send a mail about her.

1. Did she ask you to send mail about her? Amebo!! Drs here are using her meaning your brain tells you her looks have not improved one bit. You seem like a jealous friend who is happy about her friend's calamity.

6. Would neva forget dat day... I couldnt sleep for 1week...

7. Some questions were unnecessary.
    She is a strong lady.

8. Honey it isn’t a blessing, don’t let religion blind you, you just have to make the best out of the situation and stay positive! But pain and anguish aren’t blessing...

1. Don't be daft. It has nothing to do with religion and everything to do with the human journey and experience. Everything you encounter is preparing you for the next stage in your experience. Every hardship is making you ready for the next level. Life is a progressive journey and suffering is a teacher. It's all a matter of perpective and your outlook creates.if you like continue to live in ignorance and believe everything is meaningless

2. Anon13:01👏👏👏👏
      I just learn something new from your write up.

9. This babe is so strong, I admire her positivity alot

10. Replies
    1. What is the meaning of your comment?? Did you read the post?

11. @ Kerry okoye she wasn't talking from the stand point of religion. She feels blessed cos of the people she happened to have met cos of the accident which wouldn't have been possible if the accident never happened. It all worked together for her good.

12. I love her positive vibes... I wish her all the best life can offe

13. Can't forget that day in hurry. @Princess Tever

14. Kechi is a strong woman, God got your back dear

15. I am a survivor of gas explosion accident and I am still taking life one at a time

1. Stay strong hun. Maybe you can send your story to Stella to encourage others.