Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Labour Minister Dr. Chris Ngige Debunks Increment In Corps Members Alawee!

Thursday, August 23, 2018

Labour Minister Dr. Chris Ngige Debunks Increment In Corps Members Alawee!

Attention Corps members!!!

The Minister of Labour and Employment, Dr. Chris Ngige, speaking on the alleged pay rise for members of the National Youth Service Corps has debunked the story making the rounds that the monthly allowance of corps members had been increased to about N50,000.

He described the story as unfounded, adding that the Federal Government would not have increased the allowance of corps members without first coming out with a minimum wage for the Nigerian workers.

The minister explained that the corps members’ allowance was coterminous with the prevailing minimum wage.

Ngige said, “No recommendation has come to the Federal Executive Council on this. The NYSC pay is on the sliding scale; the same sliding scale with the national minimum wage except that there is a top up; what is called top up on the national minimum wage is to make for special transport allowance for members of the NYSC.

“That is why today, the national minimum wage is N18, 000, and the top up for NYSC members is about N1, 500 making it N19, 500. This is what the Federal Government pays each corps member.

“For now, there is no figure before us as an increment and as a matter of fact, the last Federal Executive Council had mandated the Minister of Youths and Sports to liaise with the Director General of the NYSC so that he can be brought on board for us to work as a team,“ Ngige stated.

From punch

17 comments:

1. Mtcheeeeeeeew
    I knew it's a lie

1. During my days it was 7k abi 7500 self mcheeeewwww 😏😏😏😏😏😏 immediately i finished they moved it to ☝️☝️☝️☝️☝️☝️

2. This man is a sad excuse for a minister for labour.
    He doesn't even know how much youth corpers earn. Abi has it changed from 19800?

3. N1500 as transport allowance😁😁...this country is a joke.

4. I said it...50k for corps members when the minimum wage is still 18k is not possible. Only if minimum wage for workers is at least 60k then it will work and we know that that is the last thing the wicked leaders we have will allow.

1. Thank you. Had the same thoughts. In fact I would have been disappointed if it was true and minimum wage was still left at N18,000. It doesn't make any sense to me

5. I knew this was a lie from the onset. I remembered when I was serving, the rumour kept flying that alawee has been increased, we still collected #19,800 till the last day.

6. Hahahaha the lies came from APC itself

7. I knew it will not be possible as well

8. will dey ever increase it? this rumour has been flying God since God knows when. nor be only 50k. before, I heard 36k but when I heard 50k I knew twas a big lie.

9. Please could anyone tell the man that started this APC lie

10. And some bike men has already increased transport fare for us.To go to the sectariat before was #70 now they will tell you #200 and if you start begging, they will tell you your allawee has been increased now.