When read about how this one was kidnapped, the other one disappeared etc. Then they end the message advising you to be very careful, my dear BVs you won't even know when you start being extremely careful.
Let me share my recent experiences.
One morning I didn't go to work and it was just me and one girl in the compound.
One elderly woman came into my compound knocked on my door and pleaded with me to let her use the toilet.
BVs I was stunned for a few seconds, then she held her bum and started pleading with me. I felt sorry for her really I did but so many thoughts were running through my mind
What if she is working with other people?
What if she brings out one white handkerchief and I slept off?
What if she collapses in my toilet?
So many what ifs? And remember I was the only one at home.
I had to beg her to understand that I can't let her in, but I also wouldn't let her go like that. So I offered her nylon bag and asked her to go behind our house to relieve herself.
She did and to my amazement when she was done she was grateful. I apologized for not letting her into the house and she said she understood.
Just last week here, I was at the market when a woman called me and asked me to help her take money from her purse.
Before I tell you my reaction let me explain her why she needed my help.
The woman was eating amala with her hands and she called a girl selling pure water. Because her both hands were soiled she needed someone to help her. I guess by know you know what my response was.
See if I was buying something from her maybe I would have helped but I was just passing by.
I simply told her madam no vex I no fit.
But later I thought about it and I told myself I was becoming insensitive. Seriously I used to be nice and sweet but the way the world is going now, the things we read and hear men its better to be safe than sorry.
So true my sister. Even me would tell her I no fit too
ReplyDeleteAs in eh! I cant even give to beggars without saying a word of prayer on my money... I now apply caution on everything I do with strangers oo, the world is no longer fun.
Delete@Cuties
Deleteso if you give beggars ya moni without praying wetin go yapun?
I am a super suspicious person and it’s not something that started today, my dad is highly suspicious so we were practically raised that way
DeleteDon’t open door for anyone
Don’t talk to anyone that asks for direction
Don’t collect food from anyone
Don’t sleep in the same room with male cousins
The list is endless, we used to complain back then but I am happy o, many times I see people on the road asking for lift and I just pass, I only give to those coming out of my estate, I cannot come and go and die
I travelled out of my station early this year, while there, I took a cab, the guy beside saw 500naira notes in my wallet when I opened it to pay the cab driver. He quickly fished out 1000naira note and asked me for change. Omo I turned him down by shaking my head. I no fit shout abeg.
DeleteNo amount of carefulness will save you if they want to scam you. Its only God that saves.
ReplyDeleteWisdom demands that you do your part and leave God with his
DeleteIt's the country we've found ourselves in. Things are bad here. What you can do on a good day and walk off with a smile now you start to second guess the helpless individual.
DeleteIt happens to me too. Anytime I ask for help in a different part of town and people ignore me, I'm not mad. I recall how sick and sad our society is
Deep sigh
ReplyDeleteSo she poo poo in the plastic bag? Yhooooo
DeleteWhat happened to the nylon then?
DeleteThe first one sounds funny. No eatery, bank or any public place she could use? So Iya ibeji, how did she dispose the nylon? ππππ. I understand you feae oh. Me sef dey fear.
ReplyDeletewe can never be too careful but we gat to try Cus Dis is Nigeria. I'm bagging a PhD in minding my business now
ReplyDeleteJehovah na echehu obodo,onye nche na eche na efu
ReplyDeleteParanoia mode activated by default. I can't say I blame you though. It's the auto-reaction to what our society has become. Just take a deep breath and exhale sometimes too. The girl you were alone with in the compound could slump too and you'd be asked to explain what happened. There is evil everywhere but we can only rely on God's protection. Akoba adaba, k'Olorun ma je a ri.
ReplyDeleteTerrible things are happening this days,one has to be very careful.
ReplyDeleteNice story and educative too
ReplyDeleteI can relate.
ReplyDeleteYesterday I was driving and someone ask if he could join me to(he mentioned the place)and it was my destination but I refused. I felt bad that i didnt help though but I was scared he might harm me and other things were running through my mind.
We have to be careful.
I use to help until de day my friend helped and on leaving his car they left with his laptop
DeleteAnon 14:26, same thing happened to my Dad, on his birthday last year, his laptop was taken, removed from the laptop bag sef and he didn't notice.... It was a gloomy birthday for him!! Did it stop him from carrying people ??No! I don tire to talk sef... My Dad can carry people for the whole of Africa !!
DeleteEven in church, when we close, na so people will full him Motor, Mr Free Rideππππ
This is Nigeria! One cannot be too careful. That said, please people of God, what happened to always ultra sanitary pads, those blue ones with protective wings for side leakages? I'm just resuming 'aunt flow'biz nine months after delivery;the last time I used it was January last year. The new one I bought when compared with what I used then is rubbish. Please sisters in the house, can you recommend better sanitary towels? Thank you.
ReplyDeleteNovicare sanitary towel is good for me. Pink is the color of d pack
DeleteAaaaah I can relate oh!
ReplyDeleteI was brought up to be helpful and kind to strangers, if you see an elderly people carrying load you can offer to help, etc but nne I don't even attempt it except if na someone I already know (neighbors or relations)
Being cautious is essential since the evil ones seems to be working overtime π
Nice post as always .
Last night boo came around the estate to pick mW up for a drink, as he was driving to the junction three people begged him to carry them and drop them at the junction, boo said nope and drove pass them, was even telling him to please stop and pick them but he refused. Saying what if they are bad people
ReplyDeleteThe days are evil.
ReplyDeleteLast month a 26year old followed her friend 30 that comes for sanitation duties in our resident to keep her company while she sweeps. A woman that is not allowed to come with her kids sef.
The security man let his guards down and slipped he allowed the 2 in.
An hour later after monitoring our housekeeper,she knocked on the kitchen window and told her the security man had fallen and was shaking, they can't carry him up. Then she quickly ran out to discover the man was only stretching on the floor mat because the weather was hot but wasted sometime.
Within the minutes, that crook had hit the stairs, made for the children's wardrobe and stuffed over 8 clothes in her large stretch trousers. Tied some shoes in a bag and tied to her back. She pulled her blouse over them.
Then she failed to accomplish when she quickly made for the fence and threw the bag over the street and it landed onto the screen of an oncoming car.
You know the rest.
Please apart feom spraying you with the white stuff from their inner jeans pocket or handkerchief. They are devising other means. Some roll.away your kiddies' motorbikes or toys if no one is watching.
Currently, our Security man eye dney chook. Nobody enters, if you like be coming straight out of an international carrier from the airport. You go wait outside with your baggage till order is passed on to him.
*Be Guided*