Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: How Lola Brought Charm From Ijebu To Nnewi -A Must Read!

Thursday, August 09, 2018

How Lola Brought Charm From Ijebu To Nnewi -A Must Read!

When Emeka broke the news to his parents that he planned to marry a Yoruba lady, they told him that he was a joker.

That would never happen, they said flatly. Was there a scarcity of nubile damsels in Nnewi and its environs or in Anambra State and the entire Igboland that their son would travel across many rivers and many states to marry a Yoruba girl from Ijebu-Ode? Or, had the girl bewitched Emeka with “otumokpo” from Ijebu-Ode? She would not succeed, they concluded. Never!

Weeks after that, nothing was heard about the issue again. They assumed that the case had been closed. Emeka had come to his senses, they concluded. But had he?

Two months later, like a bad dream, Emeka brought up the issue of this Ijebu girl again! This time, his tone was firm. Despite the threats of the parents, he was not cowed. He was resolute to the point of obstinacy. Even the tears of his mother did not move him. His parents concluded their son was indeed under a spell.

When it became obvious, after many months of dialogue, pressure, threats, pleas, tears and quarrels that Emeka was hell-bent on marrying Lola, his parents grudgingly gave their consent, but the father warned that nobody should run to him if the marriage went awry. The father also refused to accompany him to Ijebu-Ode for the marriage rites, saying that as an elder, it was a taboo for him to travel far away from home. It did not matter that a few months before the marriage rites, he had travelled through Ijebu-Ode on his way to Lagos.

Not only his parents were against the marriage: Out of Emeka’s three brothers and two sisters, only his younger sister was on his side. But Emeka overlooked all that and went ahead with the marriage.

When Lola came into the family, it was obvious that she was not welcomed. She was just being tolerated. Matters were not helped by the fact that Emeka had recently relocated his architecture business from Lagos to Nnewi, to take advantage of the burgeoning building industry in the town. And even though he had built his own house, it was within the same compound where his parents lived. It was a large compound: All the four sons had their portions of land within the compound, even though two of them were not based at home.

Another handicap Lola had was language: Igbo was the language of the family, but Lola spoke only English and Yoruba. So, Lola began forcing herself to speak Igbo. Any time she uttered an Igbo word or sentence, people would laugh. But her determination and sense of humour impressed everyone. She also did something that nobody around her did: she curtsied or knelt down when greeting elders, especially her husband’s parents, no matter how hard they protested against such acts. That act and her accent marked her out as a Yoruba, which made people treat her like an egg and call her “Iyawo.”

Most mornings, Lola would go early to the quarters of her husband’s parents, greet them, tidy up their rooms and collect their clothes for washing. She would ensure that Papa and Mama had their meals. She asked her mother in-law to teach her how to cook all local meals. Mama was eager to teach her, and she learnt fast. Any time Papa or Mama complained of backache, rheumatism or fever, Lola ensured that they got medical treatment. Most evenings, she would spend some time with them, either alone or in the company of her husband, before retiring to bed. Her brother in-law’s wife sneered that she was shamelessly trying to buy love with her boot-licking tactics. But Lola was not bothered about that.

Less than a year after Lola came into the family, the music changed. Emeka’s parents, especially the father, never completed a sentence without mentioning “Iyawo.” He would tell anyone who cared to listen, including the wives of his other three sons, that if it was not for Iyawo, he would have long died.

Today, Lola speaks Igbo, or rather Nnewi, like a daughter of the soil. As far as Emeka’s parents are concerned, “Iyawo” can do no wrong. Even when Emeka complains about her before his parents, they will not let him finish before warning him never to do anything that will hurt that “peace-loving girl.”

Unknown to everyone, before Lola left her parents’ home, she fortified herself for any eventuality, having known that her husband’s family were not happy about the marriage. Her parents had also done all they could to dissuade her from marrying an Igbo man, but their words fell on her like water on the back of a duck. So she knew she had a major battle to face in her new home. Failure was not an option, for if the marriage failed or proved unhappy, her parents would give her the I-told-you treatment. Consequently, before leaving for Nnewi, she boiled herself in a pot of charm. Then, she etched the charm on her face, tongue and heart. The power in the charm was meant to automatically make anyone around her to like her. Anyone she smiled at or talked to was meant to be charmed by her.

What is the name of that charm and how much does it cost? The name of the charm is simple: Genuine love for others. It costs nothing to buy. No medicine-man is needed to prepare or administer it. It has no overdose. Everyone can prepare it. Everyone can administer it: At home, in the office, on the street, in the market. Its result on people is magical. Nobody can resist its effect, including “wicked mothers in-law” and “impossible bosses.” Fortunately, it is available in all parts of the world: In Ijebu-Ode or Nnewi, Zaria or Ikot-Ekpene, New York or Kabul.

Brides and brides-to-be must realise that even though in-laws may seem difficult to deal with, they are human beings with flesh and blood. Parents – especially mothers – want to cling to their sons as long as possible. Parents are naturally suspicious and even envious of “an outsider” – who did not participate in bearing, nurturing and raising of their child – coming to take that child away. To them, the wife is a stranger who may have a selfish agenda to destroy the peace, unity and love existing in that family.

It is the duty of the wife not to breeze into the family with an antagonistic stance. Rather, she should reassure her in-laws – through her words and actions – that she has not come to “take away” their son and brother or to destabilise the family, but that she has come in – like a new baby born into the family – to increase the family’s love, peace, unity and happiness.

Everybody wants to be loved, appreciated and respected. When love is shown (over a period of time) to even untamed animals like the bear, leopard, chimpanzee, hyena, etc, they respond with friendliness. Human beings have the capacity to even respond better than animals when shown love.

The rule in all human relations is that you get what you give. If you smile a lot at people, you receive smiles. If you are cold to people, you receive coldness and more. If you love to help others, you receive help and love. Therefore, those who go about demanding and expecting love, care, and respect from others may get disappointed, but those who first give love, care, and respect to others usually receive them manyfold. Showing genuine love to others is a potent charm that works like magic#

copied 

53 comments:

1. Story, how many times did she call them 'omo Igbo ose' you did not include that one.

2. Story so full of lessons and interesting enough that you posted twice!

3. Not bad but me I cannot coman kill myself. Will just do my best and hope it's enough.

I'm an easily likable person and that's been working for me so far, I hope it continues like this cos the last thing I want in marriage is beef with the in-laws

1. You say??? Easy waaaaaattt! Funke!!!

2. Judge sparkling9 August 2018 at 15:02

Have you met her before? If not keep the funke.I'm also very warm and likeable.not liking her on the blog doesn't mean if you see her one on one you won't.

3. Easily likeable?
      Why not show that part of you on SDK blog?

4. Lmao!😂😂😂 She said she’s easily likeable. Wetin person no go hear again o?

5. You are not likeable at all actually.

But you are ofcourse allowed your delusions.

6. Eka bitters. Funkeeeeeeeeeeeee

7. 😂😂😂😂😂😂😂😂😂 ekaaaaa like fire

4. Nice one,I enjoyed reading it

5. This one na novel

6. Beautiful story

7. Stella you copied once and pasted twice oo. Lol

8. Why is the story posted twice? That's why it seems long. Nice write up though.

9. The last paragraph said it all.👍👌
    Meanwhile, u copied and pasted d story twice making it look too long to read.

10. I enjoyed reading this though some in-laws no matter how hard you try to please them, they will still see you as an outside that wants to stop all the good things they were getting from their son before he wife you.
    I commend those that are married to people from different tribe and still makes it work.

11. I was nice toy then mother in law and her children but she wasn't satisfied, she wants to be in charge of her son's home
    Long story short u left after she instigated her son against me calling me a gold digger and a prostitute. I was maltreated and I endured but I had to leave when I realized he wasn't gonna stop. He came back begging but it was a no no for me. Am happily single and I believe God is working on my case.

12. I'm Yoruba, married to Ibo...and i must say I've got the BEST INLAWS in the world!!!

Zinara

1. Thats because you were well raised yourself. But dont get carried away, use your head. And this applies to everyone irrespective of the tribe.

I once told my mom the same thing , and thats what she said. She also said always leave allowance for the day things may go wrong between you. This is so that you will not be caught off guard, human will always be humans.

Good luck!

2. Zinara IGBO not ibo.

3. I am with you on this one Zonara. I am Ijaw and married to Igbo. My hubby and in-laws are simply the best.

13. Ok Nicee and they live happily..

14. This only applies to in laws that are very exposed and well traveled. For those ones that have remained in their village all their lives, their mentality is still that you want to steal their son away. They will never truly accept you from their heart cos you are like an outsider. They only tolerate you only if their son is not backing down. You even see that they love other daughters-in-law that are from their tribe more than you. You try all you can to be close to them but the hatred will not allow them see your good side. Even you see it in their attitude to your child. Really I will never advise anyone to marry into a family that you don't understand their language cos I feel that is a big barrier especially when it comes to communication. I have been there and I try to manage and pretend like I'm ok but it still breaks my heart that they are extending the hatred to my child. I believe good people and bad people are everywhere and its not a matter of tribe. People of the same tribe can have bad marriages likewise different tribe. It all depends on the individual and family.

1. But the in-laws narrated in this story are based in their village nnewi and they are not exposed or widely travelled..Family hatred and beef for their son's wife has nothing to do with expsure.

15. I love this piece, people should be allowed to make choices about their life partners regardless of where they are from. True love doesn't care about race, religion, tribe, ethnicity, etc.

16. This is an interesting piece but it doesn't always work this way. There are some people that no matter how good you are to them it just won't change the way they behave towards you

1. Exactly you just said my thought for single fact that am not from their tribe gave them the whole right in the world to treat me as a stranger even though I tried to be nice to both mum in-law and the whole family

17. I am Yoruba, married to an Ishan. My in-laws are the best anyone can ask for. I believe that when you see them as parents and siblings, then you treat and respect them as family, and you earn their love and respect in return.

Nothing like inlaw in my dictionary. I treat everyone equal. The same way I can be stubborn to my mum is how I can also be stubborn to hubby’s mum. Last last, I am just their baby girl who has grown into a woman. 😁

1. I am also Yoruba Married to a non Yoruba and it was never an issue for me.
      I didn't just grow up that way seeing tribe. Even my elder sisters are married to calabar and Anambra men respectively.
      But then we married into well exposed families. My brother in-laws don't even live in the country.
      Abroad we are all Nigerians. We cares of your tribe.
      Many have lost out on good men cos of tribe issue. Na nna know o.

18. Always pressure on the woman to be this and that. Men can do no wrong. This una Africa that is why it is backwards

19. This is so true, my mum loves my sister-in -love just so much that my big sister gets jealous, lol.

Yes, she loves my mum in return.Her mum is late, so my mum is the only mum she has left.

Most women are already planning on how to show their mum in law pepper before they enter, continue.

My mum scolds her sometimes,and yet she didn't shout and say "over familiarity has entered" why?, because her own parent can do the same too. So Why take it personal before it's he mum in law?.

In such situation sometimes she would squeeze face like witch and frown, lol, but my mum was never bothered, why, because sometimes too we are children frown and act stubborn, so she understands, why take it south because she is her daughter in law?. Still they are each other gossip partners and love each other.

The key here is seeing the other not as your in laws but the same way you see your mum and your own daughter.

1. Very true.
      We all have disagreements even with our own mothers.
      I personally believe in showing in-laws love and it's working for me.

2. If you frown when my own mother inlaw is talking to you, she will call a family meeting for you. Yet, I see her take the same thing from her children. That singular act just tells me that she is not my mother. Abeg, I don't want to talk about inlaw issue here.

20. This is a great lesson to learn from.

21. This story sounds like Iya lucy's mother. Very humble and patient lady.

22. Nice one Lola. Mean while the main Lola during her wedding still carry stone face for her in laws because they no accept her. No dey fight in law fight. If you are good they will surely welcome you with open hands.

23. genuine love, very important but very scarce

24. I love this your story , nice piece
    So much to learn , Thanks for sharing

25. So genuine love is cleaning, scrubbing basically turning herself to a house-girl so she can be accepted.

I remember how Jacob worked for many years just to marry Rachel, times have changed.

The moral of the story is, brides should work themselves to be accepted by in-laws..noted. One of the reasons for postpartum depression, pleasing everyone and forgetting you are a new mother, you need rest and food.

Why can't the parents of the groom be a bringer of peace and love? Onus is always placed on the woman

1. But when you do that at your parents house is not called being a house help abi?, it is called being a good daughter.

I am going to my mum's house for a short stay just to spend time with her,and I know I will not only cook, clean, wash, iron, i will also go to the market, and wash her cars too.

Yes I am a woman and I wash My parent's cars even before I got married.

But I guess it's fine as long as it's my mum not my mum in law.

Biko, swerve, make I see road.

I treat my mum like an egg, i pamper and spoil her and I also do same for my mum-in-law, no bid deal.

I remember she called me aside before marriage and said the same way you treat me is the same way I expect you to treat your husband's mum.

My husband sees the way i treat his mum and he also treats my mum so well and we are all happy.

26. Same thing my brother inlaw said in my presence when I was jisting with him and my sister ,why can't women love their inlaws d same way the love their own ? Olufunmi Oni