Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Five Hacks For Looking Fashionable On A Budget

Thursday, August 09, 2018

Five Hacks For Looking Fashionable On A Budget

You do not need to break the bank all in the name of looking good. This is because you can still spend less and still appear fashionable. The important thing here is how you wear what you have. 

Get easy to pair clothes

The first tip to building your wardrobe is to make sure you have enough basics to serve a variety of different outfits. This means looking for clothes that are neutral, free of complicated patterns and easy to pair with other clothes. These include plain t-shirts with simple necklines in multiple colours, a pair of form-fitting blue jeans in your favourite cut, simple ballet flat shoes, a decent jacket or blazer in a dark colour and a pair of black pants.

Sell or swap with friends

Rather than giving away unwanted clothes or throwing them away, see if your friends are interested – then ask if there’s anything in their wardrobe they don’t want anymore. Swapping clothes with your friends can give new life to unloved pieces and help everyone pick out new pieces to freshen up their wardrobe.

Look for sales and clearance items

The best way to keep budgets low is to get your clothes from online clearance sales. Many fantastic pieces end up in these stores due to inability to move product, or sometimes because a store simply needs to make space for new goods, meaning you’ll find great pieces at low prices in these stores.

Browse thrift stores

Along with looking for sales and clearances, your clothes can also come from thrift stores. These places hold a unique mix of clothes donated by those who lost interest in them for a variety of reasons. Perfectly good clothing will end up here for outrageously low prices.

Get creative with combinations

The best way to keep your outfits fresh is to swap out small pieces or parts. This is why you want staples, and why you should build up a generous collection of accessories such as cardigans, scarves, belts and jewellery that can add flair and a sense of change to your outfits.
By Adeniyi Ogunfowoke

35 comments:

1. Thrift stores for corporate dresses.

2. Apart from the swaps, not into that, this is really good advice

1. Yes, before your clothes get taken to babalawo, lol.

3. Tell me this writer is writing from the States! This article is so old, please, write "copied"

If you have clothes you no longer need, give them out.

4. Apart from the swaps, not into that, this is really good advice

5. This is american write up! Where do they ever do meaningful clearance sale? Who buys cloths from friends? You want insults and gossip??
    Where is thrift stores in Nigeria??? Abi na okirika you mean??? Please let’s stop all this oyibo copy and paste articles.
    Anyways here is my own list; Naija version;
    1. Keep what you have clean and ironed.
    2. Make sure you buy only what fits you, your body type, even if you have few let it fit well.
    3. All black attires look expensive and if you’re outside throw in a sun shade...as long as it’s black and fits it looks rich.
    4.make friends with the okorika bendown select seller so they will call you when they want to open bail, go early and select clean good stuff then invest in a cheap dry cleaner for the first wash or wash and iron them yourself.
    5.Famz rich well dressed aunties and cousins, they will dash you stuff, greet them, show respect, run errands for them and generally kiss ass if you can.
    6. Don’t buy too much okirika, you will end up having plenty cloths and no cloths
    7. Always donate the ones you don’t wear to charity and younger ones, clearing out wardrobe opens up space for new items and givers never lack.
    Okay I’ll come back with more.
    Stella we can write better than these copy and paste craps you post sometimes, let me know I can send you good original contents that apply to Nigeria to make this blog better.

1. LitπŸ‘Œ except for nos 5.

2. I dropped similar comment although shorter, but it entered Stella pot of stew.

How can someone copied a very old article that doesn't even relate to Nigeria and Nigerians; and decided to post it on SDK blog.

3. πŸ‘πŸ‘πŸ‘πŸ‘πŸ‘

4. πŸ‘πŸ‘πŸ‘πŸ‘πŸ‘πŸ‘πŸ‘πŸ‘πŸ‘πŸ‘πŸ‘

5. The Nigeria Oracle has spoken.This is a five star advice for Nigeria. Thanks so much...

6. Nice one but the poster up there also made good points some of us actually live in the states.

Razorsharp

6. can't remember the last time I bought cloth for myself Sha, it's always the kids. it is well jare

7. Thanks but no be only sell or swap with friends. Will never be interested in that biko.

8. To add; Cut and sew is in trend now. Look for a soji customer that always travel to aba to bring materials, go to select and look for a correct cheap tailor in ya area that will always give u d style of ya choice.

1. πŸ‘πŸ‘πŸ‘πŸ‘πŸ‘πŸ‘πŸ‘

9. For those of us with elder sis, na raiding things, now if I visit her, she will go lock her closet first before asking me what I will eat..hehehehee

10. Swap with your sisters not friends abeg to avoid story that touch.

1. I can't even swap clothes with my sister's. We all wear different sizes.

11. Swap clothes with friends for Nigerian abi Abroad?...Nicee write-up..

12. Nice writeup but everything can't be emulated

13. Buy clothes for your shape, not just your size.

14. I have this terrible habit and I know I need help,from my pant to bra clothes shoes I buy OK ..I see buying of new clothes as waste of money,if you see me in karmo market you will think I buy to sell.Funny thing is people do complement my dressing,I no dey hide mouth shaa.if you see shoes I buy 500naira you won't believe it...This Akube spirit must leave me mbok..

1. πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚

2. πŸ˜‚πŸ€£πŸ˜‚πŸ€£πŸ˜‚πŸ€£πŸ˜‚πŸ€£πŸ˜‚
      You are so funny honestly.
      Well I don't think that it is a very 'bad'spiritπŸ˜‚πŸ€£πŸ˜‚

15. Haha reminds me of when my bunkmate at uni borrowed my trouser. I found out she has eczema the day after and never collected the trouser again. After that na excuse I dey give o.

1. Your ignorance is as high as the Eiffel Tower. Google ‘Eczema’