The Federal Government, on Monday, claimed it spent the sum of $1 million to evacuate Nigerians who were stranded in Russia.
Minister of Foreign Affairs, Geoffrey Onyeama, who made the disclosure in Abuja, said another batch of 200 Nigerians were airlifted to the country on Sunday, including 17 Ghanaians.
The amount, Onyeama said, covered both the first batch of 155 Nigerians that were earlier airlifted and the second batch that were returned home on Sunday.
He said by airlifting the 17 Ghanaians, Nigeria had again brought to the fore, its Big Brother role on the continent of Africa.
Onyeama further said the amount was a lot of money at a time when the nation was unable to afford it, calling on Nigerians to travel to countries in a regular and legal manner.
Onyeama said: “A week ago, we learnt that there was another huge number of Nigerians stranded and Russian authorities were going to take very strong measures and yet again, Mr President directed that another plane should be made available to go and bring them back. And they were 200 of them that were brought back yesterday (Sunday) at a cost of $1 million to the country.
from dailypost
*The amount is bogus abeg!!!
THIEF!
ReplyDeleteIn capital letters oh!
Delete200people for $1m when they didnt fly 1st class?
DeleteThe country is finished!
That is $5000.00 per person.
DeleteWhereas a tenth of that amount is enough to charter an aircraft
to bring all in one swoop to Nigeria.
honestly, the Nigerian government in Nigeria is a disgrace and all sick in their heads! what does this even mean? why do they take the masses as fools, so degrading to ones intelligence reading news like this.
DeleteOutrageous and lies from old men who ought to be honest and sincere. In Nigeria, every avenue is an opportunity to loot the treasury.
ReplyDeleteMadam Stella, I don't think it is oh! Sometimes, one way tickets are more expensive than return, so if you factor that, it might not be that bad after all. Average ticket to Russia is 3,500 dolls ( depending on the city of departure)
ReplyDeleteStan, that is a lie! An average of $1000 is the right thing to say.
DeleteStan...also, ECONOMIES OF SCALE. If they chartered a whole plane it woud have been cheaper right? Maybe 200k dollars. Maybe. Times 2...400k. How 1m take be? Ah. Oga o.
DeleteBroad daylight stealing
ReplyDeleteThe lies have started. They have finished stealing money. Which mumu 1 million dollars. I am very sure these countries brought them back for free.
ReplyDeleteOK. We hear
ReplyDeleteGold planes ?
ReplyDeleteAnon 19:10. Pls do your research before coming on here to display your ignorance. It is way more than a thousand dolls!
ReplyDeleteI support u us very possible
DeleteSDK
$5K per person ain't bad
My own questionsn now is, HAVE THEY PROVIDED JOBS FOR THEM??
ReplyDeleteThe one that's paining me inside is those 17 Ghanaians that they carried as well ,wetin concern us with Ghana wey hate us like mad...π π π
ReplyDeletePerson una send message no go chop? Logistics, feeding, lodging, miscellaneous, olosho, etc. $1m is too small