A British hospital nurse who used 'voodoo' magic to traffic Nigerian HO's into Europe was jailed for 14 years on Wednesday.
Josephine Iyamu, formerly of south London, used a witch doctor to convince her victims they were under her control and exploited them to fund a lavish lifestyle including jaunts to Europe and £700 designer shoes.
The 51-year-old was a ringleader of an international human trafficking crime network and lived in a huge mansion in Nigeria complete with a servants quarters.
Iyamu would make the vulnerable women undergo 'Juju' ceremonies which would involve them drinking blood containing worms and eating the heart of a chicken.
Iyamu was handed a 14-year jail sentence at Birmingham Crown Court on Wednesday, in the first case of its kind in the UK. Iyamu is the first British national prosecuted for Modern Slavery Act offences after trafficking victims outside the UK.
From Daily mail
Josephine Iyamu, formerly of south London, used a witch doctor to convince her victims they were under her control and exploited them to fund a lavish lifestyle including jaunts to Europe and £700 designer shoes.
The 51-year-old was a ringleader of an international human trafficking crime network and lived in a huge mansion in Nigeria complete with a servants quarters.
Iyamu would make the vulnerable women undergo 'Juju' ceremonies which would involve them drinking blood containing worms and eating the heart of a chicken.
Iyamu was handed a 14-year jail sentence at Birmingham Crown Court on Wednesday, in the first case of its kind in the UK. Iyamu is the first British national prosecuted for Modern Slavery Act offences after trafficking victims outside the UK.
From Daily mail
*WOW 14 years is a long long time to be locked in....What a pity.......She might not stay up to the 14 yrs but the most important thing is that those planning to tow her line or already in it and hiding will know that the law will get them and jail them....Maybe they should also start jailing these trafficked victims who knowingly do this and run to the Police once they reach their destination because they do not want to refund monies used on them....
Let the punishment be two way so that it can stop totally.
Cookie did 17years lol
ReplyDeleteSo she will be fine
14years is just around the corner .
The 14yrs is actually 7yrs or less
DeleteBlood with worms??
ReplyDeleteI'd rather stay in Naija as a small girl with a big God
Oh Lolo.... Issa a small girl with a big God! Lol.
DeleteCome to think of it, those set of ladies make it fast.
You will know how they make it fast,is that not the same way you got to europe before you found the white man that married you.
DeleteAnonymous 11:52, your life must be so boring and fill with bile!
DeleteYou know, we can actually become friends, so that I can share some love with you and drive out all the bile in you.
God loves you babe....πππππ
Serves her right
ReplyDeleteYour so right Stella -both ways-they knew what they were getting into- so why cry wolf ,once they got there.
ReplyDeleteAbeg let me continue with my begging, its well better.
ReplyDelete@Princess Tever
Better stop begging of all shades..think!think!think! Engage your brain on getting ideas to execute, so you can build a system that works and pays you even till old age. Abi you wan beg till old age ni???
DeleteWill ladies hear, some are still looking for these type of women to better their lives with obodo living.
ReplyDeleteShame on her. Imagine what ladies go through drinking blood with worms inside. GOD FORBID BAD THINGS
14 years is not even enough.
ReplyDeleteServes her right...
ReplyDeleteIt's a pity, be giving us bad name everywhere they go. It's well
ReplyDeleteThey should have given her a life sentence, then 14years imprisonment to her victims. I hope all her assets are confiscated; and British citizenship stripped off her.
ReplyDeleteThe curse their oba laid on them is actually working.
Things human beings do in darkness because of money is so so appalling.
How can a qualified nurse in the UK be doing this abominable act?! It’s not that she’s jobless oooh.
I’m so pained and ashamed of her.
Rot in jail woman!!!!!!
Newly Janded
You could say that again but those ones go into it with the intention of making money and they knew what it entails so they should be jailed too,useless girls looking for easy money with all the sales girls jobs in town,non of them are ready to work sshiorr
DeleteThat's good for her. But seriously some ladies willingly gives in to such act. Well it should be a lesson to others.
ReplyDeleteTo imagine that she was contesting under the APC platform to help women.
ReplyDeleteI so agree with Stella... The punishment should be on both sides
ReplyDeleteIt's just to keep telling our young girls that it's not easy in Europe.
ReplyDeleteI lived in Prato, Italy for years, with the help of my family before returning recently to Nigeria. There are basic amenities but making money isn't easy with the steps these girls are taking.
It would be nice if you can get to Europe, especially Italy, study their language, get a certification for you skill the apply to Centro Per l'imiego.
If you can get a job, that is the jackpot. Or you can apply to take care of elders and babies.
Make sure you get a driver's license, especially for the men. You can drive trucks as well.
When a white man offered to give me a job then, the first thing he asked was, "che lai patente?". That is, "you have a license?.
Living in Europe isn't easy, let us be careful.
Many of our Nigerian economic immigrants are too greedy! They don't want to do legal Jobs, most of them want quick money; forgetting the people of the land has to work and wait until month end before they are paid.
DeleteYou see them making jest of people that labour day and night legally to make earns meet.
They don't like learning the language, but they are quick to call the people racist especially when they can't get through with just basic questions/conversation.
Evil woman! The wicked must not go unpunished.
ReplyDeleteThere was one here that was sentenced to 21years in 2009, I heard she was released this year. The government also took over her three kids back then, her useless husband ran back to Nigeria.
They keep using young girls to enrich themselves. There's a place in hell for them all.
Some pastors indulged in this pimp business too.
This woman lives across the road from my house,easy going woman so she is capable of such act,she lives in a council flat,doing things on a low key and living lavishly outside Nigeria they said,that her house they showed on BBC is not a mansion,just a regular duplex,maybe she just started the prostitution business and has not make money from it.
ReplyDeleteThe police need to be jailing them all even the sex workers being used and their madam cos these girls are aware of what they are travelling out to do,they only cry wolf once they get abroad so they can be freed by police.
ReplyDeleteDrinking blood containing worms and Eating the heart of a chicken Jezzz this woman must be very wicked..i better fly puff-puff begin sell for hold-up...
ReplyDeleteYou see living evil on her face. To think this monster was giving care to ppl. To have those cursed hands touch you only God can save you when that negative energy come around you.