Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Timaya And His Record Label Signee King Perryy Cover The Latest Issue Of Vibe.ng Magazine

Wednesday, July 25, 2018

Timaya And His Record Label Signee King Perryy Cover The Latest Issue Of Vibe.ng Magazine

Vibe.ng met with the Eberi-Papa 1 of Bayelsa state Timaya and his protégé King Perryy in his palatial residence in Lagos for a one-on-one chat with the magazine.

Timaya needs no introduction as he has dominated the Nigerian music scene since the break out single “Dem Mamma” from his True Story album which was released in 2007 ruled the airwaves. He has released 4 more albums since his debut album, won many awards, and collaborated with virtually all the big names in the industry in the years since the release of his first album.

Timaya recently signed upcoming reggae-dancehall musician, King Perryy, to his DM record label and also featured on a verse in his new signing’s new single “Man on Duty”. Both Timaya and King Perryy sat down with us to discuss their emergence on the music scene, present work, and plans for the future.
Timaya, also shared with Vibe how he started his own record label early. He said, he wanted a record label to sign him and none was forthcoming so he realized he didn’t have to wait for people to work things out for him; “if I can do it myself, I can employ myself, own my sh*t and run it"- these were his words.

Talking with Vibe, Timaya noted that he had no plan B when he started his music career. He said that music is his first love and that’s the only thing he could do, he also noted that when he started music, money wasn’t his aim; all he wanted was to be happy doing what he loved.

Papichulo as he often referred to confirmed the rumours of him selling plantain, he also discussed with Vibe about his favourite artist, fatherhood and music-the ups and downs of being a parent and musician. He said fatherhood is his life and he loves his kids and supports his kids. He also noted that he concerned about what makes them happy. When asked if he would allow his kid to go into music if she chooses to- he answered saying that even if she decides she wants to be a stripper he would allow her as long as she is happy and it is her life. He added that his job is to tell her what is good and bad and the rest is up to her.

Vibe also sat with King Perryy, an artist signed under Timaya’s record label-DM records. Perryy talked about his single “man on duty”, his music career and how he has evolved and remained consistent with his music. He also told Vibe why he admired Timaya’s artistry and consistency.

Find the full story and interview, snazzy pictures of the duo, and other juicy stories and articles in our July/August feature, “Men on Duty,” on http://www.vibe.ng/timaya-and-king-perryy-are-the-men-on-duty/

7 comments:

1. Sorry to say... Timaya looks arrogant to me, don't like him.

1. who u de tell sorry?

2. Know him personally before you jump into conclusion; He's really a nice guy.

3. how does that affect the price of fish? gerarahia

2. after all the rag on your head and open chest.... make your music no sweet 1st, you'd see what i'd do to you. Putting yeye swag b4 you hammer.

3. Thank God he didn't wear bathrobe for the shoot.

4. Is that a wine glass? 🤔