Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Slay Lounge -Budget Friendly Foundation

Sunday, July 01, 2018

Slay Lounge -Budget Friendly Foundation

Today we are all about Budget Friendly Foundations.

Apparently there is a flood of beauty products in the markets. High end, low end, drug store.

The quest for a good foundation can be a tad overwhelming.

This list is drawn up using the following variables as guide

Price
Quality
Availability

I used to spend a lot of money on expensive foundations until I discovered a few drugstore brands that gives me almost the same results.

Topface Ideal Skintone foundation (InStyle)

The topface product line is too litty!!!! Their mascaras, loose powders, primers, setting powders deserve a standalone post od their own. This foundation is highly pigmented. Covers EVERY blemish, matte, lasts all day. And you know my fav part? The Price! It sells for 3000 naira! For 30ml. It can last you a whole month even if you apply everyday. I know right? If you prime properly and set well, this product would not streak. I wear it from 6am-7pm with no issues. This foundation will cover your sins. It will cover your haters. Hahahahaha. ( I kid, I kid)

L’Oreal True Match Foundation

If you have used this foundation, then you can understand why I am blowing trumpet for it. This foundation is light weight, longlasting and full coverage. It applies like skin so if you are not a fan of thick foundation this is your go to product. If you are a newbie in makeup this foundation is also recommended for you as it blends really easily and a little goes a long way. You can easily get 9 hours of wear from this foundation. It sells for between 3,500-3,700. Depending on where you buy from. Do want great finish? Set it with L’oreal true match compact powder. Chai! You will look for me and thank me.

Classic True Color Matifying Liquid Foundation.

Yes, Gasp! Shock! You read me right. I mentioned Classic. This is the mother of all cheapskates. This foundation is for you if You wanna slay on a budget

You love your foundation thick

This foundation will cover ANY blemish. But you have to really understand this product to get the best out of it. There are two types. There is the non matte mineral type. Please run way from that one. If you want to use classic foundation, go for the one I mentioned. It is also very thick so blending it takes a little patience but the result is well worth it.

Are you really really broke but you really really wanna slay? Then buy this product for 1,500-2,000. Coat it with Jose face loose powder sold for 500 naira. Come and pay your dues to me. No one will believe you when you tell them.

Maybelline Fit Me Poreless Mattifying Foundation

This foundation is great. However its not full coverage. So if you want a medium coverage but quality foundation. This is for you. I will not advise it if you like your foundation thick. For full coverage, you have to apply 2 or more layers. But if you want that your-skin-but-better look. Go for this product. Its sold for 5,500. One bottle will last a month.

Mary Kay Timewise Matte/Luminous Wear Liquid Foundation

This one is solid staple foundation that has withstood the test of time. The Mary Kay Timewise foundations are grossly underrated in the make up industry. This foundation is always in my make up box. This product will last on your face. This product will not break. It gives full coverage. It is the queen of affordable but durable. There are two types of the time wise foundations. There is the luminous wear foundation. If you want a glowy skin after makeup you can use it. Its recommended for people with dry skin. There is the matte wear foundation which is for oily skin. They are both sold for 6,000 each.

I deliberately did not mention black up, mac, fenty beauty, tom ford, nars etc. These are very very great products but some of them are really expensive while some are not easily available in the Nigerian market. I do not see the essence of spending too much money on foundations that I wear everyday. Most of these drugstore brands can give you the same result that you get from the high end products.

I also hear Milani is good but I cant attest to that as I have never used their foundations. I can only speak for what I have used. But their compact powder is bomb tho.

However, please bear in mind that to get the best out of any foundation. You have to use a very good face primer and setting powder. Otherwise, even the most expensive foundation will still streak after few hours of wear.

Make una manage the pic wey I attach. The other 2c don finish so I don throway them.

Extra Tip: When buying foundation, do a color match test on your neck or chest not your arm. It gives for accurate results.

Do you have other great foundation brands that are super affordable but really great?

Please do mention in the comment section

Thank You
RSQ

56 comments:

1. Marykay is my forever foundation. I have been using it for close to 12yrs now

1. Pls house any suggestions 4 good face powder? Mac is way too expensive now abeg. As dis one dey finish I wan port. Tnks.

2. Mac is my all time favorite. It is the only foundation that adapts to my yellow undertones. Marykay is also good but I find it too cakey on the face. Then Milani is alright but Wrong undertone.

3. @Tessbaby, Maybelline Smooth and Clear is good,affordable and available.

@RsQ,well done ma'am!

Foreign made Black Opal Stick Foundation/Total Coverage Concealing Foundation takes the cake.

Nigerian owned Khuraira Cosmetics takes the crown in pigment and durability.

@Olivia Silk, I prefer to have a clean canvas e.g. my skin care regimen helps with my very oily skin which includes cleansing,exfoliating,toning and moisturizing. Afterwards, I use a little primer in areas I get oily e.g. my nose and beside my nose bridge. I use just a little concealer where needed, just a little foundation and tiny amount of powder. All these is just not to cake my face up especially in our hot weather!

Affordable Primer to use is Ponds! However, if you have the dough, Becca Primer is great!

2. Well done Retired Slay Queen
    I am use to Marykay time wise foundation
    It can take me for 8months before buying another

I have also used Clemence foundation and it's good
    I have a very oily face, so I am always careful.

3. Marykay timewise luminous and Revlon colorstay is what I use, I notice d revlon don't make my face shiny like d marykay luminous .

4. Please my lovely fellow bvs,can you guys hint me on a very good designers perfume to buy for my hubby as his birthday is approaching. Got him Huggo Boss the last time, but i want something that smells more sweet and sexy for him this time. Help a sister.love you all.

1. Buy Polo 1 by Ralph Lauren. Specifically the one in blue bottle and green polo logo. Very nice but quite expensive. But he will definitely like it.

2. Thanks Anon.. God bless you. Will check Amazon.

3. Anonymous donor1 July 2018 at 23:01

Even though shooter has an empty life, amouage is great

4. Creed aventis original 120k fake 7k
      Good luck

5. Creed Aventus is great. Heculi lina tHe price depend on the ML.

5. Where can you find original MaryKay? Too many fakes in the market

6. I don't know how to apply makeup, just rub my ponds powder & off i go. Ponds powder also helps in curing pimples.

1. You need to learn, the basic atleast. It’s part of grooming, it’s like not knowing how to wear a sanitary towel but using napkins

2. You can watch videos on YouTube

7. Welldone slay.
    I don't know if I am the only one who doesn't use foundation,and all those brown powder thingy.The only time I wore it was on my wedding day,and I still buy them hoping that I will change one day to apply it.My pond and enchanteur to the rescue and you will not believe I didn't use brown powder

1. What is brown powder?
      Powder is by colour, so is brown powder a brand, generic name or ???

You see the reason you aren’t using makeup is because you do not know.

2. Making sense since 1900. Same goes for me on all levels

3. Yet you that knows make up enough couldn't correct her

4. Anon 14:24 you are wicked 😂😂😂 Lucile it's called cake powder and some calls it loose powder

5. You are not alone. I will try to watch videos on YouTube to learn.

8. Revlon colorstay foundation is bomb too

9. I agree with every other makeup you mentioned up there,but that classic is a No! it's just too thick,then the packaging for the maybelline fitme is a turn off because it's in a bottle ,it's most likely going to break or you pour out too much product.overall I think Marykay is for the win so far you get the original one.To be sure you are buying original go to a registered store like kuddys etc.the medium coverage mark Kay too is good,gives a very natural finish.

10. Different strokes mehn!
    I stopped using blenders and went back to brushes cos I noticed blenders don't cover my pores completely unlike brushes..
    I wet it, it swells but till can't tell what I'm doing wrong😩

11. Oh. I love Nars. I use the cadiz sheer glow. It's beautiful, however it's got medium coverage so you have to build it up. Nevertheless it's awe some and light weight too.

12. There was a time I used to make up(the whole works). Now? Just the basics. I don't bother anymore. How interests change....lol
    OliviaSilk you're so right about black soap. I clears acne. The raw one for some, others -the mixed one with herbs and organic powders.

13. Plz where I can get original black soap in uyo ? Plus I'm light skinned and I use clean and clear cleanser for my face. Will I have to stop using it if I decide to use black soap? Tnx

14. I love Mary Kay time wise foundation, it suits me perfectly well, slay keep it coming, I love this segment ,

15. I heard Revlon Colorstay in on par with many of the higher end brands. I have the Maybelline Fit Me, and I agree that you probably should have amazing skin before you use it, best for light coverage and for the not really wearing makeup look.

16. Stop purchasing and using Kat Von D products, thank me later.

17. When I was using Marykay Timewise, I had to mix it with L. A girl concealer or else na so my face go dey red me for eye. Use the Maybelline Fit Me now and it's really cool for everyday use, the bottle is not that fragile (let it sha not be landing on the floor ) and if it pours out too much , just put it back with the brush..
    So, I prime, then dust my face with ponds and then I apply the foundation, blend, then blend more with ponds, then setting spray = Saclux Paint😂😂. Na till I wash am off. Regular touch ups with my powder brush(no powder) if the weather is hot keeps it looking brand new.

18. L.A girl matte foundation is bomb.com. full coverage and stays put for hours. Revlon colorstay too. classic is not bad but I've seen the light.thanks for your recommendation

19. If your black soap dris up your skin add coconut or carrot oil even red oil

20. Thanx retired slay queen. Amma stick to Better as suggested by chikito mbok. I won't use classic even if u dash me. This post is nice.

21. Like I said, stop using now and thank me later, better yet, toss it out entirely. This is deeper than just makeup.

22. The economic downturn in Nigeria led me to experiment more with a lot of things makeup inclusive and I'm sort of grateful for that. Milani foundation is very nice I won't have touched it with a very long pole in 2015/16. H and E is another nice foundation. BB equally good. All within the 5k range. The thing again is knowing how to apply your foundation and the overall makeup. I won't use classic even if you gift me 5years supply of it. Mba!

23. Anon why not give reasons for her to stop this product? Or just stay 1 corner dance

24. Mehn classic is horrible...believe me....it is...i have used it severally and i promise you it will alwayd embarass you....i love their compact powder though...very cheap and nice...but milani powder still remains my fav...marykay is still da bomb...i have no worries with it....i have always wanted to experiment with maybelline fit me.naija economy is making me wanna reduce my makeup budget o...any ideas for a very cool compact powder that is cheap apart from classic....?
    ..is zikel nice?...

25. Slay queen thumbs up, please do post on face primers.

26. Once someone says perfume Nigerians will just shout Amouage please do not waste your money on Amouage if it's not the honors . For Masculine perfumes you should go for the old brands E.g D&G dark blue, light blue, Jean Paul Gualttier, davidoff, gucci, fendi, hermes, clinque aromatics in black or white Zara Gold,the smell better please forgot people shouting Amouage it's expensive and the scent is awful . But if you can afford expensive perfumes then go for Tomford , Creed Imperial Millesame ,Alharamain also has good perfumes .

27. Anon 18:23, I get you.
    Kat Von D is a satanist.

28. Olivia silk anon say mk u stop to dey use dat product with immediate effect. Reasons yet unknown.

I need suggestions ooo. Cant afford mac again. They're becoming too expensive.

29. How about flawless? Has anyone used it? I saw on a friend, it was very good..

30. Revlon is the bomb.Trust me

31. Dont know the foundation to buy now so many reviews,confused right now.my sister said black up,too expensive chei

32. Thank you Slay Queen please don't relent in this column. God bless you. I have 2 elder sisters, they never taught me make up. I learnt by fire and force. Maybe cos they are very fair and i'm cream caramel(that's what i call myself) and i'm not bleaching for nothing. Please do a segment on DIY black soap and body cream. I use Fair and White Gold, my sister i CAN'T anymore, i'm looking to upgrade my job but slay we must to look good and attract better husband..... ha h ah aha ha..... I dont know jack applying make up. my lipstick is still warm chocolate and peach of Island beauty after my sister warned me to stop lining my lips with BLACK LIPSTICK. She bought them for me since the days of Uniport 2003.

1. For lipstick to last long and look better you have to line your lip. Stick to brown liner for nude shades and for coloured lipstick, use a similar lip colour pencil.

33. Is it the owners of the ones you use that are not satanists? Most of them are please. Just pray and move on.

34. Is there fake black soap? Just asking!