Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Lagos Govt. Announces Restriction For Tankers After Otedola Bridge Lagos Fire Incident

Monday, July 02, 2018

Lagos Govt. Announces Restriction For Tankers After Otedola Bridge Lagos Fire Incident

This is indeed great news!!!!

The Lagos State Government has revealed the cause of explosion at the Otedola Bridge Fire incident. While addressing journalists on Sunday, the Lagos Commissioner for Transportation, Ladi Lawanson, said interim findings showed that the petrol tanker was carrying far above its appropriate weight.

He said, “From this preliminary investigation, the truck should not have been loaded to the weight of 30 tonnes, which is twice its pulling capacity. He also announced restrictions on the movement of tankers within the city:

“As an immediate response to the latest incident, the Lagos State Government hereby announces the following measures: fuel tankers are hereby directed to ply the designated trailer route, that is, Apapa-Oworonshoki Expressway via Ogudu to Lagos-Ibadan Expressway. All tankers and containers coming into Lagos State from henceforth are directed to obtain the Ministry of Transportation Certificate of Road Worthiness at any of or centres within the next 30 days, while new centres along the Lagos-Ibadan Expressway will be established to quickly to cope with the expected demand for this service."

Lawanson also disclosed that Lagos government was already exploring alternative modes of transportation of petroleum products, to separate passenger traffic from cargo movements. He also said that government, in partnership with all the stakeholders, would set up joint-enforcement of the operating laws, while barriers would be installed on bridges in Lagos to prevent articulated trucks including Ojuelegba, Mobolaji Bank Anthony, Ekodeso, Abule-Egba, Lekki-Ajah, among others.

From Daily Post

26 comments:

1. God bless you Ambode for this move
    This should have been done since

1. What is great about this news??? There is a similar existing law about trucks that convey containers after a container fell at Ojuelegba, yet they don't obey. I still saw a tanker this morning. Mtcheeew.
      Enforcement of laws in Nigeria = zero.
      After they will be Buhari

2. After death comes not too good solutions. That is what Nigerians are known for.

RIP to all who died. Comfort to those in pains Amen

1. The solution is no solition rara

3. Great news indeed, BUT why why why did something had to happen in order for this to come about? In most countries these things are regulated, is this new implementation going to be maintained? Strictly maintained?

1. What is great in this news? Nothing at all

4. Also, any news on the person who jumped off 3rd mainland? Has the body been retrieved?

1. Una too dey like bad news,olofofo,so you don't have other things to keep busy with,it's dead body you are after,you must have a reason for this,do you suspect it's someone you know or you have a fetish for dead body?na question i ask oo,answer back under this comment.

5. Nice move but I hope they adhere strictly to the new measures.
    What should have been done since..

1. They won't adhere to no jack rule,is it not Nigeria again.They should stop tankers from plying the same road with cars,expand the roads and construct tankers routes for them seperate.

6. They will start using the road worthiness whatever to collect money and won't check if they are actually road worthy.

They should first put barriers on all bridges. The number of heavy duty vehicles that fall from bridges are too much.

1. Gbammm you gerrittt more bribe to the enforcement pocket.Ambode should find a better solution not the rubbish they said up these.

7. It's not yet uhuru! What we want is for tankers and all articulated trucks to move only between 12 midnight and 4am from Mondays to Sundays. Let them not join us in our traditional Lagos traffic which is from 5am to 11pm daily. The measures they want to take are okay but in addition to opening avenues for MOT officials to collect bribe without doing their jobs thoroughly, could they just enforce the time restrictions please?

ALERT: Until the day all these huge piles of garbage on the roads and streets will cause a major disaster now, they will not do something about it o. VisionScape my left foot! They have not picked up garbage in my area since December! Gosh! I just miss Fashola in Lagos State.

8. Hmmm hmmm!let's see if they obey,used 2hrs BTW Maryland to Ojuelegba last wedsday,so annoying!!

9. And how is this going to work,some Nigerians with fish brain already hailing Ambode for this,for what really!!!it's all just word of the mouth,this is not a solution,the law enforcement will only see an avenue to collect more bribe and allow the same whole shit to keep happening.Lorries,Tankers,containers,heavy duty trucks etc need to have an alternative route,if they can mandate them to only ply the roads at night from midnight to 5am in the morning,that will be good,petrol Tankers are disasters waiting to happen,containers are like dangers staring you in the face,to stop this havoc,these killer trucks should be restricted on the roads,build them an alternative roads,spend this money to build nigeria and make things better for her citizens,the country has money,you lots are just looting it instead.*****which one is otedola bridge,never heard of it,is that not ojodu berger,abi Lagos ibadan express way from the accident pictures?is that a new bridge ni,i'm not familiar with the place,that's why i'm asking.
    Anonymous Bug

1. killjoy shut the hell up

2. And you shut the fuck up,what joy is in this that anyone is killing,fool

3. @ anon 12.25,This is the problem i have with some Nigerians,what the anon bug said makes sense makes,is it that you are sad or in a bad mood,go and bath you hear.what this person said up there does not warrant this your killjoy shut the hell up reply,lots of sad people roaming the blog looking for where to vent

4. Anon 12.25 you are a gullible soul,so there is joy in making a law that they won't implemet ba?it's people like you like you that will vote Buhari again in the coming election cos you see someone saying the truth and you are saying the person should shut up.it's your likes that is destroying this country.besides nothing stops you from adding your own opinion,you could have done that instead.

10. It's a good start.

It should also be applicable to all 36 states in Nigeria.

All vehicle carrying Volatile content should abide to this rule.

11. Very Nicee hope they abide by this Law o...

12. It is only Lagos state that can bring sanity . They should also make all container trucks to anchor the containers so that they stop falling off the trucks

13. They will nor talk abt d trailers and tankers constantly packed on Eko bridge since last year. It is their families dat will be there when it will fall. Revoluton we need