Saturday, July 07, 2018

Iya Ibeji Series -Keeping Your Dream(s) Alive

Ever had to push aside your dreams and aspirations so that you can give your family a better life?

I have a male colleague who is funny and very talented at Comedy and he cracks jokes better than what gives with most famous comedians. 

We keep mocking him that he is in the wrong field. 

One day I heard of an audition for radio presenter in one of these pidgin radio stations. I told him about it and he was interested but the interview date was on a working day so he couldn't make it because he was not given time off at work, I was more frustrated than he was. 

I  believed in this guy's talent and during my wedding he was the MC and he did a wonderful job, nobody believed that wasn't what he does for a living.
I kept pushing him to take it further and he kept telling me ''Iya beji sometimes in life you have to keep your own dreams aside and follow the part that puts food on your family table''.

Fast forward to my present day, I recently acquired a skill and I'm doing another thing by the side because salary only no dey reach again. All these have taken its toll on me I don't write as much as I used to (I used to write short stories)

There are times I will see a comment from Rowland asking me when I want to start filming my short videos because I promised I was going to move to that phrase this year but for where?

Sometimes I look at my colleague and think I'm going to end up like him, but i wont let it happen. My dreams are not going to die because the economy is hard or because I have a family to support.

So part of the strategies I develop is this,

I get inspiration for my stories by observing my environment, so while i'm stuck in traffic I develop my stories. When I get home I sit my children down and tell them the stories sometimes I sleep off doing that. But telling them makes the stories stick to my memory.

This has made my children know how to tell stories of their own.

I'm not letting this dream die, these stories will hit the screen.
I want to encourage someone today, I know how hard the economy is, and it seems we have do more things to make ends meet. But Please try and keep your dream alive, look for creative ways to fan the fire. Be that thing you have always said you will be.

Do you have any experience/ method to encourage us or have you given up on your dreams already? 

16 comments:

1. Nice one Iya Ibeji, this our country alone can kill dreams.
    Watched one elderly Igbo woman yesterday playing a guitar and singing @ same time, really nice voice I fell in love with that woman's talent but sad I could only share the video on Facebook wish I could do more.

2. Hmmmm. ....keeping the dreams alive
    I have dreams I have been working towards since childhood.....slowly but surely I am getting there....

Rowland,you are greatly missed...come say hi now

1. Have always loved to bake since childhood. But no time to develop myself. Children and work stress. But 2months ago, decided to do something about it. It was stressful and tight but with God was able to take classes and funny enough,by my 2nd week was already getting orders. Made several birthday cakes and a wedding cake already. And even have another wedding cake by next month. Truth was even during the stressful period,was always watching food network and cake boss. So when i was being thought,I will just recollect that 've seen that before.

3. Been giving up lately sigh 😩

4. Marriage and motherhood robbing me of my poetic and writing skills, DH doesn't appreciate those poems but one of the kids inherited my ability to string words and writing flair which I encourage. Once they are a bit independent, I will break loose and unleash my literary act. I work to put food on the table since his business noosedived. Olwogbogboro pick my calls

1. God will show up for you in Jesus name

2. Straight from your mouth to God's ears.

5. Marriage and motherhood robbing me of my poetic and writing skills, DH doesn't appreciate those poems but one of the kids inherited my ability to string words and writing flair which I encourage. Once they are a bit independent, I will break loose and unleash my literary act. I work to put food on the table since his business noosedived. Olwogbogboro pick my calls

6. Thanks for this write-up, it really inspiring. I have a huge dream bigger than me. I believe I'll get there someday. But people see me as overambitious and over confident. Even my mom thinks I should get married as soon as possible.
    I know marriage isn't the next thing for me, but no one understands 😪😪, I get scared like I might be making the wrong decision. But with this write-up, I will give my dream a trial. If it doesn't work out, well.... I gave it a shot. God is my strength 🙂🙂🙂

7. Hmmmmm
    *deep sigh*
    This life
    But it is well, we will all be alright last last.
    I had to abandon mine and follow the easy way out

8. The Mark Sukabag (lol) and Steve Jobs of this world didnt let economical situations make them lose focus. They found what they were good at and drove down on it. When such people win they win BIG! Because they have added skill, talent, passion and experience together to make a living. Sometimes even calling too (because i believe that Zuck's calling in life was to develop social media into a global force), cos calling is not always about being called to be a Pastor etc.

So if your calling is to tell short stories that can go global, that could be where your billions are 🤷‍♀️

9. Thanks for this write-up, it really inspiring. I have a huge dream bigger than me. I believe I'll get there someday. But people see me as overambitious and over confident. Even my mom thinks I should get married as soon as possible.
    I know marriage isn't the next thing for me, but no one understands ����, I get scared like I might be making the wrong decision. But with this write-up, I will give my dream a trial. If it doesn't work out, well.... I gave it a shot. God is my strength ������

10. Woow kudos to you iya ibeji, your series are inspiring. God help me. A lot of things are hindering people from achieving their dreams, and following something else.

11. I just love your write ups. Keep it up. Kudus....

12. Iya Ibeji...kam bunye gi uche small(let me give you small expo).

You got great writing skills and No, you don't need to quit your 9 - 5 job to achieve your goals. Side hustles are side hustles. You and your laptop at night. In the mornings, you head to work.
    Shikena!

Here's what I feel you should do. It works so hopefully you cue in.
    1. You have to negotiate publishing of your brief stories with a renowned company.
    2. Go in company of a lawyer friend ( that way you won't have to pay him or her). Beg her to assist you PROTECT your work, she knows what to do.
    3. After getting a good price, bid for schools and some churches:for Lagos and Ogun States, before you print, get the backing of The High and Mighty.
    How? If Christian, go through the ArchBishop or his wife or if Pentecostal, go to your Daddy G.O and Mummy G.O directly. It is easier in the high places, they approve your efforts and place you on a good spring board to excel.

This is June and there's plenty time. If you garner your materials in 3 weeks and publish 2,000 of your small book for example Titled "Life and it's Meanings" and at N120 per copy.
    That is N360,000. Less overhead costs and miscellaneous spendings the price arrives at N200 = N600,000.
    If you make N80 x 3,000 copies = N240,000 profit out of the N600,000 job. It os not bad.You will be encouraged and push into other states.
    The smaller and colourful the book is, the more acceptable it will become.
    If glossy, better.

This is for a start. If the Churches and Secondary Schools management board loves your small books, they will demand for more.
    The only problem you may encounter is in the Distribution chain because they duplicate more than your Original copies and sell more than you sef.
    Piracy is real. Plagiarism is a bigger sin in Nigeria.

Goodluck to you.
    Mama Nnuku
    TEEJAY
    Mama Tee
    Adeniji Bisi
    And others I may have forgotten.

Will paste in Spontaneous post tomorrow because I think I'm late here.
    Goodnight.