Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Hunger Alert - Former Boxer Jerry Okorodudu Claims He Has Not Been Paid And ‘Is Dying Of Hunger’

Wednesday, July 18, 2018

Hunger Alert - Former Boxer Jerry Okorodudu Claims He Has Not Been Paid And ‘Is Dying Of Hunger’

What a shame!!!

According to News Agency of Nigeria Jerry Okorodudu, an Olympian disclosed on Tuesday that he is dying of hunger because the Federal Ministry of Youth and Sports is yet to pay his 10 months’ salary without a reason.

This he claims, has led to his inability to provide for his family, and has consequently made him “resorted to begging in order to eat and feed his family’’.

“I have traveled to Abuja severally and also written letters to the ministry but nothing is forthcoming, all they do is to keep referring me to different people in the ministry.

“I am dying of hunger and can no longer cater for my family because my salary has not been paid in the last 10 months.

“I have represented this country during my active years and should not be treated this way, this is bad,’’ he said.

“A similar thing happened in 2016 where I petitioned the ministry and the court ordered them to pay me the 14 months salaries they owed me as at then.’’

The two-time gold medalist also lamented that his once pensionable job in the ministry was changed to a contract and the Nigeria Boxing Federation denied him access to competitions.
“I represented this country well as an athlete and a coach, but it is a pity that this is happening to me and other former sportsmen and women in the country,’’ he added.
from NAN

13 comments:

1. Oh mbom! Nigeria my Nigeria.

2. we buy dead,scrap or faulty inverter battery call me.08117903918/0814139511318 July 2018 at 11:37

Too bad

3. Like play like play
    Na like this Stephen Keshi and Amodu Shuaibu got owed until they died of frustration
    What a shame!

4. Stephen Keshi was owed in death and they built a stadium for him.

5. They should pay this man his money oo

6. I like the way he is shouting out and not keeping quiet so that the world can know what a shitty country Nigeria is...How do you owe your veteran athletes and expect that the new generation will fight for you

LEP😛

7. I can see the private sector owing money to employees, but how does the government get so low.

8. When one BV commented there is hunger in the land another was insulting him or her, you people can see how hungry and frustrated people are. How about these sports men and women investing in their youth to avoid crying in old age.

9. Nigeria is not worth doing anything for. It's more a case of "to your tents o Israel". They are not even encouraging the youth by treating the older ones like this.

10. I want to understand something o, so because he was a world champion, he shouldn't do any other work than depending on the government.
    I'm sure he has seen how bad things are here, he should stop blaming the government for making his family starve, let him look for another means of survival abeg.

I'm not saying the Government is right by not paying him what is due to him, he should be paid but let him stop saying its the government that is "making him die of hunger".
    I'm sure his hands and leg are still working properly, let him hustle for something to support his family whilst calling on the government to fulfill their promises.

11. U tell them to make their lives more better by having other options, choices in life & other real valuable things to depend on, they will refuse! Fighting for their village inheritances, or forming big time Nigerian sportsman, actor, politician etc. Ndi ara!!!
    I'm a single mother & grandmother with both Canadian & European passports. Very good career, very excellent benefits, retirement packages, steady surplus of cash & finances to last me for 200 years..if God give me that long life! Lol!!!

While many Nigerian people r foolishly banking upon their status as big men & big women in Nigeria alone, and blinded to the fact that country is very useless place, evil entity & destructive environment.
    Look Keshi, who is being owned money by the government & yet they invest & spend big money to build a stadium in his name??? Nobody is even asking or to remember where his children are?
    Mad country full of destructive, twisted people.
    Dem dey go dey beg tire, suffer miserably in old age & die undignified. Foolish things.

12. Many nigerians disappointed, failed, woeful, betrayed by the kith & kin,in their country in old is like 5 & 6.
    I sorry for anybody caught up in that cycle of madness, going through life in the absence of simple support & protection by their government, and denied when the presidential kitchen alone is having more than 2 million naira daily food budget.
    Even ordinary LGA Chairman & his spouse(s) collect over 10 million naira equivalent monthly salary.