Saturday, July 07, 2018

Finance Minister Kemi Adeosun Allegedly Skipped Compulsory NYSC And Forged Certificate

Hmmmmm.......

Nigeria’s Finance Minister, Kemi Adeosun, allegedly did not participate in the mandatory one-year national youth service scheme. Instead, she forged an exemption certificate many years after graduation.

Eligible Nigerians who skipped the service are liable to be sentenced to 12 months imprisonment and/or N2,000 fine, according to Section 13 of the NYSC law. Section 13 (3) of the law also prescribes three-year jail term or option of N5,000 fine for anyone who contravenes provision of the law as Mrs Adeosun has done.

Subsection 4 of the same section also criminalises giving false information or illegally obtaining the agency’s certificate. It provides for up to three-year jail term for such offenders.

Mrs Adeosun’s official credentials obtained by PREMIUM TIMES show that the minister parades a purported NYSC exemption certificate, which was issued in September 2009, granting her exemption from the mandatory service on account of age.

Having graduated at 22, it is obligatory for Mrs Adeosun to participate in the one-year national service, for her to qualify for any job in Nigeria.
However, at the time of her graduation, the young Folakemi Oguntomoju, as she then was, did not return to Nigeria to serve her fatherland.

When she eventually returned to Nigeria in 2002, Mrs Adeosun still did not deem it necessary to participate in the NYSC scheme. She simply accepted a job offer at a private firm, Chapel Hill Denham. However, ostensibly concerned that she might run into trouble for skipping the mandatory scheme, Mrs Adeosun, sometime in 2009, procured a fake exemption certificate.

The NYSC does not issue exemption certificate to anyone who, like the minister, graduates before turning 30, top officials of the scheme familiar with the matter told PREMIUM TIMES.

Using that fake certificate, Mrs Adeosun went on to clinch high-profile jobs at Quo Vadis Partnerships (managing director), Ogun State Government (commissioner for finance), and Federal Government of Nigeria (minister of finance).

The State Security Service, charged with vetting appointees to top government positions, failed to detect that her NYSC certificate was fake.

Some federal lawmakers revealed to this paper that the discrepancy was detected by the Senate during the minister’s confirmation hearing. But rather than probe the issue, they turned it into a tool against Mrs Adeosun. A report linked the certificate scandal to the minister’s excessive, even illegal, funding of the lawmakers, including recently funnelling a N10billion largesse to that arm of government.
From premium times

34 comments:

1. no biggie na afterall her oga at Aso Rock certificate na one kain rumpled receipt

2. if she she skipped it, so???? If the girl that was shot the other day skipped it, she would have been alive today.

And I know a lot of people that only go to camp yet pass out so this DISCOVERER should get another job

3. @Anno 03
      Did u just typed that
      😢😢😢😢😢😢😢😢

4. Lily simple, I'm sure you have served yet your English is terrible.

It's 'Did you just TYPE that'

2. OH I see
    They should check her certificates too to ensure she graduated... ..what a country
    This is Nigeria.. ....Mtcheeeeeeeew

3. And she is fighting corruption...

4. I knew her table was shaking seriously....this country is a mess abeg...

Mc pinky

5. Stella Kork...you missed the mainbeef in the brouhaha.

Fine she skipped the NYSC Scheme but she actually forged an Exemption Certificate bearing September 9 2009 signed by the Director General of NYSC then by name Mr Yusuf Bomoi.
    Sadly, Mr Yusuf had retired from NYSC as at January 9 2009, that is a whopping 8months gap.

Haba. Mrs Adeosun if this is true. You are liable and Subsection 4 will stand.
    And she worked with Quo Vadis and PriceWater Coppers. Ogun State and Federal Government?
    I laugh in Spanish. Jajajajaja.
    Ogbonge HR Specialists in the system?????

#pity

1. *PriceWaterHouse Coopers
      *Quo Vadis Valuers

I don dey near house. Kikiki.
      Eko traffic.

6. Rubbish let them go face the big issues

1. What is the big issue? Same thing you said when people said Buhari ain't got no certificate. It dint mean shit to you then, now ur in a big shit

7. Why she no go forge
    Her oga get waec?

All them minister pardon monsters for A Ph cee
    and PHEE DEE PHEE
    na corrupt forgers!

8. I am not surprised. Like father ( buhari) like daughter
    ( Adeosun). Imagine the kind of people governing us. No wonder we enter recession,and refused to come out.

1. This Mrs Adeosun knows nothing. She worked in chapel-hill when my friend was there.
      At most she should be a Senior Manager in a Bank, she doesn't even have the experience of an ED or M.D. of a Bank.
      Useless country, how wont we be in a recession. They gives portfolio to people based on their God father and not ability. She rose from ogunstate through to presidency because of Tinubu.

2. She's actually very daft! I am talking from one-on-one experience. Keeps serious face and talks trash. Shes so daft and if i say more i will be decoded. I cant even use another word, just D-A-F-T!

3. Are you sure anyone can be more daft than you? I judge based on your frequent comments on this blog? Abeg, let’s face the NYSC exemption certificate instead of speaking from a place of no meaning. This woman is not daft. Her work experiences is enough to prove that. Just because she works with an administration that you don’t support or because her pedigree intimidated you based on your so-called one-on-one experience does not make her as daft as you.

9. Interesting but not surprising. She stabbed so many people in the back on the way to the top including the guy who should have rightfully been appointed. I won't say more before I'm decoded. More revelations to come.

1. Abegi, spill some more beans, nah, AO.

2. That is why the country is in deep recession.She is too incompetent for the job. Na commissioner work in Borno state fit am not a whole minister of finance for a whole country.

10. They should investigate her school too let's be sure she is even presenting an authentic

11. we buy dead,scrap or faulty inverter battery call me.08117903918/081413951138 July 2018 at 08:29

Just imagine.to even think she is now the finance minister

12. No wonder she has no clue on how to move the economy forward. Man know man things. She even has a daft face.

1. No, the economy was already messed up before she came it. In addition to a directionless CBN Governor appointed by GEJ after Sanusi exposed the fraud in his administration

13. I am ashamed that this type of story is associated with such an exalted office in Nigeria. However, just noting that there is no relationship between a person’s professional capacity and the NYSC scheme which for all intents and purposes has been proven to be a colossal waste of time.

14. There is something about this story that is not clear to
    1) what year did she graduate from the university? It just states she was 22yrs. My point is so we can add it up and make sure she wasn't upto 30yrs when she returned to Nigeria, because it still states that she furthered her education then got different jobs, which is suppose to take some years yeah!

2) i don't think as exposed as she is with the money and influence she has, that she can stoop so low to forge an Nysc certificate , which is easy to get with or without participating in it! I know most people that didn't even stay in the 3weeks orientation camp, because of connection/affluence. I am an example, i didn't stay in the camp because I noticed all them rich Muslims will just drive in and out, so i decided I was gonna leave too which i did, i was still given a PPA, even the day of my POP, an Nysc official took my certificate for me cos i was not available that day. I know many foreign students that don't participate but get there certificate

3)we should not jump into conclusion until she is proven guilty.

1. 1. NYSC works with your graduation age, so long as you graduated from a recognized tertiary institution under 30years of age, you are mandated to serve, even if you are now 50years what will be considered is the actual age you graduated.

2. So you follow abi? Don't worry DSS is coming for you and those your friends.

3. That's exactly how we did not jump into conclusion and somebody somewhere is ruling the most populous black nation with NEPA bill.

15. 1) that's if your in Nigeria yeah?
    2) what is Dss or any force business? Cos i didn't stay in camp is an offence now Abi? You will do what i did then if u had the opportunity.
    3)I hear u