Monday, July 09, 2018

Delicious Insect...

Do you know what this is?Have you tried it before?what does it taste like?

95 comments:

1. I heard it is very tasty. I would love to try it

2. WAAOOOOOOOOOOO i have missed it ooooooo, very delicious. Full of proteins.

1. Mmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmh
      I have never heard any of you talk about this as your loved meal or snack when Stella asked for that. Can Naija girls pretend?

2. Why must it always be about girls or women? Stella asked a question and if you have sense you would keep quiet, if you have nothing to say.Well for me I use to eat it when I was little but now I can't remember the last time I saw it. I ate it raw sometimes.

3. Anonymous this is a seasonal delicacy and besides most ppl here are it as kids,me inclusive.
      I don't know if I can eat it again cos I ate it last in primary school. I think about it a lot though.

4. Mr man don't be stupid. We all ate it as kids so how can it be our best snack as adults?
      Borrow a brain pls.

5. I know say all of una go show up; even this one wey join me for ghost mode. All I know be say me I dey take roll call. Even though Stella did not make me class prefect. I am waiting for that post someday.

Seasonal or not, how many shops for ya street dey sell pizza; mgbo?
      How many shop for ya street in Naija dey sell omelette; eh?
      You don't see am before?
      I write am like that because we girls are the most pretenders when it comes to
      "I have been here, eaten this, he took me out and . . . bla bla bla"

6. Oka (corn) and ube na seasonal. Una no dey hide buy that one?
      If Stella publish a picture of that one now; ehhhh
      yummy, so delicious bla bla bla
      If ya man go take you out and buy oka and ube, you insult the day
      he was born and who born am.
      You go post the thing for social media to make fun of him.

The point be this, let us be ourselves and not always strive to be
      someone else we don't know.

7. Anonymous fighting theirselves
      Let those with monikers sip some champagne 😍😍😍😍😍😍😍😍😍😍

8. Please where can i get this in Lagos especially on the mainland

3. We call it Aku mkpu, if you mix with garri and drink Eeh, the taste is heavenly 😋😋😋😋

1. Enjoy obuo nmu geh Li Ife.Ha I just can't and won't eat it,something that looks like all those small coachroaches nyaaamaaa

4. Esunsun! I loved eating it when I was younger, just add salt and pepper. Yum yum.

5. It’s called ‘Aku’. Don’t know the English name.
    Tastes yummy with soaked garri #homesick

1. The English name will be probably derived from 'termite'

2. It's called winged termite.

3. We used to call it flying termites and they come only when it rains. I missed eating them but don't know if I can still eat them again.

6. Replies
    1. That’s chinge baby, my dad never allowed us catch nor fry this thing like most of our mates but trust me it’s quit yummy

7. Enter your comment...it's called Aku in the East. when fresh and properly prepared, it is so delicious.

8. Very sweet... I 🌶 to garnish it

9. Stella dis insect is very delicious we call it chinge hia in the north and it's expensive o, it is rich in protein.

10. Anybody who eats insects doesnt love jesus and thats that.😅😅😅

11. This is Akumkpu. Very delicious.

1. If they ask you your liked snack now, you say it is Shawamah
      even when you do not know what it is.

12. Awwww, very Sweet something. We call it "Aku" in igbo language.

13. This thing dey sweet die. I miss my childhood

14. very delicious something......but the toilet was my second room that year.

1. Yes, it makes you purge like hell but it's really tasty man.

15. How will somebody open mouth, drop an insect in it, and close mouth again? Then clamp teeth and hear that pra sound of the insect bursting in the mouth and the yucky looking yanmayanma in it will now pour inside your mouth and you will now taste it with your tongue and swallow it. AN INSECT nitori olorun! Lemme go and wash my mouth.

1. You fry it before eating you philistine 😂

2. Hahahahahha cutie pie abeg lemme. I read up where someone mentioned taking it with garri to vomit cum hungry me and I'm about to soak garri fa!

3. Ajebutter dey ask una village ppl.

4. @cutie pie must you display your ignorance??? You dont display your biase publicly...

16. Shinge, esunsun! We ate this thing while growing up ehn. Very delicious 😋

17. Oh Stella why nah....really missed this. It's very delicious.. .

18. This is Aku in the East. It comes out once in a year when new corn is coming out. You can catch them in the night around 4 to 5 am, just go to where bulb is shinning or you can use 'ogbe di mbu 'light and go to mkpu and catch them. I enjoy it when is fried. if it is cooked the inside is like catarrh and it can make one to vomit. Some people don't eat it including snail because they have this believe that anything which does not have blood is a sin to eat. @Princess Tever

1. Lol! Them dey miss good chon chin..... I love eating it, I eat it yesterday...

19. I ate it while in the north. And yes it's yummy 😋. It's called shinge

20. You see all these girls wey dey chant;
    "very delicious . . . mixed with soaked garri?"
    They are the kinds that when you ask them in person
    or when a "prospective husband" asks them their
    best snacks, will chant:
    Pizza, Omelette, dough nuts, shawamah bla bla bla
    even those who have never seen any of these.
    If they see this insects in real life, they will
    scream and run as if baboon dey pursue them.

1. Oh shut up! This is becoming stale

2. Your comment made me laugh,still smiling

3. Oga abi na madam, worry about your self. This post is supposed to be for fun.

4. I miss cricket too.

5. Mr man don't be stupid. We all ate it as kids so how can I it be our best snack as adults?
      Borrow a brain pls.

6. You will soon run mad and end up in yaba left @ 11.46.

21. Replies
    1. I am noting all of you one by one; taking roll call
      Very soon Stella will post;
      What's your best delicacy/snacks/etc.
      then pretenders go surface.
      I will arrest all of you straight.

2. Sharap there. We remember this only when we get a reminder like this. It's not some thing you see everyday in the market. Be real jo

3. And you must hide in ghost mode to shut her up? Liver no gree you commot.
      Pretenders.

22. Very rich delicacy.. ate it while growing up in Benin, its called Adon.

23. Very sweet. In the village then use palmy to dilute it

24. This is insect Biko, how can you🐭😆🐶 kaii, Nigerian.

25. Delicious and nutritious. We call it esunsun. They come out after rain fall in the evening where there is bright bulb outside. We used to fill buckets with water as kids and pack them inside. Sometimes we left the water filled containers outside overnight and by morning, they would be filled with these insects

1. You get the method for catching them Mrs Gee

We call it ndube in our dialect

I don't think I can eat it now. Oh kids!

2. Yes.. I remember those days

26. Veryyyyy sweet something. Aku or akumkpu in the east. It's even sold in the market in milk cups 😊

27. When we were young ewo our neighbors will garnish it with fresh tomatoes. But sincerely my fear for cluted insect now won't let me eat it oh

28. Seriously I don't eat everything and I know I will never try it, its not formings.

29. It comes out anytime it rains here! At least it has come more than five times. I don't even fancy it at all but my people here say its delicious. Some eat it raw. Na bush I dey stay oh cos some pole will come under here chanting na lie!

30. We call it Aku..kai, i miss eating it?
    Biko where can i buy it in Lagos. E don tey

31. very yummy. I miss eating it, it is called aku in east

32. Hmmm... Let me not talk. I'll get my protein from beans. Thank you.

33. Stella asked how does it taste and none of you answered. You lots went about how yummy and tasty it is. Abeg how does it taste i personally want to know.

1. You're still asking foolishly even after bvs have said it tastes nice. Smh

34. Stella asked how does it taste and none of you answered. You lots went about how yummy and tasty it is. Abeg how does it taste i personally want to know.

1. hahahahahaha, it has been long i ate it but the taste is good. maybe like fish

35. Very delicious insect. Stella the taste is unexplainable.

1. is excruciating delicious in"mark weins voice".

36. Never ate it. I prefer having a piece of fruit or some nuts as a snack. I rarely have anything that walked as a snack. Nope, I am not interested in giving it a try either, some cashews and pistachios or peanuts is enough protein snack for me.

37. AKU! It is very delicious, i eat it and some parts in Anambra use it to cook grinded corn.It is costly too because it is seasonal.

38. It tastes like chicken.

39. Aku Nkpu, very yummilicious

40. Where can I get this? It's really been a long time..

41. Esunsun. So sweet. I miss it. Remember when I was young then, we will start looking for them whenever it rains. It's one of the beautiful memories from my childhood. Do people still eat it ?

42. I oh this is Esunsun it can be sweet o but I ate it a longtime ago

43. Termite ("edon" in edo language) it is very tasty.