Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Chimamanda Adichie Talks Motherhood And What It Means To Be A “Feminist Icon”

Tuesday, July 10, 2018

Chimamanda Adichie Talks Motherhood And What It Means To Be A “Feminist Icon”

Celebrated Nigerian author Chimamanda Adichie (40 years) in an interview with New York based VULTURE Mag gave a detailed perspective into a lot of issues going on in today’s world. The author opened up on r#pe, raising children,Melania Trump, empathy and a lot of other topics.

In responding to VULTURE’s David Marchese’s question on motherhood, Chimamanda Adichie said:

“I used to think I wouldn’t be a good mother because I was so dedicated to my art. I said to myself, I have nephews and nieces who I adore, and I helped raise them, so those will be my children. That’s what I thought for a long time, because I felt that I couldn’t be true to both my art and my child.”

Why are people so quick to tag you as a feminist rather than a novelist?

Feminism is an easy hook. In a way, literature is more diverse, and maybe it’s easier for people to peg me as a feminist icon than a novelist. But I’ve always been interested in politics. The burning thing of how do we make things better is what makes me keep talking about feminism. And I have to tell you: doing that is not always good for my art. I’m trying to better balance my time. But talking about feminism comes from passion. I really believe we can make the world better.

Were you worried about what having a child would mean for your art?

Yes. I used to think I wouldn’t be a good mother because I was so dedicated to my art. I said to myself, I have nephews and nieces who I adore, and I helped raise them, so those will be my children. That’s what I thought for a long time, because I felt that I couldn’t be true to both my art and my child.

What changed?

Getting older. I like to joke and say that you’re ready [to have a child] when your body isn’t ready, and when your body is ready, you’re not mentally ready. I guess you have the best eggs when you’re, like, 22, but at 22 you don’t even know yourself. Then when you’re 38 and know yourself, your eggs are not the best quality. Anyway, we’ll talk about eggs another time. But my baby happened, and it’s important to talk honestly about this, because having her changed a lot. Having a child gets in the way of writing. It does. You can’t own your time the way you used to. But the other thing that motherhood does — and I kind of feel sorry for men that they can’t have this — is open up a new emotional plane that can feed your art.

VULTURE proceeded to find out if #Metoo has changed gender and power dynamics in meaningful ways. Chimamanda Adichie responded: I hope it does, but it hasn’t. What I like about #MeToo is the idea that now women’s stories have the possibility of being believed, which is almost revolutionary. Now a woman can tell her story and she might still get castigated, but there’s the possibility that she gets public support and that there are consequences for whoever harassed or assaulted her. That’s not happened before. But the shape of the narratives around #MeToo can still be troubling.

Read the full interview here: http://www.vulture.com/2018/07/chimamanda-ngozi-adichie-in-conversation.html

24 comments:

1. Alright! The feminism gang leader.

2. I really love what this woman stands for. I'm always disappointed when i see/hear ladies say she's too extreme. It's this type of extremism that can make you even have an opinion now! We may not appreciate her now but I'm sure coming generation of ladies and even men will! And this is my opinion.

3. I used to admire this lady but not anymore. Her brand of feminism is nauseating. In her efforts to sell books and appease the West, she lost track of herself.
    She's now a confused and unprincipled hag. All over the place on every topic. I pity her.

1. Says someone without a name...you are purely delusional.

2. My dear, keep your respect to yourself,like she cares about it!!

3. Lol, you pity one of the most celebrated woman in the world? You must be a joker!!!

4. Anonymous 10:10 don't mind these foolish people. I agree with you. I used to like her but she has turned feminism into something else. I pity her too because those type of people are filled with insecurities
      and fear and then they turn into these pathetic extreme feminist. I used to love her but after she said that opening the door for a woman is wrong and after she criticized Hilary Clinton for putting wife in her bio, she irritates me. She feels inferior so she has to spew rubbish. I bet if you look into her matrimonial home her husband may look docile but behind closed door he disrespect and maltreat her. I know a lot of women like her and I can't stand her or them.

5. You pity someone who doesn't need to go 'anonymous' like you to air her opinion on issues affecting everyday people? smh

6. @Nach yes I pity her. I may be anonymous on this blog and so are you. Or do we know your real name or where you live? Foolish idiot like you insulting blog visitors that are anonymous. If you don't know we are all anonymous on here unless we show our picture and attach the blog Id we are using. You that have a blog id who knows you here? Foolish piece of trash. Is it not because of giveaways that most of you have blog id? Or to spill lies about your imaginary life so that you can feel better about your miserable life? Abeg swerve😡

7. l pity those who pity Chimamanda. Someone believed that runs girls and 'kept' women are at the forefront of her gang enemies. That is an opinion/claim worth considering.
      My own opinion,as a communication expert is that for most of her enemies or those who pity her,comprehension skills are not their forte.Had they listened to what she is really saying---that is,as a woman,you should empower yourself,strive to achieve some heights and be respected as a human being,not as a weak object---they just might give her the credit she deserves.

8. I too pity her. All she does now is run her mouth in order to stay relevant. She's doing and saying anything that won't offend the western world. She has sold her soul and heritage in order to be invited for events. So shameful of her. Doing all she can to appease the west so they can buy her books.

9. Feyifunmi, exactly my thought. Those who hate or dislike her gut don't even read or can't comprehend what she says.
      I bet it with you, most of them didn't even read the above!
      Chimamanda, don't ever stop being who you are.

4. Women's stories have the possibility of being believed...
    #yeah

Ride on.

5. My favorite woman.
    I can totally relate to what having kids can do to ones art,talent or career. Look at Serena.
    I can’t even read anymore, I barely write even. Ofcourse I can’t trade what I have now for anything in the world. I became quite ‘emotional’ when I started having kids. I agree with her🙌

1. ...exactly Iphie. I had to sacrifice career for my child and family generally and though it nags me at times, I don't hate it.

6. I love reading from this woman. She is a feminist but has a husband and child. I admire her.

1. Feminism has no relationship with having a husband and a child or children.

2. feminism

noun

the advocacy of women's rights on the ground of the equality of the sexes.

7. He feminism! Her iconism biko!. E no consign me. ah beg let me walk out of the car door my husband just opened for me....

8. My love for this woman will never die!!!

9. This one is lost. Using negative feminism to try to stay relevant