Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Actress Keira Hewatch Says She Gets Insulted For Looking Like Mercy Johnson

Sunday, July 01, 2018

Actress Keira Hewatch Says She Gets Insulted For Looking Like Mercy Johnson

Nollywood actress Keira Hewatch talks about her career, scandals and many more.

Background: I am an only child and I wanted to be a beautiful queen, like in fairytales. I grew up in Calabar, the Cross River State capital, and that is also where I hail from. I had a regular childhood like everybody else. I attended several schools because my mum was a police officer; she was often transferred to different cities.

Education: For my post-elementary education, I attended Police Secondary School, Minna, Niger State, and Sador Airport Authority Staff School, Calabar. Then, I studied Travel and Tourism Hospitality Management at the Graduate School of Management Studies, Ghana. I lived in Ghana for a while before returning to Nigeria but I plan to go back.

Acting
: I have always wanted to act; I was very expressive and artistic as a kid. My mum also encouraged me to read by buying me a lot of books. The first movie I acted in was titled Crossroads. It was produced by Emeka Ossai and he starred in it as well. It was also on the set that I met Kate Henshaw for the first time. However, while in Ghana, I featured in some movies but they never saw the light of day.

Parents’ reaction: Initially, I didn’t enjoy the support of my parents because they are religious people and they believed that the industry was corrupt and immoral. They felt it was not a place for a Christian lady to be in. I understood their point of view but I had to do what I had always wanted to do. I respect and love my parents but I also have to take charge of my life. Eventually, they came to see that and they have been very supportive of my career.

Breakthrough: I became well-known after I featured in the movie, Two Brides and a Baby, but I have done a few films that have gone straight to online television. Other movies I have starred in include In the Name of Trust, Murder at Prime Suites, Dinner, Lekki Housewives and Fifty, among others.

Music: I am actually a musician but I don’t really do music mainstream. I have been trying in the last decade to make a name for myself as an actor but I have not gotten to where I want to be yet. Music is a whole career on its own which cannot be juggled (with another) if you have not mastered one completely. I will still do music but not just at the moment.

Scandals: I used to get insulted for looking like Mercy Johnson. The last time I got insulted was when I starred in the movie, Two Brides and a Baby. Since that time, I have not experienced such. Back then, it made me sad because I was being insulted based on something I did not understand. Mercy Johnson is a beautiful woman and for anyone to compare us is really something to be thankful for.

Roles
: I believe that an actor can relate with every character that she plays. I can relate with all the characters I have played, unless I played a stone; then I will not be able to relate with it.

Challenges: It has been tasking. At a point, mixed information was put out about me but I resolved to grind it out.

Personality: I have a combination of different unique qualities. I go with the flow of life. I am all about whatever is beautiful and excites me; it does not matter what jungle of life it might be in. I like to read a lot because I am thirsty for knowledge. I do a lot of research. I also like to teach myself new things. I don’t like drama and I am a humanist. I just want to be happy; if I can get that, then I have achieved my major goal.

Role models: I do not have a role model; I am my own role model.

Current projects
: I am currently on the set of a series created by Yemi Blaq.

Men
: I like tall, light-skinned and handsome men.

Fashion
: I dress however my mood dictates. Sometimes, I can be all squeaky girl with jeans and T-shirt. Sometimes, I can be all gypsy girl, with flowing flowery clothes and sometimes, I can be chic, upper class with nice shirt, skirt and pencil heels.

Relaxation: I like to watch movies and I like to read. I also like to play video games. I am a geek but I do good things. Once in a blue moon, if there is something happening outside, I might decide to go out and hang out with some people on the beach.

From punch

39 comments:

1. Ahhh... settle for a light skinned man o, before u start looking for orange scrub,Shea butter, black soap for a 2yr old.

1. She doesn't need to settle for a light skin man! She will definitely give birth to beautiful gazelles just like herself.

2. A very stupid comment. What if her kids with a light skinned dude takes after her complexion? Why are some of u so stupid? Mercy Johnson, Oprah, Genevieve Nnaji, Naomi Campbell, Kelly Rowland etc who have made it in the showbos business, did they go looking for orange scrub?. Some of us Africans are too stupid, and more racist than white people. If we can't be proud of our own skin colour, who should be for us? That woman up there is very beautiful, with a very beautiful skin.

3. We black Africans are each other's main problems.

4. Lol. Why are you like this blackberry๐Ÿ˜‚. Anon in SP, come and carry your shade.

5. Chai! This BB (bed breaker aacording to chike ๐Ÿคฃ๐Ÿคฃ) you are a case oh! It may not even be so, because my mum is very fair but my brother is as dark as my father - you know that pure african black! Be like say na only me carry that full yellow sef cos The rest na chocolate, even though them use height cheat me - for their own good because this whole Nigeria for no contain me if say i get my sisters' height. Lol. You really cant dictate a baby's skin tone or look by who you marry, that's God's job to mix and deliver. I have seen two not so good looking people produce execptionally marverlous looking children.

6. Lol...anon sorry o, were u d one looking for orange scrub? I know why I made that comment, I'm not attributing it to your skin colour, don't jump of a cliff on my behalf.
      Peace.

7. Anon and Ms.A, BlackBerry is only being sarcastic joor. Its a shade. That woman weak me sha. Even after reprimanding her against funbact A she still came to ask of glycerin and orange Peel. Haba! All this for a 2 year old faa

8. BB and her Sarcasm comments

9. There was this time I used to just scroll down looking for blackberry's comments. It used to be so satire and sometimes,plain funny. BB'scomments these days? Tueh!

10. Chikichiki, Chike's ugegbe. Now, l realise why I like you. My Mom is veeery fair in complexion you would think she was of mixed race. She says if she were a young girl now that the whole of Nigeria will not contain her for yanga! Looolz. She is deeper life. Has been for 45yrs. She is very lively, jocular and loves GOD with all her Life, body & soul. All her children, NON is as fair as she is even in her old age when she is getting darker. The thing tire everybody. Only one of us is really fair but, nothing near my Mom. To think our dad is not Ghana dark sef. Just Normal dark man.This God ehn, nobody should question him o.(Isoko Babe)

2. I like her acting, she's really good

1. She’s good but talks too fast and repeats statements. She doesn’t look like mercy to me o

3. They are always musicians..... Loool

4. This babe is beautiful! To me, she's more beautiful than Mercy Johnson... I remember the first time I saw her in a movie, I was just staring at her skin and those her white beautiful teeth.

Kiera, you are a gazelle.

1. Yeah. She is a Gazelle. The eyes,height,shoulder,skin ain't common.

She did a stupid thing dragging Mercy Johnson's name into her beautiful interview. Who does that?

Mercy was all that way back but now she's gotten facial and body treatment and having a posh look. Remaining for her to know her bra type and size. Datsall.
      Keep your life on your lane young lady.
      #kosorogun

I always thought Keira was Ghanaian. Phew!
      Acting...... good
      Carriage.....good
      Personality..good

Soco soco soco baby kinda chic.
      (In Wizkid's voice).
      Oya gbefun lopo.
      Eledunmare blessed you with better body.

2. Bra size kwa๐Ÿ˜‚๐Ÿ˜‚๐Ÿ˜‚

5. Keira is a good actress. Love her role in THIS THING CALLED MARRIAGE,she realky interpreted it so well. Welldone Keira.

6. I love her, she's a good actress.

7. But she doesn't look like mercy Johnson. I like her

8. Good actress, Abeg may a Light skin man Locate you oo.

9. Why comparing yourself to mercy kaira? You are far far beautiful than mercy! Talk of dentition,talk of skin,talk of beauty,talk of acting ,and all...you are more than enough.love you!

10. The girl is the BITCHIEST OF ALL BITCHES IN ALL OF NOLLYWOOD. Horrible character .

I am friends with a lot of nOllywood people, actors, actresses but especially the movie makers and directors and in almost 20 years I've not encountered a more bitchier girl than this kiera whatsherface. Extremely rude and bitch. She feels Everyone is beneath her.

AND don't dare critique her acting cos she will block you on her page.

1. Ehn.... na so una go follow person dey criticize, as if your lives are perfect squares. Kiera dey block dey go biko....

2. Really? Well, what I find rather strange in her is the way she writes on posts. There was one post on insta where she wrote that she hates human beings on a certain post and I was really surprised why she will write such.
      Generally, the way she responds to things online makes me think that there's something that she's battling with.

3. 15:28 stop using people's comments to respond to te issues in your life. Kpele.

4. Dummy! Why did you even read it? *spits out thick phlegm on you*

11. Bitch don't you come to ghana again. We don't want you there. You are too FKCING BITCHIE . Keep your nasty character in your own country. We a small quiet humble nation and don't entertain folks with bitchie characters like you Kiera. Kwasiasem ser "I'm going back to ghana" disgusting horrible character girl

12. I like her. I've seen only one of her movies 'Two brides and a baby'. She's a good actress and she's beautiful too.

13. The way she kisses Anthony Monjero in movies eh. Hmmmmmm

14. I knew someone must comment otherwise. Some people hate to see others eulogized. Thank God majority carries d vote. Do ur thing young lady, it's not every one that must like u.

15. You are more beautiful than mercy Johnson.