According to Azuka, the neighbors told stories of how the deceased was a lazy man who does not have a job. The wife gave birth to their last child two months ago and was forced to bear the financial burden.
Olamide had to take up side businesses such as home teaching, hawking of peanuts, braiding of hair and others to feed herself and her family. Yet, the unemployed husband still comes home to beat her.
Read what Azuka wrote on his Facebook page below…
"This morning, Mrs. Jennifer Chioma Owolabi , a partner in this quest for Justice for Domestic violence victim, Mrs. Olamide Bose Akinbobola, went to her residence in Ikorodu, seeking her family and additional information. What she found was a tale of misery, a support group of friends unafraid to testify on behalf of this lady that accidentally fatally stabbed her husband midweek. From the two videos posted herein, watch and listen to their stories as witnesses to how the late husband horribly abused, enslaved and neglected his wife and children.
Their last child was born two months ago, she recently finished paying the hospital bills for the birth of the baby. According to these witnesses which included her employer, Olamide’s husband was lazy, always sleeping, unable to seek employment. Despite her teacher’s job, she also engaged in small businesses such as after-school tutorials for neighborhood children, hawking of roasted peanuts and hair braiding for additional income to sustain the family. In hard moments,she would approach her neighbors to loan her few change to survive the week with her family.
The witnesses demonstrated how and where Olamide had been bruised from beatings and violent assaults by her husband.
“Sometimes we see her with lacerations, swollen bodies, scarred face and black eyes and when we asked her, she would lie to us that she fell and got bruised. But we knew the truth. We saw him severally abused her physically. She ran away while she was pregnant but recently returned to birth her new baby. She wanted him to be a part of their second child birthing experience, as her husband and father. But he didnt give a damn. She doesn’t deserve this. She is a kind hard working woman that cared for her husband and their children. He brought nothing to support the home. She was always engaged in small business hustles and would surrender whatever profits she made to him as head of household.”
Chioma’s finding included the shock and awe state of the family’s residence. Olamide’s mother was a single mother. She died years ago
Chioma narrates:
“The husband was so abusive that the family of the husband doesn’t want to have anything to do with him.
They seem not interested in this matter.My understanding from family and friends in her neighborhood was his family did not want to be part his violence against his wife: according to them, he always beat her. Olamide and her husband and children initially lived with husband’s family but when he would not stop beating her, the family threw them out. I spoke to Olamide’s aunt. She said she has not visited her at the police station because she is afraid of being arrested. I told her it was wrong not to have gone to check on her or take food to her.
She has nobody….She doesn’t know her dad; the aunt assumes he lives in Ibadan. What is painful is that this young girl just gave birth two months ago.. The new baby was recently circumcised. Everybody I spoke to confirmed she was being physically and mentally abused by the bastard. You need to see where they live; oh my God”
VIDEO OF HER NEIGHOBURS RECOUNTING HOW MUCH BEATING SHE GOT FROM HER HUSBAND
This woman's story is heart breaking but it is what it is,she committed a crime and if her Lawyer cannot prove that it was self defence she has no case......If it is proven to be self defence,she will get less jail time..
I do not agree that she should be set free....A CRIME IS A CRIME!!!....This is Manslaughter!
I watched the video on instagram, it was not intentional..... I pray she gets a good lawyer, it was done in self defense!!!
ReplyDeleteLeave abusive marriage, una no go hear, still sleeping with a Man that beats you and getting pregnant again..... I know its not easy but pleaseeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee leave abusive marriage, relationship, R.U N!!!!!!!!!
So sad about this incident. I don't know what the fate of the kids will be if the mother is jailed for her crime. We don't having a functional foster home in this country
ReplyDeleteEayah may God help her Amen
ReplyDeleteLeave a horseband that is beating you women they will not hear, now who is to blame.Niger dnt know what is self defence I doubt if this woman will be set free...
ReplyDeleteBastard husband from the pit of hell.Eleribu okunrun.
DeleteI pray this woman gets a light sentence because I doubt it if she will be set free. Torturing your wife and maltreating het cuz you know you can beat her.My only annoyance with her is she should have walked and not looked back.As for the horseband, good riddance to bad rubbish.
I doubt they'll set her free like that.
ReplyDeleteThe woman sef, she did all that to survive yet remain under him as wife while he batters you on top. Something is not right here. Is it oath or juju or foolishness?
To please society and answer Mrs. Its the same society that will label her "divorcee", "after 2" etc etc if she leaves the man.
DeleteSo now in order to please society she has ended up a murderer!
Society is happy now abi?
Her mum was a single mum. She was trying to avoid that and keep her family together. A case of not repeating her parents mistake.
DeleteA pity her's turned out worse.
I’m sorry,if any man pins me down and starts beating me, I will defend my self with whatever i’ve got. Don’t even threaten my children physically, beacause I will fight you with my last breath. I think she should be set free. This will serve as a lesson men who beat women.
Delete@Cynhams Cakes, nne pleasing the society by handing over her proceeds to her husband no gel at all.
Delete@Shantelle's Empire she just got herself that role plus the law after her, very pathetic.
I pity her kids one is even an infant
Since her mum died as a single mother.she stayed in the married to avoid family pattern curse and ended up being a murderer.
DeleteEyahhhhhhhh
DeleteI saw Emeka of DPA's post on facebook, saying that he would like to defend her if she need their help. I don't know if he is serious or just blabbing. Stella, I like your "karma has no menu..." post on Instagram.
ReplyDeleteIs he still a lawyer in naija.someone that has been disbarred...
DeleteHas that gremlin finished defending himself that he wants to defend someone else??????? Joke of the century.
DeleteLet her enter jail,do the time and come out than accept help from him. There are mitigating circumstances here if she can prove it was self defense.
I feel so sorry for her.Stella what If the man had killed her one day? They should just give her small punishment pls. I hope all the women in same situation will learn that it’s always better to leave!
ReplyDeleteNothing like light sentence ,they should just free. She did it in self defense. If they jail her who will care for her kids? For the sake of her kids they should free her with immediate alacrity..
ReplyDeleteAny nursing mother that kills should be set free for the sake of the kids
DeleteShe liked in self defense! Locked indoors so she couldn’t even escape while she got pummeled by the husband. That knife could have been hers and her Children’s only saving grace that day because he probably would have killed her instead and who will now look after the children the way she’s been struggling to look after them?
DeleteSo pathetic...I just wonder why she
ReplyDeleteContinues sleeping with an abusive husband, and maybe he rapes her to sleep with her. However she should have left the marriage, I pity her but blame her at the same time. I pray her lawyer defends her well.
Hmmmmmmmmm...women this is an eye opener... leave abusive marriages
This is what happens when a woman wants to die in an abusive marriage. At last, it doesnt worth the stress. Run away from abusive partners, but they wont hear.I must b e mrs attitude.
ReplyDeleteStella you do realise she could have been killed instead.
ReplyDeleteThis is very sad
ReplyDeleteThis woman would have quietly left this useless horseband she married and avoided all this trouble, now see
I just pray she escapes this for the sake of her kids, let those children don't grow up without both parents
This comment has been removed by the author.
DeleteShe no wan turn single mother like her mama. Make una pity her.
DeleteProlly she lacked love growing up,and saw that man as her all. But he ended up complicating her life the more.
Frying pan to fire.
Stellz nwanne, it is not a crime if it is self defence. I’d support her legal Defence if they create a go fund me page.
ReplyDeleteI cried watching this. Please they should free this girl. She has suffered enough. Her only crime was being married to a useless man.
ReplyDeleteStella you are always sentimental what if the lady had died what would you have said
ReplyDeleteIf the lady had died, then the man would go to jail. Its that simple
DeleteStella she could have been killed instead #FREE OLAMIDE
ReplyDeleteSomeone can not defend her self in peace again? #FREE OLAMIDE
But she wasn't killed. If she' was killed then her killer would have gone to jail. Since she couldn't run away from him.
DeleteAnon 18:10, your point? She wasn’t killed because she defended herself! So she shouldn’t do time as a result. Instead, the husband never should have laid a hand on her or locked her indoors to beat her. Then none of this would have occurred.
DeleteThis is a case of self defense. I really feel pity for her.
ReplyDeleteWho will take care of her kids?
Alot of broke unemployed men are always aggressive.
ReplyDeleteCan you imagine a grown ass man not working,then you as a woman decide to start breeding addition kids in that condition. When you can hardly feed those on ground.
I feel pity for the lady. Pls they should give her manslaughter and release her in few years.
She's a victim of circumstance.
I feel sad for her.
ReplyDeleteIt’s still manslaughter - justice must follow due process
ReplyDeleteI don't know if Azuka is reading this or any lawyer here. This lady has a case. First of all as long as it was not multiple stab then she could plead for self defence. What the justice system would be looking at is it you are trying to defend your self you would usually hit once to disarm your attacker in order to take your flight. Where multiple stag is involved means you stabbed with the intent to kill. Also, in this case, it autopsy finds multiple stag wounds, she could also plead she had to stab him more than once to ensure he was totally disarmed in order to have enough time to take her children to safety. Furthermore, she can also add that she suffers from postpartum depression multiplied by abuse from her husband. Postpartum depression on it's own it's a strong case here in the US judicial system when it comes to culpable homicide cases. With a strong judicial team, she will walk free.
ReplyDeleteShe also tried finding help.
DeleteI believe she was in the tricycle trying to take him to hospital.
She could have locked the dead body up and run away.
It's obvious she didn't want him to dead. It just happened.
*die
Deletethe fate of the children is all am thinking right now, imaging the emotional trauma, your mum is in jail for killing you dad.
ReplyDeleteStella i disagree with u on this one.it's a self defence and she should be freed to go care 4 her kids.the man has plan of killing her or atleast inflicting serious injury in her that's why he locked the door so that neighbours won't rescue her..on the other hand the woman is to be blamed 4 not walking out in peace since she was the breadwinner
ReplyDeleteShe need to go to jail to teach others a lesson. Get out of the marriage if it's abusive, no one force you to remain there.
ReplyDeleteWhat's keeping her in there with the man if the said man is this useless and bring nothing to the table?
All these yeye witnesses are just trying to paint the man bad to make the woman look good.
Go and do the time, if you can commit the crime.
It's still the same useless, worthless, piece of shit Nigerians who insult women who walk away from thier marriages when they've had more than enough. Still the same assholes who will comeback and say 'Why didn't you walk away'? Lmoooo fools.
DeleteOde abirun.
DeleteAnon 15:35, Gbam!!! Same people will speak from both sides of their mouth. I’m tired of their fakeness. They should start charging people who victimize divorcees and victims in general in Nigeria, maybe we should start from there.
DeleteI feel so sorry for her
ReplyDeleteSome things you say Stella... with all your assumed exposure
ReplyDeleteOh my! What a mess. What will happen to those kids? She made a terrible mistake. May God help her.
ReplyDeleteStella pls receive sense. I tot all the years abroad would have impacted sense to you. You don't support she should go free, are you her God? If God should punish every human for their sins do you think anyone will be standing? A woman, a clearly not smart one, stayed in an abusive marriage, she then decided to fight back one day but made a fatal mistake. Her punishment ? all the years of abuse she has suffered from that dead scum, that should be enough punishment.This wasn't a premeditated murder, this is self defence and in the court of law , you are allowed to defend yourself. Pls stop ascribing punishment to her, you don't know what she's going through,you don't know what she's been through. Just pray life doesn't put you in a bad circumstance.
ReplyDeleteYou couldn't have said it better!
DeleteI share same views with you.
She will be freed, the evidence is clearly against the deceased.
I don't see anything wrong in a spouse staying in a marriage trying to make it work, everything is not always separation and divorce, you have to give it your best shot so that at the end of it all, you can say confidently,that you fought a good fight.
May God help us to be financially independent.
Been trying to avoid commenting here But I agree with SDK on this.
ReplyDeleteTo those saying it's a mistake... Stab injuries are usually not looked at as kindly as gunshot cases. There's usually a degree of premeditation in cases of stab assaults.
The excuse of abuse isn't enough, there were plenty other options.
Sorry for her tho, but let's not excuse it.
God keep us and deliver us from every mess
Stella it was self defense. Reverse roles. If you were in her shoes or ur sister and in exact same situation, wld you say she committed cold bloodedly killed a man? You wld say, oh, it was self defense. Justice shld be tempered with mercy. She did not intend to kill. Dont judge, cos you are not in that position so have no right to sit in judgement
ReplyDeleteIt always comes to this. Someone will always get killed and it might be the abuser. That's why it's advised to leave a dv situation. I pity her but she has committed a crime and must bear the consequences. Her parents and family told her to leave but she refused and now she has become a killer, and will go to jail making the children unparented for awhile if she doesn't get killed in return. The domestic violence situation abroad now is simple, gone are the days women got off free for killing their abusive husbands because then many women got off free. Over the last three decades, when a woman defending herself in a dv situation kills the abusive husband, she's jailed and made to serve time. Why you may ask? It's simple the government and various organizations embarked on a campaign of women getting out in a dv situation and they provided and are still providing support. So a woman saying she had no choice was no longer a defence hence the jail term. Nigeria should adopt the same but unfortunately, we don't have the same support system, the government just seems to be waking up to the reality of DV. Most police men beat their wives so they may not take the situation seriously, the police has been cautioned not to treat DV as a family dispute that should be settled in the family, so thank God for that little change. Now coming to the family, how many women have supportive family members, so parents will rather save face than have their daughters back home, some have collected exorbitant bride prices and have eventually sold their daughters. We need more support for women and more campaigns on DV but what we need most is to let women know that no one will support them killing their spouses in the name of defending themselves. The best defense is to get out of that situation even if it means sleeping on the street and no one supporting you. It's simple really, don't let any one kill you and most importantly don't let anyone drive you to commit murder in the name of marriage, the abuser maybe dead but your nightmares will just begin.
ReplyDeleteAll these ppl shouting self-defense here, can u picture that man as ur brother being stabbed by ur sister-in -law in the name of self-defence? Does anything justify murder? More so, when a person had all the chance to get up and leave. Not like she couldn't fend for herself in life. After all, we're told the guy was bringing nothing to the table. Leaving, moreover, doesn't even neccesarily mean divorce but just get away and give urself a breather. 'Strong woman' no be for mouth. The self- defence story can only fly in court if she killed the guy in the heat of the moment when there was a real and immediate threat to her life and the nature of weapons used on both sides will be considered. I can never understand why anybody would go for a knife in fracas,in the first place, only to turn around and claim that they had no intention of killing - and then the sentimentally gullible will fall for the crap. Ordinarily, what do u expect a knife to do in midst of anger and tussle? Abeg, let her go face her case. I have no sympathy for ppl with murderous spirits. There's more than enough rubbish already going on in the world, as it is. It's always the innocent children I pity in matters like this.
ReplyDeleteAbeg make them free am to go take care of her two month old baby. People wey get connections like Fiberissima were freed.