Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: MURIC Resolves To Report Rapper Falz To Appropriate Govt Agencies Instead Of Suing Him

Monday, June 11, 2018

MURIC Resolves To Report Rapper Falz To Appropriate Govt Agencies Instead Of Suing Him

The Muslim Rights Concern has resolved to report Folarin Falana, popularly known as Falz, to the appropriate government agencies instead of dragging him to court over the controversial music video he released...

MURIC had last week in a statement by its Director, Prof. Ishaq Akintola, threatened to drag Falz to court over his latest video: “This is Nigeria.” It, however, said on Sunday in another statement that after pleas from well meaning Nigerians, it had resolved to report Falz only.

The statement read in part: “The Muslim Rights Concern (MURIC) last week resolved to sue Folarin Falana (Falz the Bahd Guy), a Nigerian artist, who produced the video song titled ‘This is Nigeria’ in which a Fulani man was seen beheading somebody. The video also featured hijab-wearing female choreographers dancing the ‘shaku-shaku’ (a dance associated with drug). A seven-day ultimatum was given for the withdrawal of the video and an apology failing which a legal tussle would be launched. Our office has since been inundated with solidarity visits, while our telephone lines have been flooded with a deluge of calls from members, friends, well-wishers, journalists and other concerned Nigerians, majority of whom are of the Islamic faith.

In view of the intervention of these well-meaning Nigerians, counseling from several quarters and commitments given by us to those who interfaced with us on this matter, an emergency meeting of MURIC’s Think-Tank was convened on Sunday, June 10, 2018 to review the situation. In deference to pleas made by well-meaning Nigerians, in order to keep faith with our avowed motto (Dialogue, Not Violence) and to further confirm that MURIC is a listening, mature and responsible organization committed to promoting peace in Nigeria, the Think-Tank resolved to drag the artist to government agencies saddled with the responsibility of censoring films and videos. It is not a U-turn but a sudden change in tactics.

“This will have a more enduring impact not only on Falz but the entire entertainment industry. It will also make the agencies sit up to their responsibilities and inject a huge dose of discipline in the music and film industries in general. MURIC expresses deep appreciation to its members nation-wide, particularly Muslim lawyers who volunteered to take up the case gratis, leaders of Islamic organizations across the country who offered their solidarity as well as senior civil servants who shared their rich experiences with us.

In a nutshell, we insist that Falz video “This is Nigeria” is offensive and provocative. It portrays Fulanis (and Nigerian Muslims) as killers. It is capable of igniting crisis and precipitating a general breakdown of law and order. The video board must therefore do the needful.

Professor Ishaq Akintola,

Director,

Muslim Rights Concern (MURIC)

30 comments:

1. All die na die
    Nothing dey happen
    Why the change of mind,na una sabi
    Court would have been better

1. Don't mind them. Which calls? Mtchewww.
      Are they not killers? Where's boko haram from again?

2. You know what, I downloaded that video from Youtube
      I did not know who Falz was before this incident
      Now I have the video in my computers and saved it online
      if he takes it down, I will upload it. It is a beautiful
      pieced of art that reminds us of the situation in our dear country.
      good work falz.

2. Cowards! Who even dashed this Akintola Professorship sef ?

3. They should go and sit down one place. I bet you nobody called them or even begged them to shunned the court threat rather they became awared that it will be an exercise in futility and a wasted effort. This people are the most hypocritical being I have seen in the face of the earth. When there people killed two Catholic priest and seventeen Catholic faithful, wore the choir rope and made a video of it chanting in mockery while didn't Muric condemned such act and video? Or didn't they saw the video? I tell you this, this set of people are the problems we have in this country. I am waiting for Lai Mohammed to come up with his usual lies and condemnation on this.

1. SHUNNED - SHUN
      AWARED- AWARE
      SAW THE VIDEO - SEE THE VIDEO
      CONDEMNED- CONDEMN
      THIS SET- THESE SETS

2. Buhahahaha n Anon Oxford had 2 shout so Teejay can hear. SDK BVS una too funny.

3. Anon 15.30 be there and be correcting english,are you a dictionary?english is not our mother's tongue in Nigeria ok.people like you are always after other people's mistake,face front you hear.

4. Anon 15:30. Let me help you add more. “Two catholic priest” should be PRIESTS with S. “When there people” should be when THEIR people. You used “people” but still describe them as “being” in singular. I tell you, Teejay just do copy and paste of those things he sends to Stella to post. No English at all.

4. Hahahhahahhaahahahah see why is good to have lawyers in ya family? Muric have change mouth now. Idiots be forming nonsense, what happen to their balls? Was it ripped off? Bunch of useless lunatics.

1. See your English. Abeg, learn to be constructive with correct sentences. “See why IT is good.....”. “MURIC HAS changed not HAVE.” What HAPPENED not happen.

5. Falz:10
    Muric:0
    He should bury his head in shame.

6. Lies story for the gods. Who begged them? Are not Fulani herdsmen the ones killing innocent souls? They should go to court nau. Stella , I don miss commenting

7. Dem fear the fear. They should have gone to court na. By the time FaLAWna finish with them, na dem go still balance bata for head, pick race. Where is their voice on Sars? Boko Haram, Fulani herdsmen killing? Corruption? Irrelevant unserious, unfocused noisemakers It is disco dancing only that haf gingered their brain.

Mtsheew Awon afofungbemu.
    *olori orente thanks for the correct spelling

8. No one is talking about Leah Sharibu, no one is calling the Herdsmen to order,only for a guy to release a song, gbam, noise started.
    They should remove the dirt in their eyes before anything else.
    They wan sue High Court itself. Hahaha

9. Music una no well. Crazy sets of people.

10. MURIC una no well, crazy sets of people. Lol.

11. The mouth has change LMAO.. them go tire..

12. Eh yaaaa! Na so una take spoil the hit jollof Falz and him papa wan use una do for court? I'm sure the Falana's will be disappointed at this news.

13. What stupid appropriate government,see cowards ahahaha ahahaha,cover your faces trouble makers muslims,they can't do nothing,Falz stand he balance.
    Anonymous Bug

14. Proudly Anonymous11 June 2018 at 21:44

Whatever happened to your empty threat of lawsuit?

So you people have now tucked your pathetic tails between your scrawny legs to report to your paddies and allies in govt.

If anything as much as touch the tiniest strand of hair on Falz's head,You will see how petrol bombs will pay solidarity visits to your MUMUric office.

Stupid people creating all sorts of problems where there's none.

Ishaq Akintola,you want to incite violence against a man trying to make an honest living abi?

We know your office in LASU!!!

Aunty SDK, this comment must not go missing.

15. Of what use is a toothless barking dog? Just go and hide ya face

16. 😂😂😂😂😂😂😂😂