Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: MURIC Gives Singer Falz 7-Day Ultimatum To Withdraw ‘This is Nigeria’ Video!

Tuesday, June 05, 2018

MURIC Gives Singer Falz 7-Day Ultimatum To Withdraw ‘This is Nigeria’ Video!

The Muslim Rights Concern (MURIC) have directed Nigerian Rapper Folarin ‘Falz’ Falana to withdraw his ‘This is Nigeria’ video and apologise to Nigerians, or face legal action. 

In the recently released video, some girls dressed in hijab were seen dancing the “shaku shaku” dance. Responding to criticisms that trailed the video, Falz explained that the girls were a representation of the abducted Chibok girls still in Boko Haram captivity.

But MURIC, in a statement by Ishaq Akintola, its director, said the dancers in the video in no way depict the situation of the girls. The group also condemned “a character that dressed like a Fulani man, who suddenly abandoned his traditional guitar and beheaded a man” featured in the video.

Describing the video as “thoughtless, insensitive and highly provocative,” MURIC said it could brew religious and ethnic crisis. It also said the video is spiteful and intended to denigrate Islam and Muslims.

The statement reads, “MURIC rejects Falz’ explanation that the girls in hijab in his ‘Shaku Shaku’ dance symbolize the Chibok girls because nothing in the video indicates that the girls represent the Chibok girls.

“At least none of the Chibok girls have been seen dancing like a drunkard. They are always in pensive mood. Do they have any cause to be dancing? Are they happy?

“The video manifests ethnic bias against Fulanis while it ignored the criminal activities of ethnic militia of the Middle Belt who have also massacred Fulanis and rustled their cattle in their thousands.

“It is a hate video. This video has the potential of causing religious crisis of unprecedented dimension.

“It is an assault on the self-dignity of every Muslim. It is freedom of expression gone haywire.

“We therefore demand its withdrawal and an apology to Nigerian Muslims within seven days or the authors and their agents will face legal action if they fail to comply.

“Only the scenes portraying police brutality and the money-swallowing snake in the video are near the truth.”

The group called on security agencies and the National Film And Video Censors Board (NFVCB) to clamp down on the video.

“We call the attention of security agencies to this hate action,” the statement continued.
“We remind Nigerians of the outcome of similar provocative actions in the past and their unpalatable outcomes.

“The National Film And Video Censors Board (NFVCB), a regulatory agency set up by Act No. 85 of 1993 to regulate films and the video industry has a case to answer. ‘Shaku Shaku’ video was shot and released under its watch.

“Instead of going violent, Nigerian Muslims should take those behind the ‘Shaku Shaku’ video to court in order to serve as a deterrent to others.

“We therefore give notice of impending legal action against the artist behind the ‘Shaku Shaku’ video unless the latter is withdrawn and an apology is widely published within seven days.”

From the Cable

100 comments:

1. Or what? Silly people, someone of another faith is showcasing a crime against young girls of your faith and this is how they react. Is hijab not a piece of clothing or it’s simply restricted to Muslims. Oshi ratafo

If I hear that Falz withdraws the video and issues an apology. I doubt that they know Falz is a lawyer or who his father is.

1. Falz nah lawyer he will face them well..

2. “The video manifests ethnic bias against Fulanis while it ignored the criminal activities of ethnic militia of the Middle Belt who have also massacred Fulanis and rustled their cattle in their thousands".
      this statement above simply signifies that the said group are comparing the lives of cattles to human beings.In other words justifying the actions of the fulani herdsmen. In my own understanding, such statement can cause a regional and religious war and not even the video.

3. They should also tell BBC to put down the video of the women in hijab drinking codeine in the exposé regarding Nigeria's cough syrup crises. Did he not highlight the ills in other sectors of the country? Very fanatical people!

4. I’m not surprised at this development. As soon as I saw the video the thought that came to my mind was, “muslims will surely take offence “! Being outspoken is now a crime ba?

5. Make them go sleep. Is anything in that video a lie? Truth is bitter. Violet people!!.I had to watch that video again and again to increase the views. Wicked people, lugard will know no peace. All over the world Na violence full una body.

Na Trump and Israel fit. kill one and get hundreds of your ants killed.

6. Hot jellof case for the Falanas
      Family of lawyers
      As papa n mama na lawyer
      Sister lawyer
      Falz lawyer

7. They should tell BBC to also withdraw their exposé on Nigeria's cough syrup crises where they showed women in hijab getting high on codeine. Very fanatical people!

8. Celestial people must go to court too since most jokes about Christians in movies use their form of worship. People should focus on mimporyant issues plssss..

9. Proudly Anonymous6 June 2018 at 07:12

The problem is that there are so many jobless people who hide behind bodies like this to display their foolishness.

They should also give Ycre an ultimatum to withdraw his Omo Albania video.

1. Always unnecessarily touchy and crying all over the place with catarrh in their nose like taata.
      I don't know why they can't leave their prophet to fight for them. What a violent religion with a bunch of fanatics.

2. simple fact that we are forgetting is that 90% of chibok girls are of christian faith. so these girls are not representing them.

3. What are you saying. Chibok are Christian and they cover their head with human?

3. Abeg this ppeople should go and sit down jare.

1. Hypocricy at the highest level.
      Didnt they hear or see that pastors were mentioned?
      Everything the Muslim folks want to ban or criticize.
      They should go and have several seats joh .

4. Gradually turning naija to sharia country,so what if the girls dancing shaku shaku are wearing hijab!! Na wa oo,will they soon ban shaku shaku dance?muslims and wahala self,easily offended phewwwwww
    Anonymous Bug

1. Religion wey no get head.

1. Wicked and violent religion. Always angry even whilst fasting. Rabbish!

6. This Muslims you people own is always too much haba

7. Silly lot,everyone and everything is always against them,.why do they have a problem with the Fulani man beheading someone?falz chose to shoot a video abt d ills in d society yet their wrapped overheated dumb brains must claim victim, .

1. As if they are not guilty.

2. Maybe chikito too is a muslim, she would fit right in

8. Falz I beg withdraw the video pls.... I Don dey fear for u already.

1. He's not withdrawing anything and nothing will happen!

9. Nigeria belongs to both muslims and christians.5 June 2018 at 15:58

Muslims are too troublesome for my liking, imagine this nonesense! Muslims all over are making the world resltless, what is wrong with this people? Falz, let them go to court!

1. They are so annoying, so troublesome, so wicked! Fals don't take down the video! Stupid lots

10. Useless set of people,,,someone came up to show case what's going on in ur country, and u dey vex
    Is that the right thing for you to do or join hands in correcting all the errors and blunders made by the so called leaders..

Mc pinky

11. Muslims are always quick to attack. What of the things said about Christians in the video ? Christians didn't react to it. But when it's Muslims we no go hear word. A harmless video depicting want is currently happening in our country is been turned into something else. And they say Islam is a religion of peace, OK o.

12. But he show cased Christians too. I don't why Muslims take tins hard,cos when I saw d video,its chibok and Dapchi kidnapped girls that came to my mind

13. This country is full of drama...they are there to distract us and as for me,,I won't be distracted....

Carry go Falz

Mc pinky

14. What stupid legal action will they take? I stitil maintain Muslims hate peace. Tueh

15. When your mind is tilted towards offence a smile looks like a frown, a hug, like a death squeeze, a handshake like an invitation to battle! whats wrong with this muric sef? artistic symbolism, and they go all ballistic. They are the only ones seeing the offence. The hijab is just a piece of cloth. Nuf said!!!

1. My dear, your first 3 sentences are thruth. When somebody is focused on offence, everything looks like attack. Even when the person hears 'thank you'. He/She will bring out machete because it sounds like abuse in their ears.

16. If Falz had not "hammered" before, he's definitely going to now. Off to look for the video. Meanwhile, reviews weren't favourable before this. SMH. They're actually threatening the country because of one video. Religion of peace indeed

17. Bloody bigots! Falz do not ever listen to this shallow minded islamic myopic lots. We already know that their brains have not developed enough to handle any sorts of truth, so please igone them. The Country needs more truths like this, and we the youths stand in solidarity with you.

18. Hmmmm... ..Issokay ooo
    Nigeria and religion 🙌🙌🙌🙌

1. Ofcux he mentioned pastor pressing the breast of a lady in the name of doing miracle, the keke and danfo used are lagos colour, politicians and police were also prominent features in the song. At the end we should dwell on the positives and relax on the negatives even though I think the hijab and the Fulani atire could have been replaced with other outfits considering our emotional and sensitive society society

2. Ofcux he mentioned pastor pressing the breast of a lady in the name of doing miracle, the keke and danfo used are lagos colour, politicians and police were also prominent features in the song. At the end we should dwell on the positives and relax on the negatives even though I think the hijab and the Fulani atire could have been replaced with other outfits considering our emotional and sensitive society society

3. i have noticed you are always diplomatic when commenting...You don't wanna support the Christians and criticise the Muslims. I doubt you will make a good leader. #peace&love

4. 19:13 you might be right and you might be totally wrong. I only expressed my view on the video and I don't remember the topic being an argument between xtains and Muslim so I wonder why u insinuating that I am looking for a common ground... having said that, I don't add fuel to fire, I'm a very peaceful Man and Thts how I want to be identified and remembered.#peace&luv

5. Peaceful man with no balls who can't take a stand with conviction because of fear. It is non peaceful men who have boldly and fearlessly fought for what is right who have given you the opportunity to eat food from a plate and not from the floor. Continue living a life of fear, just one more person taking space.

19. There is nothing wrong with this video. They just want to make to talk. Ok! We have heard you people.

20. Orishirishi. I just watched this video and fell in love with this guys music. Never heard him sing before. They should carry their bumbum and sit down

21. If na Christians now we go collect chair Sidon begin to analyse as God's jury that we are. We will make it about churches and pastor forgetting that we all are members of one body.Never do we pray for our ministers but always quick to judge and critise them.

22. Them don start again o. No be only legal action. See you in court. Jokers!

1. Any excuse for them to shed innocent blood. Vampires.

23. Nonsense people go and watch all this their so called Islamic songs video, you see those girls dancing all the dances in vogue. Anofia, ewu.

24. Nonsense people go and watch all this their so called Islamic songs video, you see those girls dancing all the dances in vogue. Anofia, ewu.

1. Exactly. Who are they deceiving, overly sensitive lots. There is nothing wrong with the video. They find it hard to be logical and think straight when their religion is involved. That is why they are so easily brainwashed to do evil. Thank God for the very few with sense. So if he doesn't withdraw the video, what are they going to do? Drop a bomb on his head? Or stop him from singing? They see a hardworking Naija youth now they will be agitating unnecessarily. If I hear!

25. They should go and sit down ,stupid set of people.
    You see how truth hurts.
    They are deeply hurt because everything about that video is true.

26. your words don't hold water , case study :do they think is just muslims that cover hair .We lots of Egyptian christians that wear hijab , even syrian christians , even Jordinian christians , most india women cover their hair not because of their religion some is just culture .so abeg they should hold their peace .Falz this is Nigeria is not the causer of Nigeria problems.

27. Here we go again... mtchewww

28. Nonsensen.empty threat. Fall don't mind them get ready for them up-to Supreme Court. True dey smell

29. They'll be alright las las.

For all the problems bedeviling Nigeria, na musical video be MURIC problem abi?

1. That is it ooo. When people are being murdered, raped and kidnapped they will keep mute but raise hell over a music video. Actually I am not surprised. That is how they wanted to crucify one of their actresses for appearing in a none Muslim's video. Na real wa

30. Falz just dust his wig out for morons like you people. Do your worst muric or whatever you call yourself. Hijab that girls wears to hustle at night in Abj, nonentity. You people are blind to see the people in white garment. As far as am concern, hijab is an ordinary cloth just like white materials. We will see you stupid people in court

1. 👏👏👏👏👏 well said ,Falz please another this is Nigeria .

31. But we are most muslims full of hate? So na only dem dey wear hijab? Rev sisters unko?? Smh.

32. Dont mind them Falz, we are strongly behind you #piddy.

33. #Istandwithfaltz.

34. Muric = MUMU-RIC
    That means the pastors they've been criticizing since should have banned and cancelled too, abi? I don't know why we can't just divide from the North cos western Muslims aren't even this extreme.

1. If you meet some religious bigots from the west you will know that that of the north is child's play though they are not the majority. The director is Akintola and I won't be surprised the majority of people in MURIC are Yorubas. They are the most liberal and at the same time can carry the thing for head.

This is not in any way calling out a tribe oo...

2. Ah Chiki, the Nima of your view in TVC is a bloody FANATIC, she is from Edo state o, not the north. Muslims are too much trouble. I wish all these muslims can just move to one part of Nigeria. WHAT THE HELL!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

3. What Chikito meant by " western muslim" is muslims in Europe and other foreign countries not west as per yoruba.

35. Nima of your view doesn't know how much she is hated, I really wonder how her husband and inlaws are coping with her. Nima is an educated illiterate muslim woman, she started this rubbish on your view TVC. She is a devil.

1. I ageeed with u anony. Nima is d cause dats why I stop watching d views .she is more than devil n her prensences makes d program dull with her one sided opinion .very stupid lady .Muslims with trouble no peace in their life useless religion .

2. Ah! So I am not alone, Nima is full of herself.

3. Don't mind her. Very proud, uncouth and loud Muslim girl. Yes, I said girl! Very intolerant human being. I wonder how she brings up her children.

4. U all are stupid sha.. On top wetin

5. I can't stand her either, very local woman,

36. Like I am so mad right now! These Muslims always crying yen yen yen. American celebrities that dressed up using "heavenly bodies" as a theme, what do we now do about them? How many priests asked for the pictures to be taken down? Awon extremist mtchewww!

37. I know all this Muslim will not comment shame on you

38. I know Falz is not going to bring down the video or even apologise.

That video cover of Danny Glover "this is America" was done more justice to by Falz "this is Nigeria"

Falzdbadguy, nothing will ever happen to you.

39. Na waooo. This is a video showing what is happening in Nigeria. I love the video. This country belong to all of us. Ah,ah let them take him to court,nothing will happen!!! Rubbish. Abeg falz,carry go

40. #istandwithfalz. What the heck! Let's go to court and MURIC will know that the youths are not afraid and will fight back. What nonsense.

41. These people are seriously mad and they have nobody to tell them.

42. Nawaaaah..no more freedom of expression in this country..
    Truly "there was a country"

43. You people think Muslims are as unserious and irresponsible as you Christians are? Going to church and dancing shaku shaku to praise and worship songs, dancing as if you are in Quilox, no they are not! I am a Christian but the levity with which Christians carry God Almighty is appalling to say the least. Look at how they were defending themselves stupidly on the spontaneous post this morning, talking rubbish, saying they can dance ‘anyhow’ in church. Muslims are not as irresponsible as most of you Christians. They take God’s matter seriously unlike our people.

1. Liar liar , you are a Muslim.

It is better to go to church and dance shakushaku than spilling innocent blood. Christians are irresponsible you say but at least we place a premium on human life.

You guys should just disappear with your religion. People criticize Christianity everyday and heaven has not fallen. Freeze is still alive today despite his stand on some sensitive issues. I wonder what you guys would have done to him if he was criticizing una religion.

2. That is why Christianity is best and will always be. You are giving freedom to choose and not force to or beheaded. Even Christ said he has giving you freedom to choose but wishes you choose life.
      Go and sleep or keep drinking kunu or better still bend your mouth make them press cow milk for you so you can act like them. Ipuk otele like you, ewu hausa.

3. The hijab wet dem dey use do runs here in abuja abii another one,if I tell you what these people do,unna go open mouth.hijab way naa bra and pant them dey wear under,katikati

4. See this one vomiting nonsense. So, its the shaky shaky dance that's paining you. Your god that tells you to kill others nko? reverence indeed. You are a fanatic Muslim, you can't deceive us. Claiming Christian when you don't know your left from your right. Bunch of hypocrite.

5. Lollll this shaku shaku man/woman is here again???? Lmaooo. Please make sure you tripple your dosage. You sound like you are one point from coming completely unhinged!!!

6. Anon, you are a raving lunatic .

44. I hope they know who his father Is?

45. Useless,nonsense ,devilish, hypocrite religion

46. ordinary video? they are too quick to get angry which is not right at all. if you see Abuse Christians collect daily, or Abuse they say about Jesus and we just walk past becos its not our battle to fight but Gods. how many times una don hear say Christians kill muslims and they retaliate? its always the other way round. they shud take a chill pill and lets face the important things bothering the society pls

47. I so much love this video eh, video that P.DIDDY even hailed sef😅...Falz if I hear say you withdraw this video eh. I go koonk you.

48. Islam is not a religion a sane person should get himself or herself involved in.They hate peace .Always ready for war.Tueh .

49. Otuocha!, or what? Cheap publicity . Who is this sef