Okocha, who was a guest on Super Sports TV, said the team lost because the players played in wrong positions which didn’t bring out the best in them.
“We didn’t have a creative midfielder today. Mikel Obi has been a great servant but I think his best position is sitting in front of the back four.
“We saw him play as a defensive midfielder in Chelsea and he did so well,” he said.
The veteran player also added that Alex Iwobi was the most creative midfielder in the national team at the moment but playing him as a winger “was taking his strength from him”.
“Iwobi can play from the wings in Arsenal because there is a Mesut Ozil who brings creativity.
“I think the only reason why we lost this game is because our players played in the wrong positions and we didn’t get the best out of them,” he added.
Nigeria will take on Iceland on June 22 and play their last Group D game against Argentina on June 26.
“We didn’t have a creative midfielder today. Mikel Obi has been a great servant but I think his best position is sitting in front of the back four.
“We saw him play as a defensive midfielder in Chelsea and he did so well,” he said.
The veteran player also added that Alex Iwobi was the most creative midfielder in the national team at the moment but playing him as a winger “was taking his strength from him”.
“Iwobi can play from the wings in Arsenal because there is a Mesut Ozil who brings creativity.
“I think the only reason why we lost this game is because our players played in the wrong positions and we didn’t get the best out of them,” he added.
Nigeria will take on Iceland on June 22 and play their last Group D game against Argentina on June 26.
(NAN)
Hmm.. ...wrong positioning
ReplyDeleteCoach your job is on the line
You people should do miracles, Sha don't come back home
Fact!!
ReplyDeleteJay Jay is right.
ReplyDeleteMy heartbreak don pass abeg. Super Eagles can play rubbish for all I care. Can’t kill myself biko.
Money In The Bank is tonight yo! Can’t wait.
IMO, Croatia didn't do anything fantastic or extraordinary; our boys just weren't hungry enough for victory. I don't blame the Udeme guy for the own goal at all, it happens to even the best footballers. Same for the penalty. Croatia couldn't score any goal apart from the ones we gifted them because our goalkeeper was actually quite good. My problem was that we refused to score goals even when we had clear chances. If they lose or draw with Iceland, make dem no just bother play Argentina cos they are so coming home. Wrong positions my foot!
ReplyDeleteSomebody should just tell me where that psychic pig is. Bacon dey hungry me. Nigerians been no get faith before o until that pig drama. Na so we boost our morale finish now, Argentina draw, Nigeria sef lose. Maybe the pig meant we would win the jersey challenge and the owner misinterpreted it. *side eyes* @ those who bet big money based on that prediction.
ReplyDeletePls whats money in d bank ? Iwobi my crush .
ReplyDeleteIt’s a pay-per-view event under WWE.
DeleteWe have two games ahead and can still turn things around. Beat Iceland by a wide goal margin and draw with Argentina. I still get hope because money invested in the jerseys cannot go to waste just like that. Russia must see that jersey till semifinals o.
ReplyDeleteThe team selection was based on sentiments and this is the result. Some players like Ahmed Musa and Iheanacho have no business in that team. When hungry scorers like Nwakali and the NFL highest goal scorer and Usman were left behind. Rohr has allowed himself to imbibe Nigerian mentality. The result is that we have no scorers. Even if the defence and midfielders do all the work, without scorers the team is going nowhere, the world cup is all about scoring. That team is dead on arrival. Playing and winning against African countries is not the same as playing European teams.
ReplyDeleteIhenacho has no business in the team but ur so called highest goal scorer in NFL that wobbled and fumbled through CHAN has business in the team? Oga go sleep
DeleteYou cnt give what you don't have, our guys did very well but omi lopo ju oka lo... Croatia have better players than us plus they are technically superior
ReplyDeleteSpot on Jay Jay
ReplyDeleteWhy can't NFF give Jay Jay a chance to coach the national team? I watched the match and his analysis, and everything made sense. Our boys were simply not hungry for success
ReplyDeleteI swear down
DeleteSuper Eagles were just so relaxed and not aggressive enough in the 1st half. They lost some chances to score, Croatia were so bent on breaking their record and the Eagles just let them like that. Even though Croatia had better players, we didn't do our best.
DeleteThis is what happens when politics is used to select players.